Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of love, romance, friendship and surprises! xxxx
I'd read a few books by Jane Costello before and had enjoyed them, so when a copy of The Wish List arrived through my door I instantly sat down to start it.

Emma Reiss is fast approaching her thirtieth birthday, and she comes across a wish list written when she was 15 years old, of things she wanted to do or achieve by the time she hit the big 3-0. In the list...
Published 11 months ago by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read
I did find this book easy to put down and come back to at different times as I took two months to finish it and thats a long time for me to read a book so it did not keep me completely hooked purely because it was predictable but overall I did enjoy the book and it made me laugh and smile and the ending was great and how the reader would of wanted it the story to finsih.
Published 3 months ago by megansmummy2010


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of love, romance, friendship and surprises! xxxx, 30 April 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wish List (Paperback)
I'd read a few books by Jane Costello before and had enjoyed them, so when a copy of The Wish List arrived through my door I instantly sat down to start it.

Emma Reiss is fast approaching her thirtieth birthday, and she comes across a wish list written when she was 15 years old, of things she wanted to do or achieve by the time she hit the big 3-0. In the list are career goals, finding the man of her dreams and a few more daring ones such as jumping out of a plane. With the big date getting closer every day, Emma is determined to do as many things on the list as she can...

I thoroughly enjoyed The Wish List! From the moment I picked it up I was glued to the pages, and I raced through the pages. The writing was BRILLIANT, I could not stop myself from laughing at what the characters got up to - I was even spluttering with laughter and crying because I was in hysterics at some scenes!

The characters were wonderfully written. Emma in particular is fabulous as the lead! She has such and great personality and throughout the story she was so fun! Another thing I particularly loved about Emma was that she is so relateable and lifelike, it felt as though I knew her on a personal level and that I was there with her in some scenes. The fact that she is so relateable makes the story that much more compelling to read, I'm sure other readers out there will also find a connection with Emma too.

The supporting characters were also very-well written. I liked how there was not just Emma's story, but instead the supporting cast had their own individual stories ad sub-plots. This really helped to give a lot of depth to the book, and personally I found the sub-plots just as fascinating as the main story. Jane Costello is a great writer, she not only manages to write scenes that will have you bursting with laughter, but she can write serious, emotional scenes too. In The Wish List it is not all humour and smiles, there are a few serious moments that are very-well placed into the story and for me, I was so absorbed in the novel that these scenes only made me want to read on further to see how things would turn out for the characters.

The Wish list is funny, it is engaging, and it is full of love, romance, friendship and surprises! I was so pleased that I read this book, and even though I have just finished it, I am already looking forward to re-reading it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wish List (Paperback)
I love Jane Costellos books and couldn't wait for The Wish List to come out, and it didn't disappoint - I loved it!

The book is about Emma, a woman approaching her thirtieth birthday, who comes across a wish list that she made when she was 15 with the help of her sister and two best friends. A list of all the things she wanted to have done by the time she was thirty and she realises she hadn't done any of them. Something she wants to change.

This journey takes her on some adventures where she learns a lot about the people in her life and the reasons they've chosen to do things and also a lot about herself, the fact that something you might of wanted as a teenager may not be right for you now or that being safe isn't always the right option and you have to take the risk no matter the outcome.

There are some hilarious moments in the book as well as some emotional ones between Emma, her sister, dad and her friends and an unexpected person who helps Emma with the list and decisions in her life - what's really important and what isn't.

Emmas Wish List has made me think about making my own list - to think about what I do and don't want out of my own life, to take a risk - you never know what might happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish List Review, 23 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Wish List (Paperback)
The Wish List is amazing I got a clear picture of everything! Jane Costello made it easy to connect with the characters and the story was fantastic if you haven't read this then read it now it's a "can't put down" book and you'll find yourself in a vivid place :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wish List (Kindle Edition)
I read The Wish List in 3 days. Really enjoyed the book and felt for the character right from the start. You felt yourself going on the journey with the character from the very start. Loved this book and a must read, this would be an ideal book for on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab-U-Lous!!!, 30 April 2013
This review is from: The Wish List (Paperback)
The Wish List is the first book by Jane Costello that I have read, but it certainly won't be the last as I intend to buy the rest of her books as soon as I can.

Emma, the main character, is totally believable as we all know someone just like her! The same can be said of her friends, Cally who's a single mum, Asha who is involved with a married man, I can totally relate to these character as they reflect women I know.

I loved that the book was based in Liverpool and could relate to the places mentioned e.g. Leaf Tea Shop, popped in there for a cup of tea and cake myself!

I don't want to give the plot away but it's a book that will make you laugh out loud and shed a tear or two. It's `un-put-downable'. People go out and buy it, read it, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic read from Jane Costello!, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wish List (Kindle Edition)
As an avid reader of Jane's books I COULDN'T wait to read The Wish List. I"m not usually a lover of chick lit but Jane's books are witty, intelligently written and impossible to put down. The Wish List distracted me from all the things I should have been doing as a busy mum of 2 for a weekend, nice to escape with this great book and to make time for me for a change! Read it now ladies, whatever your usual genre I promise you will not be disappointed. I'm looking forward to the next Jane Costello read already...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyable, 5 April 2014
By 
This review is from: The Wish List (Kindle Edition)
First book of Jane's I have read but will not be the last. Recommend this book and look forward to reading more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good lighthearted read!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wish List (Kindle Edition)
This book was not necessarily "gripping"
But just a nice easy enjoyable read, something maybe for inbetween more serious reads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really surprising read, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wish List (Kindle Edition)
I didn't have high expectations for this book and that was unfair, its the first I have read of this author and would definitely read more. The characters were realistic and likeable and whilst the wish list itself is something many of us will have done when we are younger how she returns to it clearly shows us about getting older and that revisiting those things isn't always a bad idea. I loved this book and so wanted the happy ending I got. it is a book you can't put down or you find the time to keep reading and are sad when it ends. I felt like I wanted more. A good holiday read or when you have some spare time, don't expect this book to help you sleep as you will just keep reading like I did .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wish List (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the book some laughs as usualoliday from writer without being daft or silly cracking read will read again holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1b8830c)

This product

The Wish List
The Wish List by Jane Costello (Paperback - 11 April 2013)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews