Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical Detail
This is another great tale about Hugh De Singleton. The story is about a supposed suicide of a character from a previous book and about Hugh's determination to prove that it was a murder. I was a little disappointed that there is less of Hugh as a surgeon in this book, as I like the descriptions of medieval medical practices, however Hugh remains a great character. The...
Published on 14 Nov. 2011 by Booklover

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
I have no words other than this book was total tosh!
If I had bought it in paper back I would have just put it in the bin.
Published 15 months ago by rainbow


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical Detail, 14 Nov. 2011
By 
Booklover (Worcester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another great tale about Hugh De Singleton. The story is about a supposed suicide of a character from a previous book and about Hugh's determination to prove that it was a murder. I was a little disappointed that there is less of Hugh as a surgeon in this book, as I like the descriptions of medieval medical practices, however Hugh remains a great character. The level of historical detail is fantastic and I found myself flicking to the glossary to find out what all the medieval terms and phrases meant. I could almost imagine myself there.

The book is the 4th in a series however I think it would work just as well as a standalone book so don't be put off if you haven't read the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining medieval mystery, 8 Jan. 2012
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (The Chronicles of Hugh De Singleton, Surgeon) (Paperback)
"Unhallowed Ground" is the fine fourth installment of the Hugh de Singleton series by Mel Starr. Hugh de Singleton is a 14th Century English surgeon who is also the bailiff, or general manager, for the estate of an important nobleman in the southeastern part of England. A perceptive and principled man for the times, de Singleton has emerged into kind of early police detective, who is kept busy by a continuous stream of crimes--major and minor--ranging from curfew violation to game poaching to murder. "Unhallowed..." opens with the death of a village one-man-crimewave, Thomas atta-Bridge. Bailiff de Singleton quickly concludes that the death, staged to look like suicide, is actually a murder. There is immediately a long list of suspects. The victim was hated by virtually everyone in the village of Brampton, where he and de Singleton live. The Bailiff himself has reason to rejoice at att-Bridge's death as the man had twice tried to kill him. From this point forward, the novel follows a classic police procedural course as de Singleton works to pare down the list of murder suspects. Early into the process, he and his new wife Kate become murder targets, effectively opening a second storyline.

There are a couple of things that made this novel above average reading for me. The characters are mostly well sketched and accessible. While the protagonist is not Mensa-smart, he is logical, fair-minded and a credible everyman kind of guy. This storyline sends him into one sleuthing blind alley after another, and after each dead end, he doggedly and convincingly reassesses and moves on.
The second element that I liked about this book--and others in the series--is the great amount of detail about daily life in medieval England that is included in the stories. Author Starr has done an enormous amount of research for this series and provides a helpful glossary at the beginning of the books. The overall result is to give palpable authenticity to the work.

A good read and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Gem, 21 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another absolute gem of a book.
Each of the Hugh de Singleton series builds on the strengths of the previous work while introducing new elements that, hopefully, will be followed up in editions to come.
As another reviewer has mentioned I'd like to have read a little more of the Surgeon but that's a very minor point in an otherwise excellent book.
Now, if we can just have a new book every month, with no loss of quality, I'll be a very happy man.
(Just kidding, really looking forward to the next one.......Soon please.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unhallowed Ground..The Fourth Chronicle of Hugh de Singleton,Surgeon., 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (The Chronicles of Hugh De Singleton, Surgeon) (Paperback)
This is book four in this series of medieval murder mystery stories. This is the best series of this type that I have read in a long time! The characters are so well written and the descriptions of that period of history bring the story to life! This book again is very difficult to put down and housework and other jobs tend to be forgotten!! Can't wait for the next book to be published! Would recommend this series to anyone who likes this type of story or someone who is looking for a change of author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 5 Feb. 2012
By 
D. White (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (The Chronicles of Hugh De Singleton, Surgeon) (Paperback)
An author who never disappoints. A good read and continues the series with flair, I look forward to the next one!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't fault this great historical fiction book - very detailed and historically well researched. Storyline keeps you guessing 'til the end and wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unhallowed ground, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (The Chronicles of Hugh De Singleton, Surgeon) (Paperback)
Once again Mel Starr is showing that he's a good follower of all these medieval mystery writers. I'm looking forward to his next Hugh De Singleton novel !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phew !!!, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (The Chronicles of Hugh De Singleton, Surgeon) (Paperback)
Mel is a gifted author and all his works have been avidly read, blow the housework! I have already preordered his forthcoming novel, can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hugh de singleton 4, 27 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (The Chronicles of Hugh De Singleton, Surgeon) (Paperback)
easy read, good story, i get to know hugh's character as you read the series. seems unusual combination of surgeon and bailiff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant series, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (The Chronicles of Hugh De Singleton, Surgeon) (Paperback)
Love this series and the way it is written - it is a must read for those who love medieval murder mysteries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unhallowed Ground (The Chronicles of Hugh De Singleton, Surgeon)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews