Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars24
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2013
I have a lot of time for longer books (which is good because I need it to get to the end) but it's also refreshing to have the sort of book you can pick-up and come back to because the chapters are nice and short. Phil Moore manages to pack a whole lot of content into fifteen short chapters which are probably best read with a little time for reflection after each.

There are a number of Jesus' around and he's been used as a means for all sorts of agendas, but seldom in our culture do we get to hear and understand what it is that separates Jesus from the crowd. What is it that made him both one of the most loved and hated figures of history? Gagging Jesus addresses fifteen controversial things that Jesus said that has left a number of Christian's wishing he had spoke about something else. We find out that the real historical Jesus is neither a Starbucks sipping liberal or a middle-class tea-sipping conservative, in the pages of Gagging Jesus we find out that the ungagged Jesus says things about marriage, sex, divorce, pornography, poverty and pluralism that might annoy both.

If Christians want to see the Jesus of the gospels change their own lives and communities it will only come by telling others about the ungagged and often offensive Jesus who unlike the politically correct Jesus might have some things to tell us that we might not immediately enjoy hearing.

It is in hearing what the ungagged Jesus has to say that we can discern between the Jesus we may have heard about at school and the real Jesus who was loved by the poor and hated by the religious, and who came to live a perfect life and die a sacrificial death for us on the cross. The Jesus who should have been honoured was instead shamed and killed by those he came to save, and our culture will remain restless until they find their rest in the living Jesus.

Gagging Jesus is well worth a read (and won't take long), and will probably be the sort of book you could give to a friend who may have been critical of the Jesus they think they know.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
So Challenging I wanted to throw it away at one point - excellent insight into relevant issues for living today
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Phil Moore is a very perceptive writer and delves into subjects which are rarely heard in churches particularly traditional denominations. I would particularly recommend that all MPs, especially Christian MPs should read it and apply its principles.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
wonderful book - don't even think about it if you can't face a real challenge concerning your lifestyle - you might not like what you read !!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
This is the first time I've come across Phil Moore. I decided to buy the book having read a favourable review by the Evangelical Alliance.

My immediate reaction was to how easy it is to read. Phil is a great communicator to ordinary people like me. Having said that his brutal honesty in reviewing what Jesus REALLY meant does not make for comfortable reading - but then that is the point of the book. I quickly became aware of how I had fallen into the trap of listening to those who choose to dilute God's word for the sake of 'comfortable' evangelism or to make Jesus that little bit more appealing to non-believers. There is none of that in this book. It's refreshingly honest and it's no nonsense style leaves no room for misunderstanding what Jesus was actually saying to His listeners then, and also now. What Jesus said would have offended His listeners 2000 years ago - and it really ought to have the same effect on us today.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
A well written, biblically sound treatment of the difficult issues raised by Jesus. A breath of fresh air in a world of compromise.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
Good pithy reminder of awkward truth. Very easy reading, would make a good group read for youth groups to provoke discussion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Interesting , punchy and challenging treatment of Christ's message and parts overlooked by the faithful too often ..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
Clear, challenging, biblical. The cover will get you funny looks if read on the train! The content may get you funny looks as you recount them. But it is God's truth and there is no denying its application to our lives! It is also a slither of a book, so quick to read, helpful and applicable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
You definitely cant gag Jesus.
Love the easy and simple style of the book but also loved the depth it showed.
Will definitely recommend and teach from the material
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse