Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended.
Very good book. One of the best in the WI series. Explainations of pectin etc, very helpful. Realy useful book.
Published 9 days ago by Paul Norton

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WI Homemade Jams & Chutneys
I already own the now out of print WI Book of Preserves by Carol Tennant, which can now only be bought second hand for 20+ (shows what a brilliant book it is). I bought 'Jams & Chutneys' as a gift thinking it must be an updated version of the former, but its not at all. 'Jams & Chutneys' does include some of the same recipes as 'Preserves' and while it is a nice book,...
Published 21 months ago by Julie Murphy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Feedback., 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homemade Jams & Chutneys (Women's Institute) (Hardcover)
An easy book to feed and has good instructions. Also some of the recipes are unusual and will try them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Jammy, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homemade Jams & Chutneys (Women's Institute) (Hardcover)
Good clear instructions on basic recipes, & wonderful pictures so you know what it should look like, very good value for money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting recipes, 24 Dec 2012
This review is from: Homemade Jams & Chutneys (Women's Institute) (Hardcover)
I already own some very good jam and chutneys recipe books but when I came across this one at a very good price I decided to give it a try and I wasn't disappointed! I haven't tried the recipes yet tough! There are a couple of ingredients I don't know but I will try to find them on Wikipedia and anyway, when you live abroad you can expect to be a bit limited but for the most part I think that I will be able to make most of the recipes! I do have a question about the variation on the Rhubarb & Fig Jam which seems to use oranges but there is no metion to how many, maybe instead of the lemons? I also wish there were more suggestions on how to put the jams and the chutneys to good use, especially the less usual ones and I only use my books as suggestions because as a rule I use my own full proof recipe: either gelifying sugar (500g for 1Kg fruit) or brown sugar and agar agar which only has to boil for 4 minutes. But all these new ideas are very welcome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jammy Jams & Choice Chutneys., 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homemade Jams & Chutneys (Women's Institute) (Hardcover)
This book was a revelation in the choice of ingredient combinations and the subsequent taste experiences when consumed. I would recommend this book to one and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Both classic and new recipes, 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homemade Jams & Chutneys (Women's Institute) (Hardcover)
I own alot of chutney and preserve books already, but in searching for new ideas, i came across this book at my library, and then ended up purchasing it very quickly! There is a really good mixture of both classic recipes and slighlty more unusual ones to tempt you. The recipes are clear and easy to follow, with a good mixture of store cupboard and special ingredients, and the amounts that the recipes make are a good quanity for a couple of jars in most cases, so you can make a few recipes at a time without thinking that you are going to be eating jams and chutneys for every meal. The use of both the fruit and veg is again a good mixture so you will be able to make different items according to the different fruit/veg seasons. I tend to make jams and Chutneys to enter into village shows and there are some good recipes that will im sure be on alot of village shows entry forms - so a very good showing guide book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homemade Jams & Chutneys (Women's Institute) (Hardcover)
Product received in good time, and just what i was looking for. Great for the first time preserver, would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Homemade Jams & Chutneys (Women's Institute)
Homemade Jams & Chutneys (Women's Institute) by Midge Thomas (Hardcover - 2 Feb 2012)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews