Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential- before you get the builders in.
If you want to do all the work yourself this is not really aimed at you, although will be a great help with planning, building regs, employing other trades etc. However, if you are going to get the builders in, by either employing your own contractors, or employ a builder then it is essential.

It is well written, in an easy to read informative style, and covers...
Published 23 months ago by S. Metcalfe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
As described and arrived within specified time.
Published 1 month ago by Peter K


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential- before you get the builders in., 23 Sep 2012
By 
S. Metcalfe "Steve M" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home Extension Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Planning, Building and Managing a Project (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
If you want to do all the work yourself this is not really aimed at you, although will be a great help with planning, building regs, employing other trades etc. However, if you are going to get the builders in, by either employing your own contractors, or employ a builder then it is essential.

It is well written, in an easy to read informative style, and covers design, specification, planning, projet management, finishes etc., most of the pitfalls on TV grand design, be a developer programmes would be avoided by reading what is in this book. For the 90% of people who get the builders in, rather than DIY-ers, you will potentially save yourself a lot of stress and money, even if it is just being able to have a more equal relationship with your builder it is well worth having.

I am in the property business, and found this a very useful aide memoire, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home Extensino Manual Review, 9 Jan 2013
This review is from: Home Extension Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Planning, Building and Managing a Project (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
Well this book certainly is comprehensive - I bought it thinking I knew most things about the subject and would be filling in a few gaps but as it turned out there were loads of things i hadn't even considered, especially the ventilation and all the eco stuff. I didn't expect it to teach me every trade that is needed and I gather that to do so much nowadays you need to be qualified and certified - but it did explain all the basics so that when I come to deal with the builders I will be much better prepared.It's also useful as a decision-making tool particularly for materials and other aspects of design. All the early stuff on design and project management is probably the most useful of all - as this is where so many people come unstuck - have seen plenty on Grand Designs. All in all - worth 15-20 of anyone's money - a Haynes classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful & informative book, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Extension Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Planning, Building and Managing a Project (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
Bought this as a present for my husband but have looked through it myself. I believe it would be most useful for anyone planning to have an extension built. It seems to be pretty comprehensive and guides you through the various stages, including making the initial decision(s). It could well draw your attention to various things you might otherwise have overlooked, thus saving both money and time, and it is so much easier dealing with builders etc when you have some idea of what you are talking about. While the book is aimed at people having extensions built, it would also be handy, in my opinion, when having smaller works done, for example plastering, tiling etc, as it covers the types of materials available and what to look for in the various different trades that would be involved in building an extension, so you could just refer to the section dealing with the work you wanted carrying out. The writing is clear and easy to follow. All in all, a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative with useful tips, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Extension Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Planning, Building and Managing a Project (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
I learned that instructions to the builder must be in writing, clear and definitive with the expected timescale. I will now be more confident when dealing with the builder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars self builder, 23 Aug 2011
This review is from: Home Extension Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Planning, Building and Managing a Project (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
This book is just what I need for the build of our garage, utility and kitchen. It shows all that is required to go forward from concept to completion, with alternatives for all options on the stages of construction and finishing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good reference, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Extension Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Planning, Building and Managing a Project (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
In the process of extending our new home and have found this book a great reference and getting head around process for a first time project manager. Would highly recommend for planning and implementation of any building projects and a big bonus is its a hardback, so can take a good battering on site !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Extension Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Planning, Building and Managing a Project (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
Deals with all the sorts of items that you feel requires an expert. It de-mystifies much of yhe building trade jobs. I am having extension work done and it allowed me tontalk to trades people from an informed position. My son who works for a building company was alo thoroughly impressed with it. Read it before uou start any work or talking to any builders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 26 April 2014
By 
Mrs. C Nejedly "Caz" (Bristol England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Extension Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Planning, Building and Managing a Project (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book. Currently in the process of getting a large extension and wanted to do it in sections. This book is perfect. It explains every step and helps you to understand what must happen. This is a must whether doing it yourself or getting in a builder. Would recommend this for anyone looking to do with to their house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than expected, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Extension Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Planning, Building and Managing a Project (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
Like this better than I expected tales you through planning legal , foundations brick set up drainage woodwork and roofing full visuals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide to home improvement, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Extension Manual: The Step-by-step Guide to Planning, Building and Managing a Project (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
It's actually a readable book! A no nonsense common sense approach to all the details to be considered for a home extension project. Rather like asking your mate for advice (assuming he's an expert on the subject).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews