Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the ginger ninja
Okay, not great at tackling but Paul Scholes is one of the best midfielders England has had for some considerable time, with radar like vision and pin point passing blending with the perfect timing of the run towards the box. The legendary players paying him compliments on the rear of this book show how highly the best players in world football rate the quiet midfielder...
Published on 29 Sep 2011 by Nick Brett

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great player, Average book
This is not your typical sports autobiography with 5 chapters of early life followed by a detailed look at the subjects career, instead it takes the form of a semi-scrapbook, ignoring the early days and going straight into the football with every page adorned with photographs from Scholes' career accompanied by back-story and opinion from the player himself and others...
Published on 3 Oct 2011 by Shaun286


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the ginger ninja, 29 Sep 2011
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scholes: My Story (Hardcover)
Okay, not great at tackling but Paul Scholes is one of the best midfielders England has had for some considerable time, with radar like vision and pin point passing blending with the perfect timing of the run towards the box. The legendary players paying him compliments on the rear of this book show how highly the best players in world football rate the quiet midfielder who let his football do the talking.

Given his reputation for keeping out of the headlines I was eagerly awaiting to see more of his character and views in "My Story" and the book surprised me. It's not the standard biography where he starts talking about his parents and up-bringing and then playing in various school teams until he gets a trial etc etc. Firstly it is packed with photos that Scholes uses as a conversation point as he goes through each of his playing seasons and secondly he mainly sticks to the footballing part of his life - after an introduction we see a few pictures of him as a toddler with a football, but then we launch into his time in the legendary United youth team. Sadly he was the last of that golden generation and his retirement put a full stop on a significant chapter in United's history (Giggs is still playing but was older and not part of the team that featured Scholes, Butt, Neville, Beckham etc).

It works rather well despite being slightly short on narrative (like the man himself), his mischievous sense of humour is very well described with some very funny examples in Fergie's introduction and with quotes from his team-mates that litter the book. It does feel like you are being allowed a peak into deep friendship, camaraderie and banter and the comments give you a real sense of the man and perfectly balance his own cheery narrative. And at the end he shocks us by opening up on his family and sharing some delightful pictures and affectionate comments that give you a true sense of what they mean to him.

So this is a very entertaining book and presents a lively view of a very special footballer. Rather than me summarising this with a trite comment about him being a legend, let me just repeat a quote from Zinedine Zidane that is on the back of the book - "You rarely come across the complete footballer, but Scholes is as close to it as you can get". `Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great player, Average book, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: Scholes: My Story (Hardcover)
This is not your typical sports autobiography with 5 chapters of early life followed by a detailed look at the subjects career, instead it takes the form of a semi-scrapbook, ignoring the early days and going straight into the football with every page adorned with photographs from Scholes' career accompanied by back-story and opinion from the player himself and others involved.

It's an interesting enough read but offers little of the behind the scenes opinion and insight that make autobiographies so interesting. As you might expect from Scholes, there's little controversy to be found here - with perhaps his only negative opinion being expressed towards Dennis Wise. Don't expect anything shocking then, but this book does offer a full insight into the high esteem in which Scholes was held by those who played with him and against him and is a fitting tribute to an outstanding career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book from Paul Scholes, 3 Feb 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scholes: My Story (Paperback)
This book goes from photo to photo with Scholes' commentary, which is a very good way of getting his view of things. There are a few private photos too, but most come from his playing. There are a lot of highlights in a career than many regard as one of the best, and his modesty off the pitch makes this chance to hear his voice all the more welcome. The photos vary in size, but they all capture good moments, recalled with humour. Another plus is the way he admits things that were not so good, and, conversely, never blows his own trumpet, leaving others to make all the comments in that direction. It's a great purchase for anyone who admires this most modest of football legends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Player...average read, 22 Feb 2013
This review is from: Scholes: My Story (Hardcover)
I am a Man Utd fan. For me this book consisted of including freely available photos and commenting on them. I hope that when Scholes retires he will revisit this book and and perhaps add some spice to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What you get is what you see, 15 April 2012
By 
M. Harrison "Hamish" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scholes: My Story (Hardcover)
A Paul Scholes autobiography is of course a contradiction in terms. Here is a player who is famously a man of few words. He lets his actions speak for him.

So it is perhaps appropriate that this book is dominated by pictures of Scholes. If you would value a collection of great action shots of the man at work, this is an ideal momento. But if, improbably, you are hoping for an insight into the mind of a footballing genius, from the genius himself, you will inevitably be disappointed.

When it comes to real insights volunteered by by the man himself, they come down to around four. First, Scholes doesn't have a bad word for anyone except Dennis Wise, who he loathes. Second, Alex Ferguson is such a master of the press-conference-as-theatre, that he has been known to say to Scholes before stepping in front of the journalists: `watch this'. Third, the quick side to side assessment of play Scholes makes before receiving a pass is knows as the `windscreen wiper'. Fourth, his youngest child is autistic, and all the proceeds from his testimonial went to autism. That's pretty much it.

However, surprisingly, there is more value in the text than you might expect. For two reasons. The first is that, since this isn't the usual, often turgid, sporting autobiography, but rather a series of long captions to go with the pictures, Scholes does offer a personalised way of reliving some of the famous moments of United's recent history - good and bad. He is very honest - whether it is admitting a shot was actually a mishit, or that Barcelona were hopelessly superior to United in two Champions League finals - and shares his passion: goals against City, it transpires, matter more than others! The second reason is all the testimony offered by others. In a pleasing device, whenever Scholes refers to someone in text, they are then asked to comment themselves. These are often fascinating, coming as they do from many of the greats of football; and they reveal Scholes' true greatness in a way this modest man never would himself.

Oh, and there is the delicious irony of reading a book which recounts the retirement of a player who has since returned to be the most influential contributor to the 2011-12 title race - and that's not opinion: the statistics are very clear about it. Has anyone else ever come out of retirement to such remarkable effect? Sadly it only confirms that United will indeed never be the same without him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scholesy's latest masterpiece, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: Scholes: My Story (Hardcover)
Paul Scholes delighted me as a footballer and now he is doing so all over again in his first - and no doubt only - venture as an author.
Mercifully he has not subjected his fans to the orthodox player autobiography, a genre invariably replete with tiresome, self-serving tales. Instead he has treated us to a volume of intelligent, heartfelt reflections on his time in the game, lavishly illustrated with hundreds of photographs. All his greatest goals are here, and there's some lovely stuff about his family, too. It's just one fabulous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Scholes: My Story (Hardcover)
Having always been a Paul Scholes fan, this one couldn't miss. Although it is one mainly for followers of Manchester United, it could sell to a wider market on the sheer quality of the photography. Paul is generous in his praise of his team mates, and also the players who have impressed him from his early days to his contempories. A very enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scholes: My Story (Hardcover)
Brilliant thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting career, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Alastair Gooderham "al133087" (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scholes: My Story (Paperback)
A good autobiography which helps us see the man behind the career, remains intensely private even as he writes. Slightly different from the normal sports biography but worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different Biog., 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scholes: My Story (Paperback)
An interesting insight into a reserved footballer who does not seek the limelight. The book is a twist on the normal autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scholes: My Story
Scholes: My Story by Paul Scholes (Hardcover - 29 Sep 2011)
8.00
Usually dispatched within 10 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews