Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for busy mums...
I finished university a year ago and WISH I had had this book to help me through those years of trying to avoid eating chicken kievs every night! The Busy Mum's Cookbook belongs on everyone's shelf... not only are the recipes easy and cost efficient but they are also utterly delicious. The chapter on meals that magic into packed lunches has reformed my working week -...
Published on 17 Aug 2011 by Lucy C

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Bought after reading the rave reviews and as a very busy working mum I'm all for making life easier. I also want to prepare healthy meals for my family.The recipes I've tried so far have been quite time consuming to prepare and cook, definitely not something I would attempt when time pressured to get dinner on the table before my little boy's patience runs out!! More...
Published 19 months ago by Rose123


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for busy mums..., 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Busy Mum's Cookbook (Hardcover)
I finished university a year ago and WISH I had had this book to help me through those years of trying to avoid eating chicken kievs every night! The Busy Mum's Cookbook belongs on everyone's shelf... not only are the recipes easy and cost efficient but they are also utterly delicious. The chapter on meals that magic into packed lunches has reformed my working week - lentil salad with butternut squash and roasted red peppers today! Mary Gwynn shows us how easy it is to eat wonderful food cooked with high quality ingredients without costing a fortune or taking hours out of your day. But it isn't just about 30 minute meals... the lamb, cumin and aubergine stew sits in the oven for an hour and a half but makes the perfect dinner party meal - minimal preparation and plenty of time to chat with friends! This book hasn't been in my life for very long but I'm not sure how i ever got by without it... a cookbook which will inspire even the most reluctant chef to bin the frozen food and always keep a butternut squash to hand...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, realistic yet slightly different for the whole family, 3 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Busy Mum's Cookbook (Hardcover)
Since the birth of my first son I have acquired many books aimed at feeding children and families. A lot of them re-hash the same old thing - bolognaise, lasagne etc This book does cover 'the classics' but also throws in some really useful, easy, quick and interesting recipes that are suitable for the whole family. She gives her own 12 'Classics' and then a selection of different styles of food. It is probably not quite as good as Fay's Family Food but it is certainly knocking on the door. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be disappointed!, 2 April 2012
This review is from: The Busy Mum's Cookbook (Hardcover)
I have quite a collection of cook books and wouldn't normally go to the touble to review one,but I was very impressed with this book. I ordered it purely because the title apppealed to me as a working Mum. I have tried several of the recipes from this book unlike other cookbook where I try maybe 2. Her Roasted veg and goats cheese lasagne is divine, the best Veg lasagne ever. Her roasted veg and chorizo pasta bake; sausage, pea and potato casserole; classic lasagne and the Italian beef bake also highly recommended and have also received a thumbs up in my house. There's still a few recipes I'm aiming to try, the lamb, cumin and aubegine casserole being one. I never bothered to attempt to make my own bechamel sauce from scratch before, but the end results are definitely worth the extra effort.
Alot of her recipes do take time and some aren't meals that you can have on the table in 30 minutes when you get in from work in the evening but Mary does give handy tips for taking short cuts to save time when you need to.
If you're looking for a cookbook with a slight difference then this one's for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Everyday Cookbook, 2 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: The Busy Mum's Cookbook (Hardcover)
I own a lot of cookery books..... 100's, and to be honest most of them are used as food porn. Items to read, enjoy but rarely cook from. Lately I've tired of that - what I want are cookbooks that I can use everyday - practical, tasty, filled with exciting everyday food that I can serve to an 8 year old who hates veg and is scared of spice. This book fits the bill perfectly. It's filled with recipes that I want to cook ..... and cook now. I've just made the Roast Honey and Cumin Chicken on page 26 - it was a REVELATION! It marinated all afternoon ...... and was absolutely one of the most delicious things to have entered my mouth this week. Buy it. Buy it now. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 8 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Busy Mum's Cookbook (Hardcover)
I brought this book for my daughter who is extremely busy and has not done a lot of cooking lately. She has done 4 recipes from it since xmas and every one is a winner. v good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have in the kitchen, 23 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Busy Mum's Cookbook (Hardcover)
Well i have 7 kids, so i guess that puts me in the bracket of being a busy mom, this book is a godsend in the kitchen, we have done various recipes out of it now and loved everyone of them. Some are so simple and quick, and all so far really tasty, the kids have nearly all had clear plates each time i've used the recipes from this book, really a must have for people with busy lifestyles that still want to cook in the kitchen!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Busy Mum's Cookbook (Hardcover)
Bought after reading the rave reviews and as a very busy working mum I'm all for making life easier. I also want to prepare healthy meals for my family.The recipes I've tried so far have been quite time consuming to prepare and cook, definitely not something I would attempt when time pressured to get dinner on the table before my little boy's patience runs out!! More suitable for the weekend if planning a meal when the children are in bed, which defeats my reason for buying the book. In terms of some of the things we've tried so far, my husband made the aubergine pasta bake last weekend and it was really nice. A lot of people have said the spiced chickpeas are good too but we found them a bit bland. A side dish rather than a main meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cook book for everyone!!, 5 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Busy Mum's Cookbook (Hardcover)
As soon as 'The Busy Mum's cookbook' arrived through the post i got cracking, apple and blackberry cake first, followed swiftly by a delicious cheesecake, then with helpful hints and great ways to jazz up your every day Fish Pie, we've been feasting on fantastic dishes for days now. Not just for Mums...students, dads and children can get involved easily too. As soon as my brother, a 26 year old businessman, had a flick through the book and a taste of the yummy Pork and Rosemary meatballs, he was ordering me to get online and get one for him too.
What a recipe book!! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Busy Mum's Cookbook (Hardcover)
What a great cookbook. When I get in from work I want to eat now and not in 2 hours time after pouring over a cookbook and then hours in front of the oven. This brilliant book has given me inspiration to cook tasty, nutritious meals using local ingredients while I am busy leading a hectic life. Most of the ingredients are readily available and I dont need to plan too far ahead. Thankyou Mary for inspiring me, a definite must for all those busy people who love food but dont have time to slave over a hot stove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a family cookbook that's not just for toddlers, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Busy Mum's Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought this book after reading about it in the Waitrose newspaper. Apparently the author writes their recipe cards which I use a lot. I've cooked three or four of the recipes already (we all really liked the blackberry and apple cake and the Spanish chicken casserole)and they all went down really well. I'm going to buy copies for my two kids who are at university as it's the sort of food they can cook for themselves without breaking the bank or using lots of complicated ingredients. The list of 25 useful storecupboard ingredients is really handy for them too and there's good advice for feeding the family generally. A really useful and good looking book which is going to get well used in my ktichen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Busy Mum's Cookbook
The Busy Mum's Cookbook by Mary Gwynn (Hardcover - 18 Aug 2011)
13.60
Usually dispatched within 10 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews