Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars insightful adaption!
i know the books of dale carnegie since decades.
in fact his most well known books "how to win friends" and
"stopp worrying and start living" made a real difference
to my life and my career!
as i have read this new adaption i was fascinated by its
value! in my opinion some of the original principles
are made even clearer and more...
Published on 6 Oct. 2011 by Henning Lang

versus
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unnecessary
I have read the original book by Dale Carnegie and loved it. It was easy to read and although the stories were from many years ago, the principle remains the same.
This book is written in a language that is not fluent and hard to read which I think is unnecessary, and also it's a bit like a review of the original book. I bought it instantly as I loved the original as...
Published on 3 May 2012 by NS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars insightful adaption!, 6 Oct. 2011
i know the books of dale carnegie since decades.
in fact his most well known books "how to win friends" and
"stopp worrying and start living" made a real difference
to my life and my career!
as i have read this new adaption i was fascinated by its
value! in my opinion some of the original principles
are made even clearer and more precise!

e.g. the original principle "arouse an eager want" was adapted
to "connect to core motives" which makes it even more understandable
and usable for the reader! it makes it even more applicable
for sales-people or everybody wanting to convince others!

i discovered an approach to dale carnegies principles from
an attitude- and value-based sight! it is often stated how important
compassion and altruism is! we know from positive psychology
and other fields how important compassion is! the adapted principles
make it easy to apply this compassionate attitude everyday!

by reading this book (in fact the kindle-edition
which has been released in great britain end of september)
i was reminded of the principles, saw them
clearer and applied them immediately!

i have found my relationships growing stronger
and the athmosphere at work becoming more fun!(in no time!)

read this book and REALLY apply its principles and you will
be stunned by the effects on your relationships and work-life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unnecessary, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read the original book by Dale Carnegie and loved it. It was easy to read and although the stories were from many years ago, the principle remains the same.
This book is written in a language that is not fluent and hard to read which I think is unnecessary, and also it's a bit like a review of the original book. I bought it instantly as I loved the original as I thought it would be similar in literature, with stories used from recent times, however it has been a dissapointing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good simple and effective book, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Win Friends and Influence People in the Digital Age (Hardcover)
A thoroughly simplistic book, which states the obvious. Whilst simple and obvious it still conveys messages that most of us forget daily especially when communicating with others.

The chapter summary is essentially as follows:

- don't focus on problems but solutions
- didn't find fault reaffirm good qualities
- find out what the other people desire and focus on that
- take an interest in other people's interests in order to improve relationships
- smile a lot
- remember people's names
- listen more than talk and do so actively
- talk about things that matter to others even if they don't you
- make others feel good about themselves
- don't argue with others even when you're right
- admit your faults
- begin friendly and don't go in expecting a fight
- tap into the group collective
- allow others to take the glory
- appeal to honest motives and people will support you
- talk with others about your journey
- lead by example, the impossible should be embraced rather than shunned
- say positive things even when giving bad feedback
- acknowledge your faults before looking at others
- highlight your mistakes quickly and don't attempt to hide them
- use questions to lead people rather than telling them what to do
- play down other people's faults in order to influence them

The above are all simple facts of day to day communication but are skills many of us lack. The book essentially focuses on these points and gives case study scenarios through which each are explored.

A simple but effective book and should feature in any executive's library given that today saying even the slightest thing wrong can go viral within minutes leading to the death of one's career.

Overall book length, for the hardback format, was around 230 pages with large font. The book took me around 5-6 hours total to read from cover to cover. A quick and easy read but one I nevertheless recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book!, 7 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Win Friends and Influence People in the Digital Age (Hardcover)
Good Book. I have read the original several times and this gives a clear but more modern view. I give this out to my staff frequently. Everybody should read the book if they would like to improve their communication in business and family.
Only reason I did not give 5 is for the price they could provide better quality paper as this is not a book to be read just once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than you imagine, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Win Friends and Influence People in the Digital Age (Hardcover)
Every young guy should read this book, if you ever wanted to know how to get the whole company to like you without brown nosing then the answer is in this book, Want to win every argument by not having it and getting people to follow you? - get this book.
What to feel more confident in life? Ever wish you could charm your way through life? Well this book will show you how and much more.
The principles are not earth shattering in themselves and in some ways looking back in hind sight much should have been obvious, but we live in a world where TV and the media feeds us constant lies there are people who react to the world the same way they see people reacting on TV and cannot understand why the world rejects them, its sad but true we do not seem to use all our technology to communicate good well balanced behaviour - but this book does a lot to correct this.
For me it is a real game changer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, enjoyed it, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book raised some good points, worth a read if you haven't read the 'original'. I think I will come back to this book to refresh my mind from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What to do, 19 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. Eric Sutherland "Business Mechanic" (Greater London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good examples and annalysis covering what actions to take when trying to wins friends and influence people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant update on a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 31 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Win Friends and Influence People in the Digital Age (Hardcover)
I dont have lots to say. This book is world famous. You will get of it what you are willing to put in. I really enjoyed it, i found it valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real game changer, 13 Sept. 2012
By 
Anthony (Harrow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Win Friends and Influence People in the Digital Age (Hardcover)
At present I have this as an audio-book and listen to it while cooking, driving, walking etc. I haven't quite reached the end of the audiobook, but what I've heard already is superb. As a previous reviewer stated, much of it is obvious in hindsight, yet few of the population actually adhere to, especially those on social media.
It is a book that a great many people in the UK should read, especially those using Facebook, Twitter etc! Also recommended for relationship problems, whether dealing with your current partner, or an ex-partner (where kids are involved).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Win Friends and Influence People in the Digital Age
How to Win Friends and Influence People in the Digital Age by Dale Carnegie Training (Hardcover - 29 Sept. 2011)
Used & New from: £34.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews