Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Walk on - My Life in red
I got into this book very easily, it brought back many memories and a good read all round. Unsung hero really - he should have got more recognition both at club and country level. great buy.
Published on 11 Oct. 2011 by Pat

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
It was ok
Published 11 months ago by john paterson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Walk on - My Life in red, 11 Oct. 2011
I got into this book very easily, it brought back many memories and a good read all round. Unsung hero really - he should have got more recognition both at club and country level. great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ronnie-Liverpool legend., 21 Dec. 2011
This is a very entertaining autobiography by the legend of Liverpool FC Ronnie Whelan. Fifteen years at the top should have brought more reward especially more international caps. Recommended for all Liverpool fans from the early 80s to the 1993/94 season who will remember Ronnie and those League Cup Final goals against Tottenham and Man United. Was discarded by Liverpool in a very bad fashion withdrawing a one year deal in what would of been his last season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and consistent midfielder, 22 April 2013
Ronnie Whelan was a fixture in the Liverpool football team of the 1980s and played alongside stars like Souness, Dalglish and Rush. He never quite attained the status of those names but was a valuable player in the midfield engine room. This book reflects Whelan's football career. It doesn't match the height of other top football autobiographies, but does what is required to make it an interesting read. We hear a few behind-the-scenes stories, but nothing too earth-shattering, and Whelan puts forward a few opinions, but nothing too controversial. Good for Liverpool fans, other supporters can probably find better elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sir BoB, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was an excellent and very informative read, I also thought it was a very easy book to read I didn't want to put it down.
Also the condition was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 15 July 2013
By 
Mr. I. W. Peacock "116 BAT" (york, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk On: My Life in Red (Paperback)
Very interesting book about Whelan and his development as a footballer who had a good career at Liverpool before dropping to the lower leagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, 5 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grew up in the 80s as an Everton fan, and of course I remember Ronnie very well, he and his team mates caused a few disappointments (the '86 cup final!). I have read a few football autobiographies, and I'd say this is among the better ones. For a start, there are fewer errors; this is because he does not go through every season in detail and tell about many games. As a statistician, I'm sorry about this, but most people will probably not be. I think that Ronnie thinks a bit deeper and is more self-critical than many other pros, and there are a few interesting perspectives. Although also in this book you find the view that the game back then were full of hard men whereas now you get punished for physical contact. In this respect the game is better now, you should not be allowed to deliberately hurt an opponent - as he says that Liverpool did when they tackled Tony Galvin out of the '82 League Cup Final. As a foreigner this is something I will never understand about British sportsmanship: It is wrong "to try to get a fellow professional sent off" by acting, but to hurt and injure a "fellow professional" is all right.

I withdraw one star for three reasons:
1. The nonsense about hard men in football (see above).
2. He only mentions his time as Southend United manager in one! sentence
3. The language could have been better, as usual in English books there are too few commas and poor rhythm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. J. P. McKee (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk On: My Life in Red (Paperback)
It was ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent bloke, decent read, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
Captain EO "No. 7" (Cardiff, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
I don't think it's being unfair to Ronnie Whelan to say that his autiobiography would never have been one of the most anticipated stories to be told by a Liverpool player who played during a large period of the club's glory years. Dalglish, Hansen, Souness, Rush & Co were all players with bigger profiles & more talent. Craig Johnston was never LFC's finest player but he had a story to tell & told it brilliantly. Likewise, John Aldridge wasn't in Rushie's league but as a born & bred Scouser & somewhat of a cult figure, was someone whose story people would love to hear. Beyond the true greats & those with tales to tell however, Ronnie Whelan easily falls into the next category - a player who was instrumental in so many successes & was there to witness a great deal. With this in mind it's no surprise to see "Dusty" write his memoirs & it's a pretty good read. Unfortunately, whilst it's an easy-going style of writing, it's also poorly edited & smacks of semi-professionalism. I guess the major book publishers weren't interested ? Whilst Ronnie obviously has a story to tell, there's simply far more interesting books out there from other Liverpool greats. Also, as per usual, there's a fair degree of bitterness & pettiness that permeates through some pages occassionally although in fairness to the writer, he generally tends to accept his imperfections as a high profile footballer. Finally, who on earth decided to go with the photo on the front cover - of all the years Ronnie played at the club & the kits he wore whilst representing some of Anfield's finest XI's, I wouldn't have said this photo represented his finest hour at the club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book., 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk On: My Life in Red (Paperback)
What can I say? It's a book, it arrived and I'll get round to reading it in the next few months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walk On: My Life in Red
Walk On: My Life in Red by Ronnie Whelan (Paperback - 24 May 2012)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews