Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book
This is an excellent book. It is a joy to read and to look at, as it is so well written and nicely laid out with good text. It offers plenty of good advice and it is easy to read, giving all the necessary information in a clear and no-nonsense way. It is presented in a logical order and there are excellent photographs and/or diagrams with very clear and sharp images on...
Published on 5 July 2011 by A Hampshire beekeeper

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm!
Picking this up and looking at the clear diagrams, you would think this was the best beginners' guide to beekeeping. Closer scrutiny reveals some confusing descriptions and a sprinkling or errors. The section on artifical swarm control i found near unintelligible in spite of lots of illustration. In contract the BBKA Manual (Davis & Cullum-Kenyon) manages to decribe this...
Published 10 months ago by Apiarist


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 5 July 2011
This review is from: Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees (New editon available) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book. It is a joy to read and to look at, as it is so well written and nicely laid out with good text. It offers plenty of good advice and it is easy to read, giving all the necessary information in a clear and no-nonsense way. It is presented in a logical order and there are excellent photographs and/or diagrams with very clear and sharp images on every page, all of which are very helpful. These support what is being discussed in the text, for example how to assemble a hive and frames, images of queen cells and queen cups, marking the queen, inspecting your colony of bees, bee diseases, how to carry out an artificial swarm, swarm control, feeding the bees and how to extract the honey, to name but a few topics. The index is comprehensive and it is easy to find anything that you need to look up. I thoroughly recommend this book and it is certainly an absolute 'must' for those new to beekeeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Beekeeping beginners., 30 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees (New editon available) (Hardcover)
Amazon's description is very misleading as Bill Turnbull did not write this book, just the preface. Claire and Adrian Waring are very able teachers.
In East Devon we now recommend it as the best beekeeping beginners' book, and we provide it on our course.
It is full of excellent picture, is well laid out and easier to navigate than Ted Hooper's Bees and Honey which has been the most used beginners book up until now.
Amazon's price makes it more affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bee Manual Ideal, 7 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees (New editon available) (Hardcover)
Being a Newby to keeping bees, I was looking for a book that would give me an insight to the pros and cons.
This book covers pretty much all the basics that I needed to know. It details the stages of the Bee, and their life cycle.How they work together in the hive. Even the way that they treat the poor drones after they have done their bit in the colony. It is probably a better laid out version than a couple of others that I bought. This is geared up for the beginner, and although nothing can replace the experience of a true beekeeper, this will whet your appetite into taking it up seriously. There is nothing more satisfying than looking after another creature that relies just as much on us, as we do them. The only thing is at the end we get to sample some of the best products that these little mis understood beings can manufacture.The book covers troubles, and problems just like the car manuals do. It goes through the year with what needs doing. Also a section on how to use the products that we harvest from a hive.
All round a good buy for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haynes Bee Manual, 19 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees (New editon available) (Hardcover)
Very well written, with excellent photos and diagrams. Ideal for beginners and intermediate experience. A bit thin on some diseases eg little said about viruses, and more could be said about varroa treatments such as oxalic acid, but this is a minor criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees (New editon available) (Hardcover)
This book is a lifesaver. As a first time beekeeper, it's been my bee bible for the past year. I did a course with my local association and the best piece of advice I got was to buy this book. It takes away any uncertainty you may have when handling your bees by yourself. Everything you need to know is in there. I even managed to catch a swarm from a neighbour's house simply by using the technique in the book. The layout is excellent, taking you through the beekeeping year step by step. Cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees [Hardcover], 10 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees (New editon available) (Hardcover)
Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees
This book is an excellent book for beginners and experienced beekeepers alike. It has very clear pictures and text it is a good addition to any bookshelf that you will keep referring to for invaluable information.

There is a misprint on page 80, the year ending numbers are wrong.

Year ending
0 or 5
1 or 6
2 or 7
3 or 8
4 or 9

Queen colour
White
Yellow
Red
Green
Blue

IT SHOULD BE.

Year ending
1 or 6
2 or 7
3 or 8
4 or 9
5 or 0

Queen colour
White
Yellow
Red
Green
Blue

I rate this book 4 srars because of this misprint.
It is inportant to have things printed correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bee Manual: The complete step-by-step guide - by Haynes, 21 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees (New editon available) (Hardcover)
If anyone has used a Haynes car manual before then you will know how clear the text, diagrams and pictures are and this is no less. This is a guide for the beginner and a prompt for the seasoned bee-keeper. Other books on this subject lose alot for me in description, but this leads you hand in bee-glove..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm!, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees (New editon available) (Hardcover)
Picking this up and looking at the clear diagrams, you would think this was the best beginners' guide to beekeeping. Closer scrutiny reveals some confusing descriptions and a sprinkling or errors. The section on artifical swarm control i found near unintelligible in spite of lots of illustration. In contract the BBKA Manual (Davis & Cullum-Kenyon) manages to decribe this quite clearly without any diagrams at all. So, okay but don't be carried away by the presentation. And, there are better books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another mistake, 24 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees (New editon available) (Hardcover)
The queen identification error has been corrected. However, there is an error on page 128, three lines from the bottom of the first column. The winter feed is made from *one* pint of water to two pounds of sugar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bee manual, 31 Aug. 2011
By 
D. Starkey "Dale" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees (New editon available) (Hardcover)
First saw this recommended in a bee-keeping monthly and thought I'd try it. What a great book. Being new to bee-keeping I really appreciate the clear instructions backed up with very clear pictures. I found the swarm management section very informative again backed up with very clear diagrams. If you are interested in bee-keeping this is a great read and at a very competitive price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-step Guide to Keeping Bees (New editon available)
£17.59
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews