Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of controversy packed into such a small book!
I have a lot of time for longer books (which is good because I need it to get to the end) but it's also refreshing to have the sort of book you can pick-up and come back to because the chapters are nice and short. Phil Moore manages to pack a whole lot of content into fifteen short chapters which are probably best read with a little time for reflection after each...
Published 15 months ago by DJRodger

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gagging Jesus
Gagging Jesus. The author rightly warns about diluting the life and words of Lord Jesus into fake water, as tailoring Jesus according to own taste is a common attitude. Unfortunately, in one of his Chapters, "Jesus on sex", Phil Moore himself is, in my opinion, gagging Jesus into a sensual god by comparing the love in The Trinity with sex in marriage (see pages 52-53)...
Published 14 months ago by Magne Kongshaug


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of controversy packed into such a small book!, 17 July 2013
This review is from: Gagging Jesus: Things Jesus Said We Wish He Hadn't (Paperback)
I have a lot of time for longer books (which is good because I need it to get to the end) but it's also refreshing to have the sort of book you can pick-up and come back to because the chapters are nice and short. Phil Moore manages to pack a whole lot of content into fifteen short chapters which are probably best read with a little time for reflection after each.

There are a number of Jesus' around and he's been used as a means for all sorts of agendas, but seldom in our culture do we get to hear and understand what it is that separates Jesus from the crowd. What is it that made him both one of the most loved and hated figures of history? Gagging Jesus addresses fifteen controversial things that Jesus said that has left a number of Christian's wishing he had spoke about something else. We find out that the real historical Jesus is neither a Starbucks sipping liberal or a middle-class tea-sipping conservative, in the pages of Gagging Jesus we find out that the ungagged Jesus says things about marriage, sex, divorce, pornography, poverty and pluralism that might annoy both.

If Christians want to see the Jesus of the gospels change their own lives and communities it will only come by telling others about the ungagged and often offensive Jesus who unlike the politically correct Jesus might have some things to tell us that we might not immediately enjoy hearing.

It is in hearing what the ungagged Jesus has to say that we can discern between the Jesus we may have heard about at school and the real Jesus who was loved by the poor and hated by the religious, and who came to live a perfect life and die a sacrificial death for us on the cross. The Jesus who should have been honoured was instead shamed and killed by those he came to save, and our culture will remain restless until they find their rest in the living Jesus.

Gagging Jesus is well worth a read (and won't take long), and will probably be the sort of book you could give to a friend who may have been critical of the Jesus they think they know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gagging Jesus: Things Jesus said we wish He hadn't., 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gagging Jesus: Things Jesus Said We Wish He Hadn't (Paperback)
An eye and ear opener to the average church going Christian.
Highly recommended.
Prompt delivery and great value.
Get it before it's suppressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly honest!, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gagging Jesus (Kindle Edition)
This is the first time I've come across Phil Moore. I decided to buy the book having read a favourable review by the Evangelical Alliance.

My immediate reaction was to how easy it is to read. Phil is a great communicator to ordinary people like me. Having said that his brutal honesty in reviewing what Jesus REALLY meant does not make for comfortable reading - but then that is the point of the book. I quickly became aware of how I had fallen into the trap of listening to those who choose to dilute God's word for the sake of 'comfortable' evangelism or to make Jesus that little bit more appealing to non-believers. There is none of that in this book. It's refreshingly honest and it's no nonsense style leaves no room for misunderstanding what Jesus was actually saying to His listeners then, and also now. What Jesus said would have offended His listeners 2000 years ago - and it really ought to have the same effect on us today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love!!!!, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gagging Jesus: Things Jesus Said We Wish He Hadn't (Paperback)
Such an interesting book

I'm a fairly new Christian

So it's exciting to get to know Jesus heart more

Love this book....you really start to comprehend just how amazing Jesus was

Recommended to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book!, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gagging Jesus: Things Jesus Said We Wish He Hadn't (Paperback)
So we all 'know' what God thinks on the lesser spoken topics, but reading this book really helped hammer a few points home and there are some unexpected treats in there. Though written by a dude, there's some good stuff for dudettes in there too. And excellent little book that, even for an avid non-reader as myself, I would recommend to anyone who wants a little more flame for good doings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every Christian should read it., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gagging Jesus: Things Jesus Said We Wish He Hadn't (Paperback)
Phil Moore is a very perceptive writer and delves into subjects which are rarely heard in churches particularly traditional denominations. I would particularly recommend that all MPs, especially Christian MPs should read it and apply its principles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truth, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gagging Jesus (Kindle Edition)
Good pithy reminder of awkward truth. Very easy reading, would make a good group read for youth groups to provoke discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A much needed book, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gagging Jesus (Kindle Edition)
A well written, biblically sound treatment of the difficult issues raised by Jesus. A breath of fresh air in a world of compromise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gagging Jesus: Things Jesus Said We Wish He Hadn't (Paperback)
Though definitely not a 'comfy' read Phil Moore has explored the fifteen things Jesus spoke about that we would rather not explain to our non-Christian family and friends. Some are not too comfy for Christians either! But with his usual style of easy, accessible writing backed up by serious and in-depth knowledge and research Phil Moore presents facts that everyone should know - especially Christians. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book!, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gagging Jesus: Things Jesus Said We Wish He Hadn't (Paperback)
Extremely challenging. A timely reminder that we need to consider the radical nature of Jesus' words, and respond appropriately as individuals and churches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gagging Jesus: Things Jesus Said We Wish He Hadn't
Gagging Jesus: Things Jesus Said We Wish He Hadn't by Phil Moore (Paperback - 21 Jun 2013)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews