Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to an ever expanding universe.
Sisterhood of Dune is a novel of multi-level complexity and yet is simplistic enough in it's vision of an as yet untold history within the Dune universe.

I really liked the focus on the story, following a number of decades after the Butlerian Jihad, where humanity rose up and threw off the long years of Machine rule.

But as one power vacuum is...
Published on 14 Feb 2012 by Marshall Rathar

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dune (heading for the bin)
Having been engrossed for years by Franks work, and then enjoying Brian's follow up (especially with the thinking machine wars) I have to say that this book has lost a little something. The continual need to summarise over and over again at the commencement of a chapter storylines from the book you have only just read in the previous chapters, has had me almost tossing it...
Published on 7 Aug 2012 by wtsmyth


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dune (heading for the bin), 7 Aug 2012
Having been engrossed for years by Franks work, and then enjoying Brian's follow up (especially with the thinking machine wars) I have to say that this book has lost a little something. The continual need to summarise over and over again at the commencement of a chapter storylines from the book you have only just read in the previous chapters, has had me almost tossing it in the bin. The plot and storyline could be so good but the execution is dreadful....I cannot believe anyone with the Herbert bloodline could have written this or supported such poor writing of what could/should be one of the best tales ever leading up to the Birth of Paul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but this is just bad., 12 July 2012
I want to preface my comments by saying that I think Frank Herbert's original Dune works are the best science fiction ever written. He was able to write political and psychological thrillers while he simultaneously created cultures and worlds as he told his stories. No wasted words, no wasted effort - absolutely masterful writing. His characters were fascinating, captivating, strong personalities with gripping ambitions, hopes and fears. As you read you were pulled into their personalities and experienced the stories through them.

Sadly this book reads like little more than an expository piece of backstory doing nothing more than telling and explaining. The characters read like cardboard cutout characters as their motivations and histories are explained, described, redescribed and retold repeatedly page after page. There is little life in the characters or their worlds other than what was so powerfully written by Frank Herbert in his original books. The characters are lifeless, flat, dull and boring and in short order I noticed I didn't care about them or what happened to them. Don't expect anything even remotely like the original books. I wanted to hear more of Frank's storytelling but you won't find any of it here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisterhood of Dune (Paperback)
I love the series but I hate the way these two are bending the Dune universe over and shafting it repeatedly. There was an entire story thread that was unnecessary and rather than using it, they just killed it off. Not the seller's fault, it's the authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to an ever expanding universe., 14 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sisterhood of Dune (Dune Schools of Dune Trilogy 1) (Hardcover)
Sisterhood of Dune is a novel of multi-level complexity and yet is simplistic enough in it's vision of an as yet untold history within the Dune universe.

I really liked the focus on the story, following a number of decades after the Butlerian Jihad, where humanity rose up and threw off the long years of Machine rule.

But as one power vacuum is removed, another takes its place in the form of the Butlerian movement and their unending quest to destroy technology at any cost (the paradox being that they don't mind using technology when it suits them, thereby travelling in starships, going from world to world to continue their crusade).

I also liked the varying viewpoints from different characters and ideologies, and also the true birth of the Sisterhood and the planting of the first seeds that leads to its own desire to control humanity through genetic selection (a goal similar in many aspects to the Butlerian cause).

With various factions now turning against the Butlerian movement, the following two books look to be leading to something quite spectacular, and the return of a powerful force, but this time controlled by humans.

Well worth reading if you like the Dune universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
avid dune reader this one dodnt disapoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars too early to tell:), 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazon are a bit previous with their demands for ratings, only just started reading but so far all's good, being an avid "Dune" fan i'm finding the constant brief resumes outlining the previous books a lil' bit annoying (hence the 4 stars) but i can understand why this is done:) The seeds of all the different factions were sown in the "Machine crusades" series and this series is adding more flesh to them, making them more recognisable to what appears in the next series, "House of...", and finally the original books, which i'll have to reread me thinks:) but only if Amazon drop the price, it's about time they were free along with all the other classic novels:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read an intense edition to the saga. Well worth the buy and a good edition to any shelve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 4 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful tale that twists and turns and keeps you engaged and wanting to learning more and see where things go next....can't wait to read the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sisterhood of Dune, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Insight after insight, a delicate, intricate story telling of how links are formed and families are torn apart by often vicious means. Next please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant enough read but nothing special, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This title is one of the slightly better ones in the BH/KJA range of Dune books. The best part is where the Sisterhood are dealt with; the other factions are bland. As one other author has remarked, the modern efforts do not have the characterisation and originality of the original works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sisterhood of Dune (Dune Schools of Dune Trilogy 1)
The Sisterhood of Dune (Dune Schools of Dune Trilogy 1) by Brian Herbert (Hardcover - 5 Jan 2012)
£18.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews