Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully told story of great courage and love
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight is one of my favourite books. Told from the innocent perspective of a child, it is funny and sad and above all, honest.
I approached Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness with eager anticipation and have to admit, found the first few chapters disappointing. I felt that Alexandra Fuller had compromised the vivid...
Published on 17 Dec 2011 by N. Bowring

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK'ish but didn't make as big impression as DLTDGOT
It has been some time since I read DLTDGOT but this book didn't make as big impression. The focus is on the life of Alexandra's mother which although fleshes out the character encountered in the original book and provides deeper context, probably does not warrant a book in itself. The book relates a colonial life from Scotland, to Kenya to Rhodesia then post-Zimbabwe...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. P. A. Gower


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully told story of great courage and love, 17 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness (Hardcover)
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight is one of my favourite books. Told from the innocent perspective of a child, it is funny and sad and above all, honest.
I approached Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness with eager anticipation and have to admit, found the first few chapters disappointing. I felt that Alexandra Fuller had compromised the vivid characterization of her eccentric wonderful mother, in order to please her and make amends for what the family called the "awful book". But I was wrong.
Tree of Forgetfulness is more serious than Dogs because it is related by the grown up Alexandra, or Bobo as her family call her, so lacks the naivety of the child. From this adult, knowing viewpoint, it is somehow all the more heartbreaking. The story of her parents' courage, resilience and humour in the face of insuperable tragedy in the harsh, punishing Continent of Africa - Kenya during the Mau Mau, Rhodesia (Zimbabwe) during the war of independence, is told with the generosity and warmth of a devoted and loving daughter.
"Nicola Fuller of Central Africa" always wanted a writer in the family to recount her "fabulously romantic life". Her life may not have turned out as romantically as she had hoped, but it was full of adventure and love and she couldn't have wished for a better "scribe" than her own daughter to relate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Wilhelm Snyman "Wilhelm Snyman" (Cape Town, W Cape South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness (Hardcover)
Hilarious, sad, poignant - but unputdownable. A clearly more mature, thoughtful work than Dogs, (which was excellent for other reasons), Cocktail is also a very moving, sober and heartfelt tribute by a daughter to her mother and will have universal appeal, even to those who don't know Central Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read :recommended if you liked "Let's not go to the Dogs", 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness (Hardcover)
I (as did many others) loved Fuller's first book and was fascinated by Alexandra's mother. This book is a biography of Nicola {Alexandra's mother} in much greater detail as it starts from Nicola's childhood told from the perspective of her daughter (Alexandra). A great tale of a life lived to the full; not an easy life, but one lived passionately by a brave and proud lady. A wonderful book written by an excellent author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK'ish but didn't make as big impression as DLTDGOT, 15 April 2013
By 
Mr. P. A. Gower (Altrincham, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It has been some time since I read DLTDGOT but this book didn't make as big impression. The focus is on the life of Alexandra's mother which although fleshes out the character encountered in the original book and provides deeper context, probably does not warrant a book in itself. The book relates a colonial life from Scotland, to Kenya to Rhodesia then post-Zimbabwe exile in Malawi and Zambia. Although difficult to explain despite being a raciest alcoholic, Alexandra's mother seems like a good fun character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pass it on, 11 Nov 2011
This review is from: Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness (Hardcover)
I loved" Don't lets go down to the dogs ", so much i brought 8 copies for friends . I have read all her books so far (as i hope there will be more ) I read this book in one day , my life just had to go on hold . Alexandra writes so beautifully , about such harsh things ; people landscapes snakes , but always without pity , its just how it is . i feel more alive when reading her account of Africa . She is for me a brilliant story teller .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, charming, touching and irresistible, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Noel (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful little book, the third written by Alexandra Fuller on her family's life and experiences in Africa. In this book Alexandra's mother Nicola Fuller is the centre-piece and everything else is set in the context of her mother's vivacity, eccentricity and bouts of depression. Her mother's family origins in the Isle of Skye makes it all the more surprising that Nicola Fuller should have Kenya in her blood.

She left Kenya soon after independence when the life they had known was gone for ever and amazingly they moved to Rhodesia and soon found themselves on the frontline, literally, in the war which eventually brought Mugabe to power. After a spell in Derbyshire the family returned to Africa, Zambia this time, and that is where this story finishes, on the family's banana and fish farm on the banks of the Zambezi.

A wonderful story, very well told.

See Alexandra Fullers other books Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood; Scribbling the Cat;both set in the African bush and the painful but gripping story of The Legend of Colton H Bryant which is set in Ms Fuller's adopted homeland of USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful and heartbreaking, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness (Hardcover)
The star of this book, probably to her surprise, is the author's mother, 'Nicola Fuller of Central Africa' as she calls herself who had described Alexandra's previous work about her childhood as an 'Awful Book'. White settlers are not usually sympathetic figures but Nicola and her husband Tim have lived in Kenya, Zimbabwe, Malawi and Zambia and built succesful farms and businesses. They have survived war, the loss of three children and dispossession with courage and tenacity. I devoured the book in one sitting to find out what happened next but will go back and read it again more slowly and to enjoy Alexandra's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After that 'awful book', one focusing on her parents trying to carve out a life in Africa, 9 Nov 2012
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alexandra Fuller, well known for previous biographical accounts of growing up in Rhodesia and of returning to Zimbabwe as a grown woman - namely Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood and Scribbling the Cat: Travels with an African Soldier - returns to the same topic, this time from the perspective of her parents.

While she certainly harvested some furore from her mother with her first book - often referred to in here as 'that awful book' - this did not stop this next attempt and even if some of the events covered are the same, you will get a very different perspective here - namely of an adult daughter looking back at the life of her parents from their perspective, rather than from the perspective of a growing child.

The book certainly does an excellent job of portraying the indefatiguable spirit of her parents, who took everything coming their way - from insurrections, lost children, hardships and poverty, to civil wars - and remained optimistic and in love with a continent that so often tried them so thoroughly.

If the tone was different the book could read as a tragedy but the author really manages to distill the uplifting aspects and has done a great job of bringing readers closer to life in Africa as it once was for white settlers, as well as of creating a loving monument to her parents.

As such well worth a read, even if Africa is not your particular area of interest and up there with the author's earlier books, as well as works by Peter Godwin (Mukiwa: A White Boy in Africa, When a Crocodile Eats the Sun) and Robyn Scott's Twenty Chickens for a Saddle: The Story of an African Childhood as some of the best descriptions of life in Southern Africa under former times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 10 Nov 2011
By 
M. L. Mears (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness (Hardcover)
A fascinating sequel to "Don't Lets Go to the Dog's Tonight", however I would suggest, that to fully appreciate this insight into the extraordinary character of Alexandra's mother, " Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight" should be read first..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reader, 7 Oct 2011
By 
J. Hardie (Haddington, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness (Hardcover)
There are laugh out loud moments and it caused much emotion that the 'stiff upper lip' crowd would not approve of showing. Fantastic read to add to the other great books by Alexandra Fuller.
Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness
Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness by Alexandra Fuller (Hardcover - 15 Sep 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews