Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely first rate read
One of the best lucas davenport books for a long time,edge of the seat thriller and fast paced plot.Murders galore and some very clever crooks also a mexican hit team.We also have mexican police and some drug induced robbers.To say anymore would give too much of the plot away, jon sandford is on a par with ian rankin,micheal connelly,robert crais and the great james lee...
Published on 18 May 2012 by oldginger ebbw vale

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars TOO MUCH BLOOD!
John, John, John, you are going over the top. There has to be a stopping point for ultra-violence! You are my favourite mystery writer, but nowadays, just too much blood. Get it together and go back to just plain violent. That's my only complaint. Brilliant otherwise.
Published on 11 Jan. 2013 by ducksters


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely first rate read, 18 May 2012
This review is from: Stolen Prey (Hardcover)
One of the best lucas davenport books for a long time,edge of the seat thriller and fast paced plot.Murders galore and some very clever crooks also a mexican hit team.We also have mexican police and some drug induced robbers.To say anymore would give too much of the plot away, jon sandford is on a par with ian rankin,micheal connelly,robert crais and the great james lee burke but you hardly hear of him over here.I have read all his books davenport, and virgil flowers and he is a superb author, just go out and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rippingly good read: almost Perfect Prey, 1 Sept. 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Stolen Prey will be hard to beat if you're looking for an intelligent, well-written crime novel. It combines a slice of urban America with a compelling central character (Lucas Davenport; charming, witty, smart; oh and fabulously wealthy with a family of fabulous people and a Porsche to boot), some of the best dialogue and writing in the genre, and an intriguing plot with a credible supporting cast of regulars and newcomers. Easy and rewarding to read: hard to put down.

Davenport's team of special-branch-type investigators are called in when a family is horribly tortured and murdered. Turns out there's a Mexican gang come north of the border, seeking revenge and recompense. This is a complicated plot, however, because another thread involves hi-tech money laundering and massive theft using international markets - and it's all skilfully woven together with Davenport's personal situation. He starts the book coming off worst in an encounter with a low-life mugger - a nice touch of realism, given that Lucas is now in his later life. The younger Davenport would've gone blazing into the conflict and maybe come off best. The older man is rather more careful with his wellbeing...
Over the years, the Prey series has morphed from tense-scary, sometimes brutal, nail-biting thrillers into more measured and mature police procedurals. For a while they got a bit bogged down, as central character Lucas Davenport spent more time dealing with the media than chasing down bad guys, but Stolen Prey returns the series to top form.
It's been fascinating to share Davenport's journey from wise-cracking womaniser to solid, dependable family man - but you don't have to have read any of the other Prey books to enjoy this one. All the history is summarised for you as this plot unfolds, and the story is entirely self-contained.

John Sandford is an expert at creating tension and driving the pace of the action at exactly the right speed. Since he started the Virgil Flowers series (that effin Flowers gets a look-in here, but is strictly on the sidelines), it's allowed Davenport to regain his mojo in a new role as the mature man, leaving Flowers to do the seducing, running and shouting stuff.
Expect to be gripped and entertained - and to laugh out loud at the snappy dialogue and needle-sharp observations of human nature. And leave plenty of time to enjoy the final few chapters...
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the line author with top of the line book, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Prey (Hardcover)
I have read all of John Sandfords "Prey" book and all of his other ones as well unless he has sneaked some odd volume past me. He is a fantastic mystery author and every book just makes you add it to the top of the reading list as soon as it arrives.

This story is very well constructed with a lot of twists and turns that keep you guessing even if you read the story from a lot of different angles. Sandfords ability to present the people involved as well as the surrounding they work in is perfect. You are absolutely convinced that these people exists and they work in an area that is real. The hero Lucas Davenport is someone you would like to have as a policeman as well as a friend. I might not have meet anyone quite like his step daughter Letty but I hope she exists. The Dialogue is great and the humor fantastic at times. This is how real people talk. Not always politically correct but real.

The Scenario he presents is also something that you instantly trust to be possible. No super villains and no threat to the nation or life on Earth, just a number of crimes that take place all the time and have to be handled by the police.

Another thing about his writing is that the ending of the book is not what you expect and is not this fantastic "revenge" and all the guilty are punished. In fact the story ends in a way that is both very believable and hopeful for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 27 Jan. 2014
John Sandford's Stolen Prey is plain amazing. It is a well written and captivating story, with an insightful touch that comes from an array of fascinating characters led by Lucas Davenport. These characters stand out in their unique ways. With an interwoven plot that is captivating and a setting that is attractive as well, Stolen Prey is in my opinion the best in the Prey series. The fast pacing came in handy to keep the edge throughout the story that made it gripping read it is. It reminds me of Triple Agent, Double Cross. The rich prose and effective dialogue made Stolen Prey the splendid piece of writing that it is, and attest to Sandford's skill as a brilliant writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCITING AND EXCELLENT INTRODUCTION!!!!!!!!!, 8 Feb. 2015
By 
Greggorio! (Amazing Australia) - See all my reviews
It is immediately apparent after reading barely a handful of pages of this awesome 2012 release, that John Sandford has certainly developed a unique writing style. The book’s chapters are not short by any means - they are not overly long, either - but the story runs at you, and then it stops for a quick pause, and then suddenly it is running full bore again, and pauses once more as if the author needs to catch his breath. Maybe he does. Writing stories for a living that are as good as these are, and have sold as many copies, is not an easy rhing to do. Trust me.

The story opens with a hugely violent, even shocking some readers may discover, murder of an entire family in a wealthy part of Minnesota. Theories abound and ideas circulate and the cops end up by focusing their thoughts and attention on the Mexican criminal underground that have taken it upon themselves to infiltrate this part of America.

The hero of the novel - heck, the hero of over twenty world wide best selling novels - was mugged in the opening paragraphs of the book, and the desire to solve that case, as well as find a dose of his own personal satisfaction - is also running full steam in the mind of Lucas Davenport. And another famous invention of Mr Sandford makes an appearance on page 57 of the hardcover version of this tightly written thriller / murder mystery. I wont ruin the surprise for any one here by naming him or her, but just be on the lookout for a nice surprise. And it will be interesting to see what further role this person plays later in the book.

The writing is surprisingly poetic, despite the grisly nature of the subject matter. For example, Davenport’s initial approach to the crime scene is quite beautifully pitched and it is no surprise that even masters of the macabre are fans of Davenport, too. The quote is too long for me to include here, but look out for it on page 13 of the hardcover version.

Any cop (fictional or otherwise) with a family deserves a bravery award just for showing up to work every day, and so it stands to reason that the reader is attached to the book’s hero shortly after commencement. Plotting is outstanding. New characters are introduced at a solid pace, not too many and not too quickly. The book is relatively long at just over 400 pages, and with relatively small print, it is a conservative page count, too. Physically speaking, the book is a joy to behold. Putnam & Sons have long been one of the best book publishers in the world and it is clear to see that their production values remain as high as ever.

I am loving this book. The case is relatively complex, not tedious, it is full of characters (obviously) both good and bad, all of which are beautifully presented to the reader. It is always fascinating to get inside the mind of a great detective and this is no exception. Once i get through this beauty, i can easily see my book case starting to overflow with the entire back log of Lucas Davenport, and Virgil Flowers novels, all of which will be vying for my individual attention.

I can not wait!

BFN Greggorio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 18 April 2014
By 
somnus "somnus" (Cambes Lot et Garonne France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another stormer from John Sandford. Well written, good story with some really nasty sly characters. Lucas Davenport is such a likeable character and I enjoy they way that the author cleverly weaves two stories into the book. Dialogue is good, has the occasional bits of humour, and all in all a great read. Thoroughly enjoyed this book and I would recommend it if you like thrillers with pace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen Prey (Hardcover)
I keep waiting for John Sandford to write a book thats below par, its not happened yet, and its not going to be this one, Stolen Prey is the latest in the Prey books and has got to be the best. As J. Sandfords trouble shooting detective, Lucas Devenport takes on the bad guys again, with Mexican killers, and murders as bad as they get. With Sandford you keep turning the pages with time out now and again for that little bit of humour amid all the horror. I am not even going to explain the plot, all the prey fans do not need to know, and if you have not read JS books all I can say is "try them". Personately I love catching up with Weather and Letty, and isnt Letty turning out to be a chip off the block. I know Lucas is a year older each book but I hope he can continue to catch the bad guys for a few years yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well written story, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
Stolen Prey is a well written and captivating story, with an insightful touch that comes from an array of fascinating characters led by Lucas Davenport. These characters stand out in their unique ways. With an interwoven plot that is captivating and a setting that is attractive as well, Stolen Prey is in my opinion the best in the Prey series. The fast pacing came in handy to keep the edge throughout the story that made it gripping read it is. It reminds me of Triple Agent, Double Cross. The rich prose and effective dialogue made Stolen Prey the splendid piece of writing that it is, and attest to Sandford's skill as a brilliant writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stolen Superbly, 1 Sept. 2012
By 
This review is from: Stolen Prey (Hardcover)
Sandford is simply superb. I anxiously await each Prey novel and I am never let down. The storylines are always intriguing. The characters continue to develop and remain totally believable. Whenever I write a review of a Prey novel I know I am preaching to the converted. There's no point in starting to read Sandford at this point in the series. Go to the beginning and you have a good year's worth of marvellous novels to read. I almost feel, after reading Stolen, to start all over again. Sandford and the Prey series are one of the great crime/thriller reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Standard Still Very High, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have all of the Luke Davenport stories, and the latest maintains and sustains my enjoyment. I have always been impressed by the author's ability to continue to invent revolting villains Davenport has to combat. If you've read the entire series, you have a real grip on how the principal characters think, work and come through whatever is thrown at them. And they are all 'human'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stolen Prey
Stolen Prey by John Sandford (Hardcover - 5 July 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews