Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just excellent!
I am a huge Luther fan. And being able to read about him as well as watch him on television, well, it gave me mixed feelings. Feelings of terror and dread about what I would find inside. Feelings of exhilaration, fear, excitement. I couldn't wait! And Neil Cross didn't disappoint me.

Firstly, let me say that LUTHER: THE CALLING is freestanding from the series...
Published on 15 Aug. 2011 by Mel Sherratt

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You don't need to be familiar with the TV series
Neil Cross is a screenwriter who created the TV series Luther - Series 1 [DVD]. This novel is a prequel to that series, which I have never seen, but it also works as a standalone crime novel.

DCI John Luther, "a big man with a big walk", is a damaged cop whose marriage is falling apart. The story involves two cases. In the first, a property developer is...
Published on 7 Aug. 2011 by Julia Flyte


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A belated fan of the television series, I just had to read this.

Really good, and interesting to see how faithful the television script is to the dialogue in the book. Both are first-class.

For anyone who likes thrillers, this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted but totally amazing, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best read I've had in a long time- found myself audibly protesting on the bus and knew it was great. Highly recommended but any fans of the tv show will know that it isn't for the faint hearted, some shocking stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read., 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calling: A John Luther Novel (Paperback)
If you enjoyed the Luther series on TV then this book will explain where John Luther is coming from. I couldn't put this book down even though I found the content to be pretty gruesome and scary at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you wont be dissapointed, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calling: A John Luther Novel (Paperback)
i thought this book was gripping.i couldnt put it down.in fact i would wake up in the night thinking about it.if you are a luther fan,this book is a must read.hes such a compelling character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Luther, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calling: A John Luther Novel (Paperback)
I liked this book very much but only bought it after I had seen all the series of Luther on the television and I look forward to seeing another series and reading another book by Neil Cross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fleshes out the characters you love, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When watching the show, you always wonder "what's Luther thinking", "why does he do that" etc. It's great getting into Luther's mind to see what he is thinking. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intense and WOW!!!!, 21 Oct. 2011
This review is from: LUTHER: The Calling (Hardcover)
Written like a script. Loved that. Sharp writing. Loved that. The story is vibrant, graphic and disturbing. So disturbing I had to stop and take a breather. Loved that. Oh Luther!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 May 2012
By 
Gordon Campbell (Llanharan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calling: A John Luther Novel (Paperback)
Every bit as good as the tv series. You nan imagine Idris as you are reading the book. The mannerisms are down to a tee. Story line is excellent as are the characterisations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 27 July 2013
This review is from: The Calling: A John Luther Novel (Paperback)
Having glued myself to the screen for the first 3 series,I now find myself glued to the book. A brilliant plot line,and will certainly be buying the others :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Wait To Read This, 15 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Calling: A John Luther Novel (Paperback)
I absolutely loved the BBC series - Idris Elba was absolutely fantastic as the title character so can't wait to get hold of this book. Neil Cross is a dude!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Calling: A John Luther Novel
The Calling: A John Luther Novel by Neil Cross (Paperback - 15 Mar. 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews