Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vanquish The Dragons
Anjelica Huston gives us the first half of her life in this book. The title comes from a nursery tale about magpies.

'One for sorrow
Two for joy
Three for a wedding
Four for a boy
Five for silver
Six for gold
Seven for a story lately told'

It seems her life contains all seven. She was born in Los Angeles, and her...
Published 5 months ago by prisrob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A story lately told
I was expecting a really interesting read but found this a muddled account of her life. Interesting to a point but not very well written.
Published 2 months ago by Jen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vanquish The Dragons, 22 Nov 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in London, Ireland and New York (Hardcover)
Anjelica Huston gives us the first half of her life in this book. The title comes from a nursery tale about magpies.

'One for sorrow
Two for joy
Three for a wedding
Four for a boy
Five for silver
Six for gold
Seven for a story lately told'

It seems her life contains all seven. She was born in Los Angeles, and her father,the actor/director John Huston was across the world in Africa making a film 'The African Queen'. Her mother, Enrica Soma, 23 years younger than her husband, gave up her life as a ballerina for the love of John. However, Enrica was John's fourth wife, and he was known as a womanizer. The love of women, drink, adventure and his profession kept him separated from his family most of their lives.

Anjelica tells us of her homes, St. Cleans in Ireland, where her father lived in the big house when he was home, and the family lived in the little house, all the time. She and her brother, Tony, had many wonderful times most of them lonely. They lived in the country, had a nanny or a tutor, and depended upon visits from friends of the family. They did have glorious times with their father when he returned, but he was a stickler for good behavior and manners. He believed in taking chances and competition. Many stories of horse racing and chances taken. Much was expected of Tony and Anjelica, and to live up to their father's needs and wants took a great deal of strength. At some point, Enrica and John separated, but no one told the children. Anjelica and Tony moved to London with Enrica. They entered private school where Anjelica was very unhappy. Soon, Enrica was pregnant with another man's child. He did not want the child, and when Allegra was born she became part of the Huston family. At another time, Anjelica and Tony were introduced to a new brother. John, their father had a son with a woman named Zoe. Danny Huston became a very dear brother to Anjelica, but they did not live together.

The family was disjointed and issues were never discussed, it was thought the children would just accept things as they were. Anjelica's story becomes more alive after the move to London. There were parties, make-up, music, the Beatles, the clothes, and the 60's were part of Anjelica's life. Her teen years are rather muddled and glossed over. She appeared in one of her father's films and received horrible reviews. A tragedy comes upon the family which changed Anjelica's life. She moves to New York, enters life in the fast lane and makes unfortunate love choices.

This book started out with a bang, but became plodding. A young life told by a child. Descriptions of homes, clothes and food are interesting but not telling. The teen years and Abbey Road pick up the story, but there is something missing. To live in a home with a father who comes and goes, with many mistresses, a mother who did the same, must have rendered some form of need, other than picking older lovers, we are left wondering.

This is the first part of Angelica's life, let's hope she opens up in the second half of her life. The writing is at times exquisite and full of life, but like the cool grey that covers the Irish countryside, it fails at times and becomes without much life. All in all, a fascinating look at half a life.

Recommended. prisrob 11-21-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick enjoyable read, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Whitefish (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in London, Ireland and New York (Hardcover)
What a life Angelica has led and not all good. There was a bit of behign neglect I would say although her parents sound like real characters. This is a book you pick up and won't put it down until you finish it (and it won't take long).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect as a gift, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in London, Ireland and New York (Hardcover)
Very well received gift. Tells a fascinating story of behind some of the more iconic film stars of the 1960s onwards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She lead a very interesting life, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in London, Ireland and New York (Hardcover)
I enjoyed reading this book very much. She is a great writer and her descriptions of places is excellent as is her memory. I found myself saying I will just read one more chapter but that proved impossible so I just kept reading. When she wrote about her mother’s death is was heartbreaking in it’s honesty. I am looking forward to the continuation of her story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Story, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really only picked this up because it had had a good review in my copy of The Week but I have to say it was thoroughly engrossing and I look forward to reading her next biography (this one only covers her earl life).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A story lately told, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was expecting a really interesting read but found this a muddled account of her life. Interesting to a point but not very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars waiting for her follow up, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Angelica has had an amazing life.this is the first half of her story.her amazing memory for places and people she has met on her journey is told in an easy reading fashion..the amazing homes she has been brought up in..along throughout with her father John Huston..not always an easy relationship for her..a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars autobiographical marvel, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in London, Ireland and New York (Hardcover)
I am not often compelled to write reviews however , this book is marvelous !!
A perfect insight into a bygone era .A terrific mix of rural life and glamour of fashion and film.
It is well written and yes I acknowledge that there might be many names dropped but it gives you a insight as to what it would have been like being brought up in the same house as the most celebrated director of his day John Huston.
A personal perspective and a must for any film fan!! Just cannot wait for the second part of her life story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Turbulent, ethereal,another world, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great sense of the magic of growing up in rural Ireland whilst simultaneously experiencing the dysfunction of family life. I definitely get the sense that as Angelica's happiest times were as a child. She lost her innocence as she got older and her mother's death was incredibly painful. It us sad that following this her abusive relationship with Bob commenced. I feel the book ended prematurely and eagerly await the second part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars biography, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in London, Ireland and New York (Hardcover)
It was ok not what I thought mostley about her life in ireland, not about people she met or fell in love with or about her film s she made alot about her dad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafc57de0)

This product

A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in London, Ireland and New York
A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in London, Ireland and New York by Anjelica Huston (Hardcover - 19 Nov 2013)
11.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews