Customer Reviews


460 Reviews
5 star:
 (331)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!
Round of applause to Ali Harris. An absolutely beautiful book. I certainly wasn't anticipating the twist at the end! Each description of Ryan and Molly's kisses was perfect, as were the flashbacks between the present day and their teenage years and the beginning of their journey together. I'd definitely make comparisons with Jojo Moyes - Me Before You, Laurie Frankel -...
Published on 25 Mar. 2013 by LauraGyamea

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It goes on and on and on and on....Spoiler alert!
I was recommended this book by a friend at work who said 'if you loved One Day' you'll like this even better. How wrong she was! (It was nothing like One Day!)
As another reviewer has said the characterisation wasn't very good, I found Molly to be a bit wet and Ryan not much better (a man who loves boybands??)If I read about Molly's Converse sneakers once I read...
Published on 20 Feb. 2013 by Kirsty


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 25 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The First Last Kiss (Paperback)
Round of applause to Ali Harris. An absolutely beautiful book. I certainly wasn't anticipating the twist at the end! Each description of Ryan and Molly's kisses was perfect, as were the flashbacks between the present day and their teenage years and the beginning of their journey together. I'd definitely make comparisons with Jojo Moyes - Me Before You, Laurie Frankel - Goodbye For Now, and David Nicholls - One Day. A truly harrowing and emotive, thought - provoking read. I'd love to see The First Last Kiss in movie form!
A little tip - make sure you have a big box of tissues ready, you'll need them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What if every kiss was a countdown to goodbye?, 21 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The First Last Kiss (Paperback)
The story of Ryan and Molly, how they fell in love, then fell apart; The First Last Kiss by Ali Harris is a truly emotional read that will tug at your heartstrings - guaranteed. Perfect for fans of One Day, The First Last Kiss has great characters, a compelling storyline and a bittersweet twist that will stay with you long after you've said goodbye to Ryan and Molly.

What if every kiss was a countdown to goodbye?

Ryan and Molly have known each other since they were teenagers. They've shared thousands of kisses, so many in fact that Molly can't remember them all. She can remember the important kisses of course - the first kiss (A total disaster!), the real first kiss (much, much better), an engagement kiss, a wedding kiss, and then, of course, the last kiss. But what about all the kisses in between, and what about the first last kiss, the kiss that signaled the beginning of the end for Ryan and Molly, the kiss that split their lives into before and after, the kiss that began the countdown to the end, the countdown to `nothing will ever be the same again.'

When we meet Molly she is moving out of her house, packing up the memories of her life with Ryan, because, love, just like a kiss can be fleeting, and nothing lasts forever, we all know that. Molly knows it better than most, because Ryan left, and now she's alone.

Ali Harris - WOW! I bow down to you because this book blew me away. Fun fact: The First Last Kiss made me cry on public transport. (I know!) Also, this is not something that happens to me ever, so when I say that this book is an emotional read, I am not kidding! Also, while I immediately liked the sound of The First Last Kiss from reading the synopsis, I just wasn't expecting it to fall in love with it like I did. The First Last Kiss is not only beautifully written, but the characters, oh, you will fall in love with these guys, not just Ryan and Molly, but the secondary characters too. Nanny Door. I loved this lady!

But back to Ryan and Molly. The First Last Kiss takes us through their relationship from present day right back through time, so we get to know them from when they are just getting to know each other. We watch them grow up, fall together, fall apart and everything in between. And I guess that's why this book tugs at the heartstrings so. I really felt like I knew Ryan and Molly while I was reading this book, and I guess it's always hard to see things going wrong for people you care about.

We may still be in the first month of 2013, but I can safely say that I've already read one of my favourite books of the year. I'm not a huge reader of chick-lit, and if not for the fact that I am a fan of Harris's work from her career as a magazine journalist, I might have passed over this one, so if you're thinking the same, I urge you not to. This book is a truly great read, and I would recommend it to anyone, even if you're thinking that it doesn't really look like your thing. It is your thing, I promise. And it will probably (definitely) make you cry. But it will totally make you smile too. The First Last Kiss is a total must read, so go read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very special, 20 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The First Last Kiss (Paperback)
This book is so powerful. After finishing it (at 1.30am!) I just sat for 15 minutes reflecting on it. I don't want to say too much in case I spoil it for others. I wasn't sure if the jumping around between past and present would frustrate me but you soon fall into the rhythm of the book and I don't think it could have been written any other way.
The book did keep me guessing and as other reviewers said, tissues required for the second half of the book. And I really mean that - I don't usually cry at books.
From its cover the book seems quite pink and fluffy but do not be fooled. Its not a heavyweight read as such; but it is one of those books that stays with you, such as PS I Love You or You Before Me.
You must read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This must be one of the most beautifully written books I have read for a very long time,full of love,laughter and tears,
definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, couldn't put it down, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not what I expected, pleasantly surprised. Super read don't be fooled by the title! I really enjoyed my first Ali Harris book, will definitely look for more of her stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Struggled at first with the jumping back & forth but was very quickly hooked , was hoping that what happened wasn't going to be what it was but cried my way through . Can highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A simple story beautifully told about embracing love and life! A book you will carry in your head and heart long after you have read it and will want to share with all your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath-taking read that will immerse you in the storyline xXx, 22 Mar. 2014
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The First Last Kiss (Paperback)
This was my first book by Ali Harris so I was excited about this one especially after hearing such good reviews about this book.

The story is very believable and highly emotive which makes this such a beautiful breath-taking read. It follows Molly and Ryan’s relationship from beginning to end, showing the exciting and romantic highs as well as the life changing and heart-breaking lows. It was clear from early on in the book that the couple were no longer together but we don’t know why or how it has come to an end and all the way through this book until close to the end I had two possible scenarios in my head so it was unpredictable thanks to the authors clever writing style that twist and turned keeping things a mystery.

Each and every one of the characters were so well developed they all felt so life like, and both Molly and Ryan felt as though they were friends of mine that I was reading about as it all just felt so real which I think is the reason why this was such a moving read.

I did find it took me quite some time to get used to the structure of this book as it continually jumped back and forth in time but once I got into the flow of the layout I soon become immersed in the storyline.

I can’t imagine how hard this book must have been to write because as a reader my mind can not switch off from both the characters and their story so I can only imagine that this was hard for the author to detach from them too, it must have been a hard book to send out into the world.

This is a breath taking read that well and truly deserves all the credit it has received. I loved every minute of it and I have been constantly recommending it to friends and family ever since. I can not wait to read another book by Ali Harris, I am off to give my other half a great big kiss that I will treasure forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful book which left me a blubbering mess!, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: The First Last Kiss (Paperback)
Title: The First Last Kiss
Author: Ali Harris
Publisher: Simon&Schuster
Publication Date: 17th January 2013

How do you hold on to a love that is slowly slipping away from you? Can you let go of the past when you know what is in the future? And how do you cope when you know that every kiss is a countdown to goodbye?

This is the story of a love affair, of Ryan and Molly and how they fell in love and were torn apart. The first time Molly kissed Ryan, she knew they'd be together forever. Six years and thousands of kisses later she's married to the man she loves. But today, when Ryan kisses her, Molly realises how many of them she wasted because the future holds something which neither of them could have ever predicted. . .

My Review:
Now I don't want to give away what does happen which is I know the point of a review, However I want any reader who does read this to treasure and cherish every chapter and page of this book because it is a superb read! We follow the lives of Molly Carter and Ryan Cooper first loves and broken hearts. We follow each page of diary and blog entries, from when they first met to when they are happily together.

The First Last Kiss is an amazing and very emotional read even by the last page I was blubbering but also happy too. This book is definitely in the category for best emotional read in 2013.
I just urge everyone must read, I had never heard of Ali Harris before until publishers had sent me her book and I just think Ali is a wonderful writer and knows how to keep you hooked with every page in her books.

The cover of TFLK was ever so beautiful and very girly just tempting you on them shelves for you all to buy.
With this book it will also make you want to treasure life because sometimes people you love can be taken away from you ever so suddenly. YOLO!

Definitely a book I am not going to forget in a hurry....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make this your first and last read!, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The First Last Kiss (Paperback)
Molly loves Ryan. Ryan loves Molly. Molly thought that this was her world, and she was happy with her lot. They met while at University, and despite a few ups and downs along the way, they've muddled through and are happily married, and looking forward to the exciting new things to come in their life together. However, when the pair receive some life-shattering news, Molly begins to document some of the kisses that she and Ryan have shared, as she's aware that each and every kiss that the pair share could be their last. Molly is forced to relive some of the happier, and less happy times, that her and Ryan have shared, and begins to write her very own love story.

It's hard to write a review about this book without spoiling the essence of the book because the main part of it works because you don't know what's coming up in the book. I had a feeling about what was happening with Ryan and Molly, but Harris chooses not to make it obvious, instead leaving the reader to wonder and reveal the story slowly but surely. As the plotline slowly comes to the forefront of the story, it's heartbreaking, sad, emotional and is hard to read because after this time, you've grown to love these characters despite their faults and foibles, and you just want a happy ending for them. Molly is such a realistic character, she does the wrong thing, says the wrong thing but has a good heart, and you can't help but love her. I loved her introduction to each kiss that is told in the book, and I feel that Harris really got into Molly's head when she wrote this. Ryan too was very likeable, I loved the close relationship he had with this family, and his mum in particular was hilarious and had me laughing out loud! He's kind, caring and a great man, and it was fun to see how his character grew as the book progressed.

What worked so well for me with this book was the emotion, and how it really touched me. There aren't many books that have me sitting there with tears running down my face and feeling genuinely sad and upset (Jojo Moyes' 'Me Before You' was the last one) but Ali Harris made me weep with this book. She manages to set up Ryan and Molly's relationship so well that you have to love them, you have to root for them and you want them to make it through the tough times they share. It isn't told in chronological order, instead a thread for the modern day pops up every now and then, and is interspersed with Molly's kiss memories, and this gives us all the points in Molly and Ryan's life that are important, and really set up their relationship well for the reader. It isn't hard to keep up, and I loved that it jumped around and showed lots of different sides to Molly and Ryan. Molly's first person narration is perfect for the book as well, as it helps convey her emotion, and really helped me get into the book as I was reading, desperate to find out what Molly's next memory would be.

This is a book that will touch you and will stay with you long after you turn the final page, and I know it is one I will be re-reading as soon as I get the chance to simply because I loved it so much. It is a beautifully written love story with characters that you'll care about, and a supporting cast that make the book feel whole, and have you laughing and crying all the way. Harris' writing is superb, she totally become Molly for the duration of the book, and you become lost in the love that Molly and Ryan share together, through the good and the bad. I urge you to find a copy of this stunning novel and read it yourself; it shows a real maturity and growth in Harris' writing from her debut, and makes me so excited to find out what she's going to bring us next. This is a wonderful story of love, the importance of loving and of being loved, and for living life to its potential. One of my favourite reads of all time, without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The First Last Kiss
The First Last Kiss by Ali Harris (Paperback - 17 Jan. 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews