Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, moving memoir
This is quite a harrowing book to read particularly the early part. I almost didn't want to read any more when I realised what was about to be described. Having followed much of her story in the news I was very interested to hear her relate her experience herself. What I didn't, I think, expect was such a high standard memoir.
I think reading this book is a learning...
Published on 16 July 2011 by smudgie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing
I understand that this is an incredibly sore subject for jaycee, but throughout the book and feel like she skimmed over everything and more attention was paid to animals rather than her having a child at 14? I never really understood why she referred to get daughters as "A" and "S"/"G" i read online her daughter's names were Angel and starlit. I also feel the end was far...
Published 6 months ago by Kirsty McDonald


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stolen Life (Kindle Edition)
Very good but sad read a very brave lady
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 23 July 2014
By 
This review is from: A Stolen Life (Hardcover)
Very interesting & amazing story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
This review is from: A Stolen Life (Kindle Edition)
Gripping all the way to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stolen Life: A Memoir (Audio CD)
great story but very upsetting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stolen Life (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting & sad book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars animals were abit repetitive, 1 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stolen Life (Hardcover)
An awful experience for poor Jaycee. The only reason I read this book in such a short space of time was because I was anxious to get to the end. The beginning of this book was really interesting, but towards the end it was just lingered out. I was eager to end her ordeal but I did get fed up with all the talk about the animals. Though I did understand the significance of them to Jaycee. Phillip Garrido really was a much troubled man and inflicted his sick desires on an innocent 11 year old girl. It really was a stolen life!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing and graphic in places., 9 Oct. 2011
By 
Mrs. A. Johnstone (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Stolen Life (Hardcover)
Cannot in all honesty say I enjoyed this book that would be the wrong word, but I do wish Jaycee and her family all the very best, her story is heartbreaking.
The opening chapters are grim and in my honest opinion should not have been as graphic as they are. I appreciate that Jaycee had to live through this horrific abuse, who am I to say she can't write about it? But I would worry about what sort of person might be attracted to this book as a result. The first 3 chapters are very difficult to get through.
Mid way through the book, the dreadful details give way to the exact opposite, almost no detail at all about her day to day life as a prisoner, instead we get page after page written about her cats, how much she loved them and the occasional day trip out with her captors. That she had been going out in public really stunned me.
Her daughters feature very little in this memoir which surprised me. Having read "Room" by Emma Donague, I honestly felt her novel captured what it would be like to be kept cooped up with a small child year in year out, yet Jaycee's true account didn't do the same. There is almost no mention made of how they managed to pass the endless time trapped, just how on earth did a young teenager manage to cope with two little girls in such conditions? This book doesn't really tell you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stolen Life (Kindle Edition)
Amazing book, amazing woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stolen Life (Paperback)
gripping thrilling book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Stolen Life (Hardcover)
Really good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Stolen Life
A Stolen Life by Jaycee Lee Dugard (Paperback - 12 April 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews