Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Compelling Read
I give this book a five star rating because, it answered many questions about 'Faith in the Lord of Light and Everlasting Life'' I would strongly urge you to first read the story about Isaac Liu's father, 'The Heavenly Man'. This is because as you turn through the pages of that remarkable true story, you shall probably ask yourself questions about Isaac Liu in much the...
Published 12 months ago by BoB'sworth

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Son of the Underground
Isaac Liu is the son of `The Heavenly Man' whose story caused quite a stir and not a little controversy several years ago. Now, Isaac tells his own story of being brought up in a home from which his father was absent for long periods of time because he was either in prison or on the run to avoid arrest. In fact he didn't meet his father until he was four and only knew...
Published on 7 Mar. 2012 by John Brand


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Compelling Read, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of the Underground: The Life of Isaac Liu, Son of Brother Yun, the Heavenly Man (Paperback)
I give this book a five star rating because, it answered many questions about 'Faith in the Lord of Light and Everlasting Life'' I would strongly urge you to first read the story about Isaac Liu's father, 'The Heavenly Man'. This is because as you turn through the pages of that remarkable true story, you shall probably ask yourself questions about Isaac Liu in much the same way as I did. I was thrilled to discover and read 'Son of the Underground' because it gave me a clearer picture of Isaac as a boy and a man in his own right, not shadowed by his father, but an individual who was equally guided by the Holy Spirit to serve God in spite of all hardships and persecutions from a misguided regime, other contemporaries and peers. If you are downhearted, or bored with life at the present time, I would hope you would read both books with a deeper understanding, as it will change your life forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading!, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some years ago I read the Heavenly Man and was deeply impressed at the factual account of brother Yun's time in China. When I spotted this I was keen to read Isaac's story as well. It is quite different, but I was not disappointed. I never tire of hearing accounts of the way God works in the lives of His servants, even when they are coming to terms with their attempt at obedience. Like the Bible Isaac does not cover up his failures, but learns from them and allows God to direct his way. Yes, definitely worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book!, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful to read about Isaac's life so far. His experiences are beyond what most of us in the comfortable west can comprehend, but his faith, together with support from fellow Christians, have enabled him to write this amazing book. It encourages me to trust God in every aspect of my life - "His grace is sufficient".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pray for China, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting to hear more about the Church in China -inspires Christians to be grateful for the freedom we have and to pray for those persecuted or their faith around the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful tale, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of the Underground: The Life of Isaac Liu, Son of Brother Yun, the Heavenly Man (Paperback)
Insightful tale of one man's journey through life. Ordered it for my Mum who wanted to give it as a Christmas gift. She had already read it and wanted to give it to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of the Underground: The Life of Isaac Liu, Son of Brother Yun, the Heavenly Man (Paperback)
not finished the book yet but an amazing story so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Son of the Underground, 7 Mar. 2012
By 
John Brand - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Son of the Underground: The Life of Isaac Liu, Son of Brother Yun, the Heavenly Man (Paperback)
Isaac Liu is the son of `The Heavenly Man' whose story caused quite a stir and not a little controversy several years ago. Now, Isaac tells his own story of being brought up in a home from which his father was absent for long periods of time because he was either in prison or on the run to avoid arrest. In fact he didn't meet his father until he was four and only knew him from a wanted poster. There are some interesting insights about the life and witness of the underground church in China during these years of repression and then Liu recounts the family's dramatic and daring escape to Burma and on to Germany where he enrolled in a Bible school.

It's an interesting enough story which could have been improved with some better editing, but I am always a bit sceptical when someone as young as Liu is, just 28, writes a life story and I can't help wondering whether the story would have been written and published were he not his father's son.

For the purpose of review, I received a complimentary copy of the book from Evangelical Times. I was under no obligation to write a positive review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Son of the Underground: The Life of Isaac Liu, Son of Brother Yun, the Heavenly Man
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews