Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless ...
An excellent book from a eight-times Major winner who, even at the age of sixty, is still able to compete at the highest level. All the fundamentals of the golf swing are explained in great detail together with variations of grip, ball positioning, etc. The text and the numerous photographs are very clear and easy to understand.

I've played golf occasionaly...
Published on 1 Sep 2011 by J. Gough

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book but over ten pages were severely creased and mis-printed in manufacture
Book content good, but over ten pages were severely creased in manufacture and therefore print was smudged. Disappointing for a gift.
Published 12 months ago by Tope Janet


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless ..., 1 Sep 2011
By 
J. Gough "joeinpoole" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Timeless Swing: Learn at Any Age from His Lessons of a Lifetime (Hardcover)
An excellent book from a eight-times Major winner who, even at the age of sixty, is still able to compete at the highest level. All the fundamentals of the golf swing are explained in great detail together with variations of grip, ball positioning, etc. The text and the numerous photographs are very clear and easy to understand.

I've played golf occasionaly (and badly) for a good few years but only joined a club and tried seriously to improve over the last year. Most frustratingly I'm still a 28-handicapper due to a hopelessly flawed 'swing'. My short game is actually quite good ... if only I can get off the tee and keep out of trouble. I've taken a few lessons but my Pro has largely let me use my own agricultural grip/swing with a few adaptations and constraints. That helped reduce my wild shots but at the cost of considerable distance.

With the help of this book I've finally accepted that you have to get the fundamentals correct if you are to make progress in your game. There are no short cuts; you have to learn how to do it properly and then put the work in to build the foundations of a reliable swing.

Watson frequently refers to mistakes he sees in the swings of 'weekend golfers' and explains what the effect of each will be. He could have been watching my swing so accurately does he describe the issues.

Anyway, I've just spend a couple of evenings reading the book and making short notes to take with me to the range. With the information in the book I've changed my grip, opened my backswing, concentrated on tempo ... and it has been a relevation! When I get it right the ball soars majestically, straight(-ish) and gloriously long. I didn't know I could hit the ball like that. I've still got a long way to go but I do feel that I've made the first few steps (in the right direction) of that 1000 mile journey. Thank you Mr Watson Sir.

This book is the perfect companion to Watson's 'Lessons of a Lifetime' DVD which covers the short game as well as the swing. Buying both has been amongst the best money I've ever spent on equipment or learning. Outstanding value and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golf Instruction, 18 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: The Timeless Swing: Learn at Any Age from His Lessons of a Lifetime (Hardcover)
This is a must buy for golfers at all levels from scratch players to high handicappers. It gives a great insight into the mechanics and thoughts of a great champion and makes the game seem so simple. He doesnt complicate things or expect the player to get into ridiculous positions in order to hit the ball well. A very recommended book for all golfers and at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning from Tom, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Timeless Swing: Learn at Any Age from His Lessons of a Lifetime (Hardcover)
For anybody who bought the instructional DVD featuring Tom in 2010, the pictures and narrative will seem familiar. They should as they are lifted directly from there. That said, it is my "go to" instructional DVD and being able to quickly turn to the same advice on a page is far, far quicker. In my view this is an essential complimentary product which should be bought with the DVD, although as a standalone book it is also one of the best. Clear, concise and very Tom. A great book featuring lessons from one of the all-time greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Number One Book, 21 Jan 2012
By 
Chris Downing "Chris Downing" (Chippenham, Wilts England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Timeless Swing: Learn at Any Age from His Lessons of a Lifetime (Hardcover)
Over the year I've owned many many books and videos on golf. Now I've settled down to the Tom Watson set. Following reading this book I dumped all the other books and concentrated on learning what Tom says. As this book only deals with the full swing I then went and found copies of all his other books and the new DVD. Personally I don't need any other material now and I certainly like the idea of following just one star player and his methods.

The photos and diagrams in this book are excellent and it forms the perfect accompanyment to the DVD that feels just like the book - both very high quality in content and presentation. The DVD and book must be the best quality material ever produced for golf teaching in my opinion.

If you want another Tom Watson books to fill in the gaps, get the 40yards in book on the short game. Much easier to learn than some of the other tomes on the subject. And lastly he has a strategy book to help with real playing and making the smarter moves out on the course. Since these last two books can be had for a song S/H, they are a real bargain.

And lastly, nowadays its easy to watch Tom live on the seniors tour. Do yourself a favour and go along - no huge crowds, easy to get up close; inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear and concise teaching manual from a master, 11 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Timeless Swing: Learn at Any Age from His Lessons of a Lifetime (Hardcover)
This book sets out the timeless essentials of the good golf swing. Each chapter is concise, clear and well illustrated. For slicers of the ball (80% of all golfers!) Tom Watson demystifies the release, something golf teachers rarely do. So please read pages 103 to 104! Work through each chapter, one at a time; and I feel sure that you the reader will emerge as a more competent and lower handicap golfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golfing wisdom for all, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Timeless Swing: Learn at Any Age from His Lessons of a Lifetime (Hardcover)
This is one of the best illustrated golf instruction books on the market.Tom Watson has certainly passed on his golfing wisdom to the benefit of all who wish to enjoy playing good golf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless swing from the greatest golfer, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
there are several ways of swing a golf club
after decades of studying the swing this is easily the best I've read
simple, logical and well explained especially the way he adjusted his technique
to the modern era by in my view the best golfer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 10 Jan 2013
By 
john moylan (dublin, ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Timeless Swing: Learn at Any Age from His Lessons of a Lifetime (Hardcover)
Can't fault it. There is no bad info here. It's all practical especially the drills. Watson is the King so you can't go wrong. Who else could come so close to a major champion at 59?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top book, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Timeless Swing: Learn at Any Age from His Lessons of a Lifetime (Hardcover)
i found the book very good value with real easy understandable tips on what to do right and what not to do wrong. my new golf bible .many thanx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better golf, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Timeless Swing: Learn at Any Age from His Lessons of a Lifetime (Hardcover)
An excellent follow up to earlier helpful dvd. Very good and easy to follow photos with crisp, brief writing. Explains the reasons why things are done. And tips for the older, less flexible golfer are very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Timeless Swing: Learn at Any Age from His Lessons of a Lifetime
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews