Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gold
Atherton writes like a genius. Thursdays are among my favourite days because I can guarantee that there'll be soemthing supremely well written in the sports pages in the Times. This is a collection of his insightful pieces written over the last ten years. Treat yourself. Buy it. Lock yourself in a room and indulge yourself with soem brilliant sports' journalism.
Published on 7 Jan 2012 by Richard Perkins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but a victim of its format
This is a series of articles from Atherton's newspaper column. As readers of that will know, Atherton is a wonderful writer - sympathetic, knowledgeable and not scared of voicing an opinion. However, a compliation of his pieces in this format - grouped around subjects or themes - is flawed. The section on Allen Stanford is a good example. Atherton sees him as a bad'un...
Published 3 months ago by NJL1974


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gold, 7 Jan 2012
By 
Richard Perkins (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Atherton writes like a genius. Thursdays are among my favourite days because I can guarantee that there'll be soemthing supremely well written in the sports pages in the Times. This is a collection of his insightful pieces written over the last ten years. Treat yourself. Buy it. Lock yourself in a room and indulge yourself with soem brilliant sports' journalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prophetic and poetic, 11 Sep 2012
By 
Dr. Dr. McGrath (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious Summers and Discontents: Looking Back on the Ups and Downs from a Dramatic Decade (Paperback)
I have always been a fan of Mike Atherton - as a player, commentator and writer. This book gathers together many of his articles / columns over the years for the various print media he has worked for since retiring from playing. Some of the articles written before certain major events are eerily prophetic. His views on the modern game and the Stanford affair make excellent reading. As he moves on to the players, series and other sporting greats the wonderful prose, almost poetic at times, comes to the fore. If you are in anyway interested in reading about cricket or sport in general you will love this book and I suspect admire the quality of the written language. A pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent cricket writing, 14 Aug 2013
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Cricket has long attracted great journalists, and ex-England captain Mike Atherton follows in a grand tradition, as this volume of selected writings amply demonstrates. The short pieces it contains are grouped thematically, and cover a period from about 2001 onwards. The first sections deal with various negative aspects of cricket in recent times - match fixing, the complexities and problems of the IPL, ICL, ICC etc, before the latter half deals with positives - great test matches of recent years, great players etc. Throughout, Atherton's writing is excellent; it's very easy to read, imbued with dry, often self-deprecating, humour, but above all it gives great insights into the game. At various times, hindsight has proved Atherton right, sometimes with unerring precision. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
MR K M BURNEY (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Atherton is probably the best newspaper writer on cricket. This anthology represents some of his best writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but a victim of its format, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a series of articles from Atherton's newspaper column. As readers of that will know, Atherton is a wonderful writer - sympathetic, knowledgeable and not scared of voicing an opinion. However, a compliation of his pieces in this format - grouped around subjects or themes - is flawed. The section on Allen Stanford is a good example. Atherton sees him as a bad'un long before this was spotted by the ECB and there is interest in seeing his suspicions play out, but the article format makes elements of this reveal very repetitive. Most impressive are the one-off pieces of various sports-people, from both cricket and beyond, which exist more easily in a collection format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable., 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy Atherton's writing style and his objective approach to varying subject matter. From KP to Best Mate, Atherton doesn't miss a beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I very much enjoyed reading this collection of articles, many of which were very thought-provoking. I think Mike Atherton has a fluent writing style and interesting ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book competent like the batsman was!!!, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious Summers and Discontents: Looking Back on the Ups and Downs from a Dramatic Decade (Paperback)
The order arrived on time and in excellent condition. From what I read the author admires Brian Lara but does not like him too much!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written insights, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book very much. Mr Atherton brings a measured perspective to a large number of cricket-related stories. My only minor criticism was not knowing the dates of each article when starting to read them, and that I think they should all have been in chronological order, otherwise I would have given it 5 stars. Still definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly good read, especially for those that don't catch all Atherton's articles in the Times. I read it within a matter of days and liked the fact it wasn't all cricket. Although I must admit to buying it purely from a cricket perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glorious Summers and Discontents: Looking Back on the Ups and Downs from a Dramatic Decade
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews