Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, Informative and Rushed
I loved this book, the way it is presented, with first hand experience seamlessly integrated into analysis is excellent. My only qualm, and the reason for it losing a star, is that it feels rushed and not properly proofread, leading to silly but annoying errors. Despite this, it is well worth a read.
Published 18 months ago by Samuel

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some excellent material but difficult to read
I bought this because I enjoy Jeremy Bowen's news reports and thought this would give me a better insight into what is going on in the Middle East.

There is indeed some really good analysis. For instance I now have a lot more sympathy for Russia's position on Syria because of Bowen's explanation which seems a lot more balanced than what we normally hear...
Published 10 months ago by NJB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some excellent material but difficult to read, 31 Aug 2013
By 
NJB (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this because I enjoy Jeremy Bowen's news reports and thought this would give me a better insight into what is going on in the Middle East.

There is indeed some really good analysis. For instance I now have a lot more sympathy for Russia's position on Syria because of Bowen's explanation which seems a lot more balanced than what we normally hear.

However I really struggled to keep interested for much of it. It may be that Bowen writes in chunks comparable to his TV reports - but the chunks just don't seem terribly well connected. He jumps from high level analysis to personal interaction with ordinary people he meets on the street, to something happening in a different country.

A number of these chunks really held my attention but many others did not and seemed like they were commentary behind TV images of the conditions and doesn't work so well without those images.

I'd suggest anyone gets a sample first if buying for a Kindle to see if the writing style is OK for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, Informative and Rushed, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Samuel (MAIDSTONE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arab Uprisings: The People Want the Fall of the Regime (Hardcover)
I loved this book, the way it is presented, with first hand experience seamlessly integrated into analysis is excellent. My only qualm, and the reason for it losing a star, is that it feels rushed and not properly proofread, leading to silly but annoying errors. Despite this, it is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Front line reporting, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Gordon Eldridge (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As other reviewers have said, this book does not give a comprehensive history of the Arab uprisings, but then Jeremy Bowen is not a historian, he is a reporter. And in fact he says himself in the introduction that he is not aiming for a comprehensive history and that his book will be slanted towards the episodes he had direct experience of. However, the front line reporting is outstanding. Bowen describes vividly incidents he witnessed and allows stakeholders from all viewpoints to speak for themselves with direct quotes. The book allows you to really get inside the events as they are happening and to some extent to get into the thoughts of a huge variety of individuals who participated in the events. Bowen does give enough historical, political and economic detail for the reader to set the events effectively in context. He also examines some of the economic, political and sectarian fault lines which make the Arab uprisings such complex events and which make each of them so different from the others. All in all a fascinating read, and an important contribution to helping us understand what is happening in the Middle East.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lively Reportage, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Bernard Moore (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arab Uprisings: The People Want the Fall of the Regime (Hardcover)
Jeremy is a familiar and respected reporter but falls down when it comes to analysis. The impressions ofwhat he personally saw and heard are convincing evidence of the people's fervent desire for political change but do not explain the history, the economics and political set-ups or the crucial role of oil in their determination. Jeremy is too much the front-line reporter and not enough the historian and political analyst
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first hand commentary from highly regarded primary source, objective, informed and incisive., 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever Jeremy Bowen's first hand on the spot journalism is balanced by his deeper understanding that the Middle East is a complex melange from the artificial melting pot of former colonial artificially created territory, politics, secular and religious excesses. This book should be compulsory reading for cabinet and opposition as well as Whitehall FO Middle East Desks.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting account of the causes and unfolding of the arab uprisings, 22 Mar 2014
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arab Uprisings: The People Want the Fall of the Regime (Hardcover)
This is an interesting and very readable account of the uprisings in Tunisia, Egypt, Syria, and Libya, with references to Lebanon, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia. Mixing personal reportage style writing with brief analyses of the causes and and key events of the uprisings, Bowen makes clear that they cannot be treated as single movement but are instead a series of localised reactions to authoritarian regimes and hopelessness, connected mainly by the use of social media to bring the rebellions to worldwide attention and to communicate with other resistors to the status quo.

Bowen makes clear that the uprisings, even when they have been successful in deposing rulers, have some distance yet to run before stability is achieved and democatic processes fully established.

This is a readable book, although at times the narrative is a liitle disconnected and seems rushed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Tammam Aloudat "Bookworm" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is not going to give you a full account of the Arab uprisings, neither a very comprehensive one. If you are an avid follower of those events, then do not expect much more to be added.

However, the brilliance here is that of a personal account of a very experienced journalist, it is a well told story, a personal account, and experience and gut of one of the "old dogs" of Middle East journalism.

Have a read, get to know more about the horrid dictators of the Middle East and the people who rebelled against them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE MIDDLE EAST FOR DUMMIES, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
INFORMATION IN DEPTH

Because Jeremy Bowen has been the BBC Middle East correspondent for so long, he has an enormous wealth of understanding of the cultural undercurrents which apply across the region. His TV contributions make a complex situation easy for the layman to understand. This book does the same in a readable manner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant account about a frightening topic, 24 Jan 2013
This review is from: Arab Uprisings: The People Want the Fall of the Regime (Hardcover)
Extremely well written account about some of the most extraordinary and frightening events in the last hundred years. At times it was like reading a novel, the narrative was set out in a wholly engaging way but the reader was never ever allowed to forget that these pages were recording - perhaps prematurely since there could be no neat ending to this story - the desperate lives of ordinary people as well as their powerful leaders. As well as being well written the book shows the huge courage of our war correspondents and hints at the stresses at working in these environments. Like all books published to a deadline one or two errors had not been picked up by the editors. But nothing detracts from the overall brilliance of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arab Uprisings: The People Want the Fall of the Regime (Hardcover)
well presented interesting history, very informative and instructive made a lot of problems clear to me. excellent account of the peoples feelings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arab Uprisings: The People Want the Fall of the Regime
Arab Uprisings: The People Want the Fall of the Regime by Jeremy Bowen (Hardcover - 25 Oct 2012)
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews