Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robots uprising!
There is a New War igniting by the very machines that were serving humans 'Robots.' Is there any hope for the human race and what weapon could match the ability of the artificial intelligence?
We had zombies with World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War and vampires with The Strain nows the time for something new and fresh setting a new trend, evil robots. A...
Published on 19 Jun 2011 by Lou pendergrast

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Read World War Z instead
I so wanted to love this book. I thought that the writers background, Spielberg's buying of the movie rights from Foley's, and all of the great reviews, would guarantee a technological & emotional roller coaster, a magnificent world striding tour de force - in short, a modern sci-fi classic. What we got instead was a small, largely badly written, jingoistic, borderline...
Published on 19 Feb 2012 by dazzaboy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Read World War Z instead, 19 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robopocalypse (Robo 1) (Paperback)
I so wanted to love this book. I thought that the writers background, Spielberg's buying of the movie rights from Foley's, and all of the great reviews, would guarantee a technological & emotional roller coaster, a magnificent world striding tour de force - in short, a modern sci-fi classic. What we got instead was a small, largely badly written, jingoistic, borderline racist, "isn't America the greatest country on Earth" movie treatment; and not a very good one at that!

Admittedly, the robots are far more imaginative than anything the Terminator movies dreamt up, but it all feels very small and lacking in any real jeopardy. With the whole world to write about the entire story involves a small handful of people whose lives are intertwined in the most contrived ways possible - then written about in the most mundane way possible. The writing is so poor that at times you can't decipher what's being described.

Oh, and if you're British, prepare for a London where Trafalgar Sq. has FIRE HYDRANTS and hoodies say things like "see you in the funny pages". You can tell where all of the writer's research went!

The final straw for me was reading about how the Indian, Chinese, Russia & Eastern European armies failed in their attempt to destroy the AI because they didn't wait for a handful of American's (the world's saviours, yet again - YAWN!) to show them how to do it. Not that it's any old Americans - no, it's Indians being led by cowboys! (Note: America, your history may seem like a long time ago to you, but to us it's a blink of an eye ago to the rest of the world and has been done to DEATH! Get over it. It's now very, very tired to the rest of us.)

If you want to read a book of true worldwide conflict and human suffering, adversity and courage, then do yourself a real favour and read World War Z.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robots uprising!, 19 Jun 2011
This review is from: Robopocalypse (Hardcover)
There is a New War igniting by the very machines that were serving humans 'Robots.' Is there any hope for the human race and what weapon could match the ability of the artificial intelligence?
We had zombies with World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War and vampires with The Strain nows the time for something new and fresh setting a new trend, evil robots. A writer who has a Ph.D in Robotics has created a gauntlet race of time to a concluding event that will change the path of robots and humans forever. Written in neat chapters of different accounts that chart the unraveling of war from the artificial intelligence Archos, unleashing unrelenting destruction upon humans via it's robots. The writing flows well and does well transferring the words well to your thought imagery as you ride along the train as time zero's down to the grand finale. Once i rode on the train i did not want to get off until an outcome is reached in this page turning orchestra of cataclysmic events. You become immersed in the battle for human salvation against the ensuing apocalypse at the hands of the robots.

"The machines are now designing and building themselves. More varieties are coming. We believe that these new robots will have greatly increased agility, survivability, and lethality. They will be tailored to fight your people, in your geographic environment, and in your weather conditions.

"Let there be no doubt in your mind that the combined onslaught of these machines, working twenty-four hours a day, will soon be unleashed by Archos on your native land."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, generic, disposable, 26 Nov 2011
By 
Paul Bowes (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Robopocalypse (Robo 1) (Paperback)
'Robopocalypse' is a fast-reading science fiction adventure set in the near future. Humanity succeeds in creating the first viable artificial intelligence. Unfortunately, the AI's ideas about human-AI relations are rather different from those of its creators; the resulting struggle threatens humanity with subjugation or extinction.

Daniel Wilson has a background in robotics, and he seems confident in extrapolating from the current state of the art to this disastrous fictional scenario. Unfortunately, he isn't so able a writer as a scientist. 'Robopocalypse' reads like a less subtle version of Max Brooks' 'World War Z', with sentient and semi-sentient robots replacing the zombies in a very similar narrative structure, with multiple narrators.

Oddly, Wilson seems more comfortable when dealing with action than with the science, and the book has considerable pace - which is useful, in that the reader is carried rapidly past the numerous implausibilities. The author's grasp of character never develops much beyond stereotypes, and he seems frankly uninterested in some of the people he creates; a number of them simply drop out of the story, never to be heard from again. His grasp of politics and foreign affairs is minimal: it won't surprise the British reader to learn that this is yet another parochial American SF thriller in which a well-armed American citizenry saves the world (with a token tip of the hat to a solitary Japanese).

The premise itself is not contemptible - put simply, nobody has any real idea of what a human-created machine intelligence would be like - but Wilson never convinced me that he had considered the issues raised in any depth. His imagination seems heavily dependent on popular movies (spot the 'homages' to The Terminator, Star Trek's 'Data', 300, and Bladerunner along with the horde of generic 'apocalyptic survivalist' films) and a handful of fictional sources: Max Brooks in particular, but also Philip K. Dick ('Second Variety' and its film versions) and Vernor Vinge. The result is a page-turning but disposable book that reads less like a novel and more like a screenplay for one of those adequate but uninspiring SF movies that spring up in the wake of something more original. In fact, Wilson explicitly thanks DreamWorks SKG at the end of the book - the film rights were sold before the book was completed - and 'Robopocalypse' is at the time of writing to be filmed by Steven Spielberg, with an adapted screenplay by Drew Goddard of Cloverfield fame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: Robopocalypse (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book and couldn't put it down, my Kindle has taken a battering with this one!

The book is very neatly arranged and flows well in bite-sized chunks, my only criticism would be that some of the grander story elements (and character development arcs) are implied rather than explained fully (which I would prefer as I didn't want it to end), and time frames seem to jump very quickly with barely any acknowledgment of what has happened up until that point. (Maybe that's just me being lazy and not using my imagination)

I'm glad that this story has (apparently) fallen into the hands of Mr Spielberg and not Mr Bruckheimer. I wonder how he will handle the gore when bringing this to the big screen.

All in all this is a great tale of terrestrial threat, and hints at our volatile species being the best we can be when under those conditions.

We have all grown up watching films about this sort of thing happening, (Matrix, Terminator, I Robot etc) yet we still work towards creating this super AI. Science fiction has foretold these events for years, yet we will still show surprise in 30 years when our gentle kitchen Servitor turns to us, wielding a knife, red lights pulsing!

Just don't say Daniel H Wilson didn't warn you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, not great, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Damian Boyd "Damo" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robopocalypse (Robo 1) (Paperback)
A decent book which has some good ideas, but it's too obvious this was written with a view to be made into a film (to be released 2013/14). The format is the same as World War Z, and there is nothing wrong with imitating that format, but the reader is always going to compare Robopocalypse to WWZ, and WWZ will always be a hundred times better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... a short period of time so it must be good, right, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robopocalypse (Kindle Edition)
I can't really criticise this book too much as I did read it all the way through in a short period of time so it must be good, right? Well I hate to be overly critical but there are just a few niggling things which mean I haven't given it four or five stars. Firstly, I knew it was going to be a trashy read and I love a good trashy read. However, this book could have been written a little better and pitched itself just a bit higher in terms of vocabulary etc. It is quite simple.
Another criticism is that it's very similar to World Wide Z but unfortunately this similarity only serves to highlight just how much more superior WWZ is. I bought this as an eBook at 1.99. Book two is 6.50 and I don't think it's worth it. I suppose that says a lot really.
This said, I enjoyed the story and it should make a great movie. It wasn't bad, just not amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic reading for a very entertaining day, 6 Jun 2011
By 
A. G. Williams "Gavin" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robopocalypse (Robo 1) (Paperback)
Bought it in the airport.... read it same day.
There's great imagination here based on the story of an AI that eventually decides to kill the whole human race.

One of the very powerful vehicles is the use of lots of really short chapters, each with a snippet of storyline.

Top job Daniel... I don't give 5 stars often. Welcome to my "buy next book list"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks Substance, 26 July 2014
By 
M. Forrest (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robopocalypse (Kindle Edition)
Having just finished the zombie novel Zone One, this seemed like the natural second feature in a literary double bill. It cracks along at a fair old rate and maintains a fairly lightweight approach to the end of humanity and although some sections are satisfyingly gory it never drifts into out and out horror.
It is no surprise that the novel has been picked up by Dreamworks as it has that filmic feel to it, which is not a bad thing it just means that there is an overall lack of substance to the entire book, although as the author is apparently an expert in robotics, the driving concept does have a genuine air of possibility about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent science fiction, 4 July 2011
This review is from: Robopocalypse (Kindle Edition)
I picked it up and read it in a few days.

Loved the buildup, the style of writing and wording which varies with the characters and the complexity of the story.

Humanity, nature and technology all play their role in the story, and it makes you wonder if we are on the track for a confrontation with our own creations. This is definitely a book to read for lovers of good non-outer-space science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Woeful, 2 Sep 2011
By 
Alan Hanley (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robopocalypse (Robo 1) (Paperback)
This book is awful. The best thing i can say about it is that i finished it, although i will not be finishing a book of this calibre again just for the sake of it.

The book is written as if narrated by a secondary character from a james cameron movie, perhaps one of the "grunts" from aliens. The story is thin and sketched in awkward narrative with multiple embarassing cliches per short chapter. It very much gives the impression that the author is describing what he can see on a fantasy big screen in his head instead of actually writing the story from a heartfelt place. The characters are one dimensional and barely elicit sympathy when awful things are happening to them. The violence and gore come across as cheap and gratuitous. I'll admit i was sucked in by the concept from reading the back cover, but that interest died after putting up the the plodding "voice" for about 3 pages.

There are infinitely better books than this one to read... better books about robots, better nightmarish visions of the future, better novels, better page turners, even average novels that are at least interesting... so why waste your time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robopocalypse (Robo 1)
Robopocalypse (Robo 1) by Daniel H. Wilson (Paperback - 26 April 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews