Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, amusing, poignant (and other rejected titles for Joy Division albums)
Here we have the first memoir of Joy Division by someone who was actually in the group, which, given their importance and achievements, should be greeted with huge enthusiasm by anyone who appreciates the group's work or with an interest in the post-punk era. Sadly, it's been greeted with accusations of "rip-off" or "cash in" in some circles, pathetic knee-jerk reactions...
Published 21 months ago by Runmentionable

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars one for the fans I think...
It has to be said that Hook's revisionist take on the Joy Division story is refreshing. Don't be misled by the typically moribund image on the cover - this is basically Hooky and the boys go mad across Europe. All the purported sturm and drang of the Ian Curtis story is brought down to earth with the sound of pint glasses thumping on bars. And then there's the fights. And...
Published 18 months ago by disturbedchinchilla


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Given as Christmas present, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division (Hardcover)
This was a present for my son, which he had requested. He was very pleased with it, and came up to his expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where have they been?, 29 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division (Hardcover)
And the Joy Division museum rolls on, curated and led by Peter Hook himself. Like the best music books, this makes me want to take my old records out and spin them again. Not necessarily to rediscover what has become dulled by years of exposure, but to remember what the fuss was all about. You don't forget Joy Division. They're not just some band. Wether you like them or not, you cannot argue that the band didn't mean it, man. They played as if the world was coming to an end in a moment, and they had just one shot to communicate. There was a time when Joy Division was new, brave, daring, and it was not long before it was then all over.

Told breathlessly, Hook follows the tale from his childhood to the end of the band quickly and efficiently, sometimes sparkling with detail and other times with notable absences, heavy on anecdote and event, but also, as you might expect, trying to retrospectively impose narrative and closure onto events that just happen, as life just happens, often without rhyme or reason. The book also leaps around in narrative, moving for a paragraph or a page or two to event of a decade or so later where the New Order story is tantalisingly opened and closed where it intersects with the Joy Division story. But is it any good? Yes, and no. It shows, perhaps more than any other book, the battle that exists in all of us, between who we want to be, and who we are forced to be, and how we can, some of us, the one in a million, escape from the world that the world wanted to give us, into a destiny of our own making : husband, father, lover, rock star, dole office clerk. We are a million people, and at once, each one is but a slither of who we are, a fragment. And in this, Hook tells a tale he both watched from afar and lived, of how love tore people apart, how they lost control, about how decades came and went, how unknown pleasures came closer, came still, and then came movement, about how everything happened so quickly, yet at one second a day at a time, and how all these things happened, and how these days, the came, they want, and yet the memory remains. Hooky observed the place in the showdown, he watched with a pitiful eye, all things happened and then they were over, and nothing left but memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 26 May 2013
this book is very entertaining,funny,blunt and to the point,pete explains exactly what he remembers of their niavety,towards coping with ian curtis's illness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching. From a distance., 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division (Hardcover)
It's great to hear about the man behind the myth. The warmth behind the ice cold atmosphere and legacy.An unfreezing of a story stuck in time and legend. Which is exactly what you get with Peter Hooks second book. A friendly funny read that is hard to put down. The reason it doesn't get 5 stars is (like the previous book) it stops short of the real warts and all story. There's hints, but no drop dead revelations. Like Hooky stops short of revenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read for Fans, 8 Dec 2012
This review is from: Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division (Hardcover)
I love Joy Division. I'm probably one of the 'younger' fans of the band and sort of knew a general history of the whole affair, courtesy of general interest, YouTube documentaries and excellent films like Control. However, having just finished the book, I feel quite satisfied that the story of Joy Division doesn't have to be speculated much anymore. Today, they're given some sort of pretentious sort of status, but here, Hook brings together a definitive timeline, autobiography and biography of four Mancunian lads who just wanted to make it as a punk band. I definitely feel a lot closer (forgive the album reference) to Joy Division and had many laughs along the way. Very entertaining and interesting read.

For the record to a reviewer who seemed to be a bit upset that Hook and his band The Light are taking the 'Unknown Pleasures' album on tour: I went to see him perform it recently and it was amazing. His band are great and any chance to see a guy perform incredible tracks who was actually IN Joy Division is quite an honour and something special for younger fans like me. What I'd do to see Bowie live today...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hooky spills the beans., 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown Pleasures (Kindle Edition)
I once saw Joy Division. More by accident than design. I bought a ticket to see The Buzzcocks and they happened to be the support band. I can honestly say that I was mesmerised from the moment they took the stage. Since that evening in 1979 I have seen thousands of bands, but it remains in the top three best gigs I've ever seen. I mention this because I am going to be slightly biased by my love of the band.
I thought this was a great read. Well written. Informative and entertaining. I enjoyed Hook's previous book on the Hacienda and this is of a comparable quality. An absolute must for any serious fan of the band.
I'm already looking forward to Hook's book on his time in New Order.
(For those that are interested Led Zeppelin and The Talking Heads are the other two best bands in my top three)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 28 Oct 2012
By 
Jeffry Johnson (Orange, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division (Hardcover)
A heartfelt, honest account from "Mr. Melody" himself. Whether a fan of Joy Division, New Order or music in general, you should enjoy this account of Joy Division, one of the most influential bands ever. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Belt up, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without a doubt, one of the most depressing musical tomes ever written. Not because of the popular doom & gloom esteem in which Joy Division are held, nor because of the feel of their music; not because the tale ends with a death. This makes me so sad and not because of Curtis, Peel, Gretton, Wilson or Hannett (all now gone), but because of the people in the tale who are still alive.

What's it going to take for you, Hooky, to just let sleeping dogs lie? Is life not too short?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars His second book of ghost written rubbish, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division (Hardcover)
I believe Hooky had to pay two writers - he fell out with the first one - to write the Hacienda book
and know he paid at least one writer to write this Joy Division book- it's disjointed has no real flow and a lot of it is factually incorrect but what does Hooky care he didn'r really have to do much rattle off a few bits he could remember to a ghost writer. Still in our perfect country of spin and big money no doubt Hooky will get another honorary doctorate, play another cathedral and perhaps set up a few more degree courses - considering punk and post punk Manchester was supposed to be independent and on the edge what happened ? Hooky is just the perfect showbiz Tory boy now. New Order may be better off without him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars milking the memory., 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division (Hardcover)
I was very down on peter hook playing the Joy Division albums live why would anybody, want to listen to hook singing instead of Ian it's not for me.Am fine with him playing new order stuff but I wish the joy division music had remained un-touched.But when it comes to this book even though he's milking the memory to death this band mean a lot to me so I will read it. Can I just say as well why on earth in the write up for the book did they say,that one of the people influenced by Joy Division was Morrissey he truly wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division
Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division by Peter Hook (Hardcover - 27 Sep 2012)
16.00
Usually dispatched within 9 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews