Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need more stars in Rating System
I eagerly awaited arrival of this tome as this period is one of the most fascinating in F1. Tubes with engines stuck on the back disappeared as aerodynamics were discovered, if not completely understood until the end of the decade. Everyone had their own approach and the cars looked different - so unlike today.
This book includes some of the most brilliant and...
Published on 17 Dec 2003 by doliver74

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formula 1 in Camera 1970-79
Very expensive book and arrived slightly dented at the corners. I was a bit disappointed with the print quality as well - couple of pages have blobs on them. The content is what you would expect from the product information and reviews and if you enjoy F1 nostalgia then you will enjoy the book although I might have been better off seeking out the 1970s editions of...
Published 17 months ago by R. NEIL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need more stars in Rating System, 17 Dec 2003
I eagerly awaited arrival of this tome as this period is one of the most fascinating in F1. Tubes with engines stuck on the back disappeared as aerodynamics were discovered, if not completely understood until the end of the decade. Everyone had their own approach and the cars looked different - so unlike today.
This book includes some of the most brilliant and insightful photographs of the Grand Prix world that I have ever seen. A large number of such books are 99% cars during a race and while this book has its fair share of these shots, it also contains more interesting ones of the people that make the F1 world happen. These are interesting because they show more of the personality of the competitors than simply a driver in a helmet.
It is also of particular interest to see the share of time given to "lesser" teams of the times - if any can be called that. Certainly my fear was that the book would focus each year on the main participants but this was not the case. The inclusion of such minnows was gratifying and rounded out each year.
There are some years when entire teams seem to be missing. As a Williams fan of nearly 30 years I had hoped for more photographs of the team in the period between 1971 and 1977 but, as explained in the introduction, not all races were attended and there are other teams as well. Still looking for decent photos of the Politoys FX-3 and other early Williams cars, but this book has at least provided me with several excellent representations of some of the cars.
Against this very personal (and biased) aspect is the fact that the book contains excellent shots of new drivers each year. As an example, very few books of this stature would include shots of Alan Jones in the Harry Stiller Hesketh or Embassy Hill from 75 and 76. Where else would one find a shot of Larry Perkins? (Don't ask who?)If they did the shots would be minor. Not so in this collection. The attempt for completeness in this book is outstanding. If not 100% successful, then surely the best effort short of an annual.
The captioning of each photograph is simply outstanding, providing not only a concise description but also providing additional details covering the future. One is not left wondering 'whatever happened to.....'.
Overall, this is the best book of the period I have ever seen. Brilliant photography, excellent words and superb detail. A must have for everyone's motor racing bookshelf. My problem will be actually putting it away, this book draws me back time and time again for both interest and reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, 2 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book on the strength of the review by doliver74 and i'm delighted with it. This has to be the best period in formula 1 for sheer innovation and style with some great drivers. In addition to the photographs and captioning there is a brief write up for each year. At the end of each year there is a page showing the teams, drivers and results. Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Book, 31 Dec 2010
By 
Mark Duffy (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This is a marvellous book. The images selected create a stimulating combination of cars and drivers and tracks and related ephemera. It's a broad view and better for that. Great shots here of heroes forever and technology that couldn't succeed.
Most of all, the text matches the images for illumination, warmth, and sheer humanity. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formula 1 in Camera 1970-79, 10 April 2013
By 
R. NEIL (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very expensive book and arrived slightly dented at the corners. I was a bit disappointed with the print quality as well - couple of pages have blobs on them. The content is what you would expect from the product information and reviews and if you enjoy F1 nostalgia then you will enjoy the book although I might have been better off seeking out the 1970s editions of Autocourse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Formula 1 in Camera 1970 - 1979 Volume 2, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Melody Fair "SWALK" (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Formula 1 in Camera 1970-79, Volume 2 (Hardcover)
Excellent photographs from an era when motor racing was at its best - the days when, if you shut your eyes and a car approached you could name the specific engine manufacturer. Super call back the past feel ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories are made of this, Excellent book., 23 May 2012
By 
Christine Newton (Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Formula 1 in Camera 1970-79, Volume 2 (Hardcover)
Another brilliant book in the series, Excellent photographs and well written texts,

Perfect for a trip into Formula 1 from the seventies, ( I remember I was there.) if you like F1, you won't be disappointed with this second volume, a perfect companion for Vol 1. Well worth the money. Lets have a book from the nineties and noughties too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, rather than dramatic, 12 Sep 2012
By 
I. Rumens (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Formula 1 in Camera 1970-79, Volume 2 (Hardcover)
I'll admit to having been there for half of the years dealt with by this book.
To that end, it acts as a fine reminder of those people who were ALSO on the grid, and as such, helped contribute to the stories and folklore of the period.

BUT. There is something missing. You see, whilst we have lovely colour photographs of cars that were generally only ever published in black and white, back in the day, the pictures are not generally associated with the action that may have given them notoriety.

It's like seeing the actors of a play going into the theatre at the stage door, but then not actually being able to see the play itself.

The photos used aren't always that good, but that's probably down to the era, because colour photography wasn't generally used for action, unlike today, where it's use is unrestricted. If I'd been able to get this book 30 years ago, I'd be more grateful than I am perhaps in 2012.

The positive thing IS that we are allowed to see these guys in colour at all! I kid you not.

Jim Crawford in a Lotus 72 at Monza in 1975 is one such example, or the photogenic Maki F101 from the same year. Yes, a rubbish performer, but still a looker!

Sadly, we are not shown drivers tackling the great corners (Well, okay, we get Ronnie Peterson in 1970 at Burnenville, Spa), so you won't come away awe-struck, having seen the drivers tackling the humps and jumps, so notorious of some of the great circuits used at the time, which is a pity.

And so to those memories. Tony Brise in the Williams at Montjuich in 1975, that Maki, drivers needing to pre-qualify in 1977, Hans Heyer's illegal start at Hockenheim, Gunnar Nilsson's last drive, in the red JPS, Jean-Pierre Jarier replacing Ronnie at the end of 1978, yet still unlucky, the Khausen, Jones and Villeneuve, Williams and Ferrari, side by side (as usual), and Marc Surer's efforts in the Ensign at Watkins Glen. It all still seems like yesterday.

I'm very glad this book exists. It proves that the World wasn't black & white in those days, and that it all might really have happened.

The book lacks drama, admittedly, but it still provides a reasonable visual journey through that period, and it's sure to bring back many memories for those who had an interest in the sport at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Winning Formula, 1 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is just one from a great series of books on motor sport in years past (the exception being the BTCC).

Good use of images and informative extended captions mean it is easy to browse and you will learn something each time. Background details from a clearly knowledgeable and enthusiastic author bring the machines, personalities and period to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Fans, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully compiled book-fabulous photographic record. Bought it for my Grand Prix Geek son now approaching 40's who loved it.
Very pleased with it. Came quickly and well packaged. Have now been advised he'd like the rest of the set!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F1 in All it's Glory, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like someone else i was swayed by the review by doliver74. This book took me back to the era when i first became interested (later obsessed!) by the world of Formula One. The cars of this era explored the limits of design, and innovation/evolution was almost Darwin-esque, you developed your car based on theory and your success depended on whether your design actually worked. Six-wheeled cars?! Each car was individual, unlike now where they all appear very similar, defined by computers and rules, livery is almost the only way to tell them apart. As a kid, I thought the drivers in this book were heroes just for getting in them, this book does a good job of transporting you back to a time when they were more than passengers, you can almost smell the oil! The book contains superb photos, commentary and insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Formula 1 in Camera 1970-79, Volume 2
Formula 1 in Camera 1970-79, Volume 2 by Paul Parker (Hardcover - 7 Jun 2011)
£28.00
Usually dispatched within 11 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews