Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars is not enough., 1 Aug 2011
By 
Dale A. Haines "master_ice" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Boy (Hardcover)
One Saturday morning a while back, I turned on the car radio. It was turned to radio four where an interviewer was conversing with someone using a speech synthesiser to reply. At first I suspected it was an interview with Prof Steven Hawking but the voice intonation was different as was the subject. It turned out to be an interview with Martin Pistorius. Following listening to the programme I came home, went straight on line and ordered the book. I was swallowed up in it's depths immediately.

In 1988 aged 12 Martin became ill with a disease that no one could diagnose nor cure nor even delay as it totally shut down his entire body and higher brain. In a few months he was wheelchair bound and unable to interact with the world in anyway. He was not expected to live.

What nobody was aware of was that at some point along the way Martin's mind started to awaken once more, leaving him aware but trapped inside an unresponsive shell of a body.
Amazingly some 10 years later, a visiting aromatherapist felt that Martin was, at some level, aware and responsive. Despite the experts original dismissive attitude, Martin's parents strove to have him assessed. It soon began to become clear that inside this non-functioning body was a mind as intelligent and alert as it had once been.

Martin's abilities and desire to communicate with the world around him along with his parent's beliefs in him helped him forge his way back from the dark world in habited as a ghost boy and to emerge once more into the light of a life where he could learn, teach, travel, meet, fall in love with and ultimately marry the woman who had fallen in love with him too.

This book is truly amazing; not simply because of the subject matter of Martin's life but for all the nuances - some dark, some light - which pepper the fabric of his story.
A soul lifting story of a struggle, the type of which none of us can ever truly understand for ourselves.
A five star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL READING, 18 July 2011
This review is from: Ghost Boy (Hardcover)
This real life story grips you from the first page, as Martin's experience plunges you into a world where none of us wish to be. Martin describes how it actually feels to be aware of people around you but not be able to talk to them or shout with pain or joy with what they are saying or doing. His gradual partial recovery over many years and determination to overcome the many challenges he faces is described culminating in his experiencing true love and marriage. This book will challenge you to rethink your attitude to everyone around you and enrich your life in the process. I can strongly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational reading, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Ghost Boy (Hardcover)
A truly inspiring book which I was unable to put down. To know you are locked in a body with no way of communicating would be a nightmare. To read of his gradual emergence out of the shadows and learning to speak through his computer was compelling. Many of us are not lucky enough to find a true and complete love and the love that Martin and Joanna have found is wonderful. I can recommend this book as one of the best I have read in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required reading, 27 July 2011
This review is from: Ghost Boy (Hardcover)
I heard Martin being interviewed on Saturday Live and downloaded Ghost Boy to my IPad there and then. The book is inspirational and uplifting, even though (or perhaps because) he describes in graphic detail the physical, verbal and sexual abuse he suffered in so-called care homes and the pain and frustration of being trapped inside his body with no way of communicating his needs and wishes. This book should be required annual reading for anyone who works in a care environment, as an object lesson in how easy it is to disregard someone's needs and views and fail to notice abuse being perpetrated.

At last Martin finds an empathetic visiting aromatherapist, who encourages him and his parents to research Augmentative and Alternative Communication. This is no quick fix: it takes years for him to find the right devices, programme and train on them, re-learn literacy and become part of the work force. I rejoiced with him as he gained independence, respect, fulfilment and finally love.

I encountered this book at a very busy period of my life, but the accessible style, short chapters and gripping narrative meant I finished it in three days. Everyone should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Ghost Boy, 23 Aug 2011
This review is from: Ghost Boy (Hardcover)
Once i began reading this book I could not put the book down until I had completed reading it. Having had experience of working with children and adults who are using AAC it was fantastic to read Martin's personal account of his struggle to regain his 'voice'. Throughout the book different emotions are felt by the reader, from disbelief to happiness.
The book shows that through Martin's determination, the support from his family and the long but positive assessment process,anything can be achieved in life. I was blown away by the book, an overwhelming insight into the lengths people have to got to obtain specialist equipment in order to allow the individual the right to communicate/have a voice.
An excellent book that i shall always remember reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring read, 3 Aug 2011
This review is from: Ghost Boy (Hardcover)
It is probably the most moving, inspiring, honest and well written book I have ever read, and at a rate of 1 book a week for 30 odd years that is true praise !! Up until now I would have listed The Diving Bell and the Butterfly as Number 1, and although that was truly amazing especially for the sheer determination to actually put the words to paper, Ghost Boy has just made it to the top of my list !! There are so few people who would have the courage to move forwards ( onwards and upwards ) after the terrible years of being treated like a non-person and thank goodness he did .

I will keep my fingers crossed for a sequel to the book - I look forward to reading about his next chapter in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing story, 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: Ghost Boy (Hardcover)
This is a truly amazing story which is moving, inspiring and gives you an insight into a world where no one would want to be. I was so involved in the story I couldn't help myself giving updates of what was happening to my family and friends.
I highly recommend this book. When you read about how Martin has overcome his difficulties it will make you think anything is possible and that you can take on the whole world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspirational must read, 30 Aug 2011
This review is from: Ghost Boy (Hardcover)
This book has to be the most incredible book I have ever read. Brutally honest, with an eloquence that is breathtaking and an intelligence that crackles through every page, Martin Pistorius takes the reader on a rollercoaster of emotions as he recounts his life. At times dark and shocking, Martin's story is deeply moving as the threads of resilience, determination, hope and love shine through, getting ever stronger. Ultimately the reader is left with great optimism for the life Martin creates, and deep joy for the true love he finds with the beautiful Joanna. Ghost Boy is an uplifting and utterly inspirational book, written by an awe-inspiring and amazing man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars martin, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Ghost Boy (Hardcover)
what an inspirational story. Martin survived the abuse and came out the other side despite the odds. This is a story of great courage and strength. It put my life into perspective, we all have hard times but Martin lived with frustration anger and isolation, but remained determined. He is a man that I admire. All the best in the future to martin and Joanna. Amazing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Riveting Read, 25 Aug 2011
This review is from: Ghost Boy (Hardcover)
If you want a book that keeps you totally engrossed.
If you want a true life story that starts with despair and has a positive ending.
If you want to learn just how strong and tenacious the human spirit can be.
If you are interested in how modern technology can help overcome some of the problems of the human body.
If you want to read how love can have a dramatic effect:-

THEN THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Boy
Ghost Boy by Martin Pistorius (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews