Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Different Kind of church, 5 May 2011
This review is from: The Spirit-Filled Church: Finding Your Place in God's Purpose (Paperback)
Because the Holy Spirit initiated our Christian lives, and birthed the Church, we need Him to complete the task. We must go beyond a mere theological acceptance of His work and pursue His power today. This book contains a biblical model of the church, and whether you are charismatic or not it is well worth a read.

This is a radical book that may demolish many of your current beliefs about the church. Its author has been convinced for decades that the church can resemble the model described in Acts. These are not the untested ideas of a young man who thinks he has all the answers. Terry Virgo has devoted his life to embracing both the Spirit's power and the rock-solid foundation of the Scriptures. He founded a global movement of over 800 vibrant, grace-rooted, Spirit- filled churches in more than 60 nations, and on every continent.

All over the world in spontaneous groups that are often unaware of each other, people are embracing similar ideas. The growing global church is very conscious of being Spirit-filled. If you live where the power of evil spirits is very evident, you need a God who is alive and active. As cultural Christianity recedes, it is not just secularism that is seeking to replace it. Many in the West are seeking spiritual reality. Will they find it in your church? Or will they reject Christianity as powerless and search elsewhere?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars every church leader should read this book., 8 Dec 2011
By 
Sydney Rennie "bargain hunter" (edinburgh, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spirit-Filled Church: Finding Your Place in God's Purpose (Paperback)
I found this to be an excellent book describing the work of the Holy Spirit in the church. I especially liked the final five chapters dealing the role of the prophet and the apostle in the church today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pocket sized gem., 12 July 2011
This review is from: The Spirit-Filled Church: Finding Your Place in God's Purpose (Paperback)
A clear concise understanding of God's plan and structure for today's church.

Terry has an insiders view of the ministry gifts of Christ to His church and has worked out for himself the art of harmonising with men with different gifting than himself. In fact his description of how different ministries work helped me more clearly see my own role.

An essential read for anyone who is seeking to follow the biblical pattern of church life and structure in today's challenging world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Help to grow my faith, 9 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Spirit-Filled Church: Finding Your Place in God's Purpose (Paperback)
Lovely book, just as a need to read as a new Christian.
Most of we read nowadays is not helpfully as this book.
Excellent book for a church leader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit-Filled Church: Finding Your Place in God's Purpose (Paperback)
This is a very thought provoking book and at the same time a good read. I would recommend this book by Terry Virgo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spirit -filled Church by Terry Virgo, 16 Jun 2012
By 
V. E. Cairns "Viv" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit-Filled Church: Finding Your Place in God's Purpose (Paperback)
Excellent book as are all those by Terry Virgo. This is straightforward and easy to read and would completely recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an exerlant little book, a kind of gold standard for churches. Although we will never find the perfect church on earth , this book points to the way ahead we need Spirit filled churches to meet the huge needs in the uk today, and indeed all over the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just read it yet again, 15 Sep 2011
By 
A. M. Mullett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit-Filled Church: Finding Your Place in God's Purpose (Paperback)
I'm finding that each time I read this, and I've just finished it for the third time, that there is so much I missed out the previous time.

I'll read a few other things and then I'll go back to this again and fully expect to read it from a totally different angle and gain lots more insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spirit-Filled Church: Finding Your Place in God's Purpose
The Spirit-Filled Church: Finding Your Place in God's Purpose by Terry Virgo (Paperback - 20 May 2011)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews