Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read - Digest - Fish !
It works; I've tried it! Apply what's in this book, and you've cut short your angling 'learning curve' by years.
Published on 6 Nov. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better for returners than novices
This book claims to be aimed at novices and yet there is no mention of the basic principles of fish handling in the introductory sections. There is no explanation of how to unhook a fish. The word disgorger does not even feature in the glossary. This is an unforgivable oversight, in my opinion,which makes the book a poor choice for a beginner. There is some species...
Published on 27 July 2012 by Ceejay


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better for returners than novices, 27 July 2012
By 
Ceejay (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
This book claims to be aimed at novices and yet there is no mention of the basic principles of fish handling in the introductory sections. There is no explanation of how to unhook a fish. The word disgorger does not even feature in the glossary. This is an unforgivable oversight, in my opinion,which makes the book a poor choice for a beginner. There is some species specific discussion of fish care in the specialist sections on pike and carp but the novice may never feel the need to even look a these chapters.

As a returner to fishing after several years away I would agree with previous reviewers that this is a fair revision guide. In places it focuses on a single product or manufacturer to the exclusion of all else yet at other times it is vague, referring you to your local tackle shop for advice. In the age of internet shopping this is irritating. A couple of the illustrations of shotting patterns have been reproduced so small that it is hard to see the shot!

Another major omission for me is that there is no mention at all of lure fishing.

Overall however it is a good survey of the field, well illustrated and clear to read. Would I buy it again? Probably. Would I give it to a novice? No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read - Digest - Fish !, 6 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
It works; I've tried it! Apply what's in this book, and you've cut short your angling 'learning curve' by years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Buy, 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
This is an absolute must-buy for all anglers out there - professional and wannabe. As I only fish every few months, in recent years, I felt that I have been left behind in terms of angling methods and tricks. This book is a catch-up for me and is a real incentive to fish more. A book full of useful tips and step-by-step guides to fishing the best way. I thoroughly recommend this guide to every angler as it is bordering on being the 'Holy Book of Fishing. Five Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fishing manual by kev green, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
having been fishing since about 7yrs of age, i therefore know quite a lot.However people i have introduced to take up fishing in the
last few years i was looking for an instruction manual of sorts, and having read this book, i have recomended this book to each of them so they can get their fishing knowledge when i am not with them on the bank. For beginners i thoroughly recomend this book for anyone to use, in fact since i bought it i rarely see it, its loaned out that much...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best All Round Guide on the Market, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
I had returned to fishing after a 30 year break and needed to come up to speed on all the new gear. This book is just fantastic. Everything explained in clear and accurate detail. Good for a beginner, and even better for someone who has tried and struggled, and now trying to figure out what is going wrong.

Written with a real of depth knowledge, well put together in a logical order and something you can Keep coming back to. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haynes Coarse Fishing Manual, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
What a great book!
I haven't been fishing for well over 30 years, and so thought I ought to brush- up on angling as it is today. I'm glad I did-hadn't realised how much I've forgotten, and how much things have moved on.
I would recommend this book very highly, and recently took it with me on a fishing trip to remind me how to set-up etc. I caught several decent fish!
JOB DONE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good book giving the avid coarse fisherman a good insight ..., 23 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. Nigel Davies (handforth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
This is a very good book giving the avid coarse fisherman a good insight into new techniques. Although i didnt expect to find 30 pages on Pole fishing! if id of known this i wouldnt of purchased the book, maybe it would of been better if the author would of written a book on Pole fishing specifically like he has done with his book on Carp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Or rather - my Husband loves it!, 5 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
This item was purchased as a 73rd Birthday present for my Husband. He has had a fishing manual for some years and I noticed that he kept referring to it so decided it was time to get him a new, up-to-date Fishing Manual. He as confirmed to me that there are a lot of new products on the market which this new book gives details about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up to date, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
Saw this advertised in the angling press for considerably more than I payed on amazon, I was a little apprehensive thinking that maybe this was an old copy but I was wrong ! this is the current up to date version and it does contain all the info you need for modern fishing rigs, knots, tecniques etc, definite bargain !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for new starter, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
Bought this after taking up fishing again after a 20 year gap.
Good tips on new tackle and methods.
Many diagrams and pictures very useful and easy to understand.
Many books on fishing do not use diagrams and pictures enough in my opinion but this one is great.
Recommend for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual)
Coarse Fishing Manual. The Step-by-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) by Kevin Green (Hardcover - 1 Sept. 2011)
£17.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews