Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable hokum, which disappoints in the end
At the start of the book you are told what happens at the end. The book, therefore, must explain how events led to that end. This device means that there is a sense of foreboding which pervades the narrative quite effectively. You know something bad's going to happen, let's put it that way!

The character of Oscar is endearingly likeable, his life at The Cedars...
Published on 4 Aug 2012 by L. Bretherton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ideas, and generally absorbing plot; characters and dialogue don't ring true
The Bellwether Revivals is one of a slew of others, set around the hallowed halls of elite learning - whether Oxbridge, or the States. I suppose Donna Tartt's The Secret History is the one which started the popularity of the genre off, and the one they are all hoping to emulate.

Here we have the same sort of scenario - a privileged set, and a lowly outsider,...
Published 14 months ago by Lady Fancifull


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable hokum, which disappoints in the end, 4 Aug 2012
By 
L. Bretherton "dempie" (Tiverton, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
At the start of the book you are told what happens at the end. The book, therefore, must explain how events led to that end. This device means that there is a sense of foreboding which pervades the narrative quite effectively. You know something bad's going to happen, let's put it that way!

The character of Oscar is endearingly likeable, his life at The Cedars and his relationship with Iris very sweetly portrayed. However, I am not sure that he would be so happily accepted by the tight clique surrounding the Bellwether siblings. Would they really want to become friends with a lad who worked in a care home, regardless of how much wisteria was hanging off it?

The character of Eden is compelling and terrifying, and I did want to find out how far he would go with his use of hypnotism as medicine. The other minor characters were not so well-defined, and mere background.

I did expect more from the sub-plot of Herbert Crest and Dr. Paulsen. I thought there was going to be some huge mystery revealed in the end, but that turned out to be a bit of a damp squib.

While I enjoyed the delightful setting of Cambridge, I did find a couple of points very irritating, and I am surprised that Mr Wood's editor (or his mother) did not spot them. In one chapter the young lovelies decide to go to St. John's May Ball, making this decision a couple of weeks before the event. Tickets for the top balls are always sold out months in advance, there is no way they could all have got tickets at that point in the year. Also, there is a reference to Herbert Crest having been sentenced to 'community service' in the 1960s!! You were sent to JAIL, than, full stop. (You could still be hanged!)

Overall, though, this is a good read, with some beautifully observed moments. I would definitely read his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Debut, 31 Jan 2012
By 
Lovely Treez (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was drawn to this like a moth to the light - I can't resist novels set in academic environments with quirky, over-privileged characters who I'd be tempted to throttle in real life. It's always a bonus if this elite group assimilates someone from a lower class, hoping to mould him in their own image. Brideshead Revisited and The Secret History rank amongst my all-time favourite reads so The Bellwether Revivals should be a shoo-in....but is it strong enough to forge its own path or is it just a readable homage?

I'm delighted to report that The Bellwether Revivals is a very distinctive, debut novel with its own identity and power. Oscar Lowe, a young Care Assistant, finds himself drawn into another world when he meets and becomes romantically involved with Iris Bellwether, an undergraduate at Cambridge. It is the hypnotic organ playing of Iris's enigmatic brother Eden which draws Oscar into a church and acts as the catalyst for a series of disturbing events.

The characterisation is superb - you feel like you're right beside Oscar, meeting Eden for the first time, being magnetically drawn to this rangy, curly haired, eccentric/mad creature who thinks he can heal via the medium of music. Eden's friends and family feel compelled to protect him but is he merely a tad idiosyncratic or a real danger to himself and others? Iris is torn between loyalty to her brother and her burgeoning romance with Oscar. Mater and Pater live in splendid isolation, with only a vague interest in their children, as long as their grades are good.

From the very first page I was drawn into the compelling and, at times, unnerving world of the Bellwethers. The opening will hook you as we begin with an ending and you really have to find out how we get there. An excellent debut novel which will appeal to fans of Brideshead, The Secret History and The Lessons by Naomi Alderman. I can't wait to see what this talented author comes out with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ideas, and generally absorbing plot; characters and dialogue don't ring true, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bellwether Revivals (Paperback)
The Bellwether Revivals is one of a slew of others, set around the hallowed halls of elite learning - whether Oxbridge, or the States. I suppose Donna Tartt's The Secret History is the one which started the popularity of the genre off, and the one they are all hoping to emulate.

Here we have the same sort of scenario - a privileged set, and a lowly outsider, this time, not a student from humbler background, but a care assistant (not even a qualified nurse) working in an nursing home, effectively wiping bottoms.

And lured by the inexplicable power of music, our hero, Oscar, who is fact is something of an auto-didact, eagerly devouring the books lent to him by a dying resident, previously a college professor, infiltrates our charmed set of glittering undergraduates. More, he falls in love with, and is fallen in love with, in turn, by the medical student sister of the other central character, the dark star, to Oscar's good and kindly light, Eden Bellwether, musician, composer, thaumaturge and possible sufferer of a personality disorder.

The book starts with death - possibly 2, possibly 3 - all this is evident from the very first page, so not a spoiler, and the journey of the book is to get to that place, and beyond it, forward.

There is much which is interesting around the dialogues between two elderly pedagogues, in their fields, that serves as counterpoint to the unravelling of the mystery that is Eden Bellwether.

The plot is rather good, but, the voices of the characters have little real identity - other than a few rather hackneyed devices to indicate who is speaking - for example, the American gay academic, calling all females honey, and the males, kid. The central female character scattering 'sweetheart' around like candy, the rather irritating juxtaposition of her clove scented cigarettes to the immediate 'clove' - she smokes a clove. No, sorry to be pedantic, she smokes a cigarette. Eden and Iris Bellweather's self-absorbed privileged parents did not seem in any way credible; the set of undergraduate friends absorbing our hero so completely, did not seem credible.

The plot itself was quite a good one, and the ideas and philosophies were also absorbing, but I struggled to believe in any of the characters at all and kept stumbling over annoying dialogue tics, that just did not seem like a voice (probably because there was not a sure enough sense of character)

However - I did want, despite not enjoying the book, to know 'what happened next' - so there is a story-teller here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black sheep or Holy Lamb?, 31 Mar 2013
'The Bellwether Revivials' is the story set in Cambridge in 2003, which has some similarities with Donna Tartt's 'The Secret History' as well as some of the Barbara Vine stories of psychologically disturbed people. It's about a young man from an ordinary working-class background who gets swept up into a close 'flock' of students centering around the disturbed genius and musician, Eden Bellwether.

The themes tackled in this story are fascinating - the relationship between genius and insanity, between faith/hope and scientific reason as well as sibling and parent/child relationships. These topics are woven well into a story with a well-constructed plot. Although there are bodies on the first page (or pages), whose they are and how they came to be there remain a mystery until the closing pages. I particularly enjoyed the author's descriptions of music in the story - it takes a special skill and talent to make music come alive through words.

But I did feel - and this is just a personal view - that I couldn't take the leap of faith (while we are on that subject) to believe wholeheartedly in these characters and their situation. The little factual slip-ups are irritating to someone who knows Cambridge well and I would have noticed these less had other aspects of the characters been more convincing. It's a small point, but I found it most unlikely that working-class parents would name a son born in the early 80s Oscar!

However, these points aside, the novel did have me gripped and the author manages to convey an sense of impending catastrophe while also making the reader think about the nature of hope and faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost a great novel - promises so much but ultimately doesn't deliver, 19 May 2012
I found this book really gripping for the first half, and didn't think the characters were as unpleasant and unsympathetic as other reviewers found then. For example, Oscar, the outsider who is brought into the group of students, is shown going on visiting one of the old people he cared for in the home, long after the climax of the book.

But overall I expected it to develop into a much richer and more exciting plot. The story reminded me a bit of Ruth Rendell's "A Fatal Inversion", with the theme of a group of heedless young people heading towards tragedy, and I'd recommend the Rendell book, which I think is more tightly plotted. I wasn't convinced that the tragedy in this book was inevitable, the way I was with Rendell's story. There's no spoiler, by the way, in revealing that the story ends in death for several characters but not for Oscar - since the author spells this out in the very first paragraph of the book.

There are a lot of sub-plots, including, as other reviews have mentioned, the one with the characters of Dr. Paulsen and Herbert Crest. This is set up so that the reader expects some great revelation at the end, which shows how the various sub-plots and apparently minor characters have actually been entwined from the very beginning. This never happened. Right up to the final page I was expecting to learn about some vital part of the characters' pasts, and be dazzled by the way in which everyone's fates were intertwined. But I was to be disappointed, as things just fizzled out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 5 May 2012
By 
Dear oh dear, what a disappointment this was. On paper it was a book that should have appealed to me: hints of both Brideshead Revisited and The Secret History - two books I've read and enjoyed - and set in Cambridge, one of my favourite places. However, for me this failed on the most fundamental level - it just wasn't interesting (to put it mildly). The characters are, in the main, unpleasant, the subject matter tedious, irritating and at times depressing, the dialogue unconvincing. I also disapprove of the literary device used by the author of starting with a prologue which basically tells the reader at the beginning of the book what happens at the end; a gimick which removes any suspense there might otherwise have been. I would have given it just the one star but for the fact that I did at least finish it. But it was really heavy going, more a trial than a pleasure. As for the supposed similarity to Brideshead, well, on a superficial level it is similar but that is all; Brideshead is on a higher literary plane altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. R. A. W. Tock (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bellwether Revivals (Paperback)
I don't normally do reviews, but this book infuriated me so much I felt driven to come here and tell the world just how bad it was.

The main issue with the book is that everything in it is overwritten to such a degree it feels like parody. The dialogue is particularly bad for this. It feels incredibly unnatural. I just didn't believe the words that these characters spoke could possibly be coming out of the mouth of a human being. People simply don't speak the way the characters speak in this book.

There's also what I call 'creative writing course' syndrome. The author is constantly referencing other, terribly smart books in order to convince us that he too is terribly smart, and well read. Character's constantly have very academic conversations about books, as if mirroring a class the author had attended.

Finally, I found the class politics of the book nauseating. The main character (whom I've just had to look up the name of he was so unmemorable) Oscar is constantly in awe of the upper class folk in the book. He talks about how his working class upbringing meant that he never discussed the news or important issues around the dinner table, and these upper class folks he's now hanging out with are oh so civilised in comparison. What a load of tosh. Clearly the closest the author has got to any working class people is watching Eastenders.

In summary this book both managed to offend and bore me. Normally I feel bad about making poor judgements of things. I wonder how I would feel if I were an author reading such heavy criticism of my work, and writing a book is a nobel pursuit that should be encouraged. I make an exception in this case. Anything that convinces Ben Wood he is an author is simply feeding the man's delusion. The kind thing to do here is to get him to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overambitious, 2 May 2012
This is a very promising first novel, but like many first novels it tries to do too much. There is too much plot in it, too much material that is very derivative, and far too much wildly unrealistic event and dialogue. "Write about what you know" may be dull advice but Benjamin Wood should have taken notice of it.The rather repellent Cambridge students are a mixture of characters culled from Evelyn Waugh, P.D.James, Donna Tartt and the (also wildly unrealistic) Lewis TV programmes, and profoundly unlike any real undergraduates from anywhere, no matter how clever or rich they are supposed to be. Such students would never pick up a character like Oscar as a pet. And where does Oscar come from? How does this young lad who leaves school at 16 manage to be so articulate and reflective? Why are these self-absorbed young people so keen on wisteria, anyway? The Bellwether parents are ridiculous, making toe-curling utterances like "My son has inherited my love of dialectic" and, because they are supposedly Christians, shocked at meeting an atheist, regarding hypnotism as "profane". Presumably Mr Wood has never met either a serious academic or an educated Christian.He has also spent too long abroad. English parents do not address their children as "son" like the Bellwethers do. The theme of the hypnotic properties of music was genuinely interesting and unusual and should have been presented more thoroughly. The psychological plot was also worthwhile but it became melodramatic and wearisome. It would have been better- more difficult but much more original and rewarding- if these two themes had been treated directly and Eden's story had been really central, without Oscar's unconvincing romance with Iris and the unnecessary Paulsen/ Crest part. Despite the comments of other reviewers, I don't think characterisation is Wood's strong point: he can evoke someone like the weird Eden perfectly well, but the more normal characters are fairly indistinguishable from each other. He is good at pace, and the novel keeps one reading, even if it is often infuriating. It is evident that a great deal of effort has gone into this novel, but unfortunately much of it is misdirected. It is to be hoped that Mr Wood, who, we are told, teaches creative writing, encourages his students to avoid his own mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Resuscitate, 13 Mar 2013
By 
G. Anderton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bellwether Revivals (Paperback)
The reality of this book falls short of the conception on a lot of levels, is my feeling. The writer has a tin ear for dialogue - who talks like this in real life? - and this contributes to the way in which the characters fail to convince. The central group of young people seems implausible - what's their motivation for belonging? We are asked (or, rather, expected) to believe this is because Eden Bellwether is so charismatic and compelling in his role as proto-cult-leader, but on the page he is just annoying, rude and an obvious nutter, lacking in any of the charm that might make the master/disciples dynamic credible.

There's no point in my rehashing what other reviewers have said about the late availability of May Ball tickets and suchlike instances of dubious factual accuracy. By far the most irritating aspect of the text is the writer's use of what he would appear to think are novel and arresting lexical choices - at one point Iris thakes a "gentle" sip of water - that just don't work at all. There are load of these; that's just one example I can call to mind just now. It's a try-hard strategy that does not come off. Having, presumably, been aiming for original and striking, it just ends up sounding as if English isn't his first language.

The effect of all this is that, finally, if you don't believe in the characters you don't care about what happens to them. So I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars starts well, fails to develop, needs an editor, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Bellwether Revivals (Paperback)
I possibly wouldn't have expected so much of this book if it hadn't been shortlisted for big prizes (at least according to the local library). I was hooked by the beginning, but the story just couldn't deliver. I had the impression Benjamin Wood, the author, couldn't make up his mind if he was writing a page turner or a literary work. In the end he went for literary, leaving many plotlines which could have been great, unexplored. Pity

The viewpoint character, Oscar, lacks charisma, and his inclusion in the group of beautiful people is never really explained. At first I thought it was because they wanted access through him (he works in a care home) to an unlimited supply old people desperate for healing, but this was not really followed up. Eden - the brother - is interesting, but other characters are sketched.

Although Benjamin Wood must be a good writer judging by his CV, I found the writing patchy. He could have done with an editor - grammar was not always accurate (he uses 'like' instead of 'as if' repeatedly), and I several times I found myself wondering if you could really use that word in that context.

As others have commented, there were too many instances of poor research/background knowledge - for example, the author works so hard to make us believe in this highly privileged and very educated family - then tells us - without any reason I could see - that the parents understood no French - hardly likely if they'd really been through public school and top universities. Nit picking? Yes if it was only once, but there are too many examples of this sort of oversight. I agree with others that the plot could have been much more intriguing - if it had been, I know would have been inclined to forgive these small errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bellwether Revivals
The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood (Paperback - 20 Dec 2012)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews