Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, dark police/forensic mystery with a difference.
Hidden works well as a stand alone if, like me, you haven't read the other novels in the Reilly Steel series. Casey Hill provides plenty of back history, more than enough to fill in the gaps. Overall I enjoyed Hidden with it's slightly mystical/ethereal theme of angel wings. For a punchy, modern murder/forensic thriller this is quite Gothic and the addition of Reilly's...
Published 23 months ago by JK

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good start - pity about the end !!
Started off with lots of promise when a teenage girl is found dead on a country road supposedly the victim of a hit and run accident. The unusual tattoo on her back was the staring point to extensive investigations and theories as to her origin and anachronistic feel and you hoped that the eventual outcome could somehow involve at least a modicum of mystery or maybe have...
Published 17 months ago by David H J Ashdown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, dark police/forensic mystery with a difference., 17 May 2013
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Hidden works well as a stand alone if, like me, you haven't read the other novels in the Reilly Steel series. Casey Hill provides plenty of back history, more than enough to fill in the gaps. Overall I enjoyed Hidden with it's slightly mystical/ethereal theme of angel wings. For a punchy, modern murder/forensic thriller this is quite Gothic and the addition of Reilly's 'sixth sense' adds a surreal edge that works really well. Opening chapters are sufficiently gripping to draw the reader in and the plot pans out nicely into some well worked police procedural/forensic elements. Casey Hill adds tension to the narrative with a creepy murderer who's on the loose and just biding time until they're caught...will they have time to kill again? Not telling you .... read the book! There's a decent sense of mystery throughout Hidden with twists and turns that lead you down a dead end then spin you around and lead you off in another direction. The feel of Hidden is 'old fashioned' because it's written in a style that's in no rush. The plot lingers over detail and rambles on down side paths without rushing headlong towards the ending. Attention is definitely on the story telling and character building rather than action sequences or cat and mouse chases. There's some violence and gore but not too much and those themes never become gratuitous. Scenes set around the missing/murdered children are written with empathy and quite emotional. I'm impressed with Hidden and really enjoyed the quirky character of Reilly Steel. Not at all the 'usual' police procedural and I'm happy to have found this little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5, 28 Jun. 2014
By 
Elaine Tomasso (Troon. Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A girl with an angel tattoo is found dead, the victim of a hit and run. The killer is soon found but establishing her identity is more difficult. I thought this was a good read and it held my attention but there are a few annoying things about it. I felt that procedure and logic were sometimes abandoned to further the plot (eg they knew who the bad guy was but didn't do any background on him - not very likely) and the ending was abrupt and not fully explained. I will probably read the next book in the series as, annoyances aside, I quite liked this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good start - pity about the end !!, 24 Nov. 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hidden (Reilly Steel 3) (Paperback)
Started off with lots of promise when a teenage girl is found dead on a country road supposedly the victim of a hit and run accident. The unusual tattoo on her back was the staring point to extensive investigations and theories as to her origin and anachronistic feel and you hoped that the eventual outcome could somehow involve at least a modicum of mystery or maybe have a bit of a spiritual edge - but in the end it was very ordinary and quite tedious and you were left with the feeling that it could have been so much better and different from what it turned out to be , it was as if the first half of the book had been written by a competent author and the remaining half by a novice. - a lost opportunity !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars casey Hill, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden (Reilly Steel 3) (Paperback)
good read and would recommend it to anyone who likes crime and I will read all by this author as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great read, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of Casey Hill and have enjoyed all her novels so far as they have the same characters but very different storylines. Hidden was an excellent novel leaving you with a cliff hanger. Can`t wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always thrilling, you never know what is coming next, from the first page to the last page, it's an exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read. Can't wait for the 4th book. Couldn't put it down!!! Highly recommend this book. Great author and we'll written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page turner, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent read. exciting, believable a definite page turner. disappointing ending, seemed to just be chopped off. wanted more.
Helen Posgate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the series, 1 April 2013
Having read the previous books, am liking the recurring characters of Reilly Steel and the detectives more with each book though is not necessary to have read the others before this as each book stands alone. Gripping story about missing children with some clever twists thrown in and I read it over a weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden, 29 April 2013
By 
Annette (Dundalk, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book from Casey Hill .If you have not read any Riley Steel stories I suggest you do asap. Easy reads. Could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hidden (Reilly Steel 3)
Hidden (Reilly Steel 3) by Casey Hill (Paperback - 29 Aug. 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews