Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones Keep on Rolling
The Rolling Stones: Fifty Years is real page turner. Well written, extensively researched by Christopher Sandford who has previously written biographies on Mick Jagger and Keith Richards.
Any story of the Stones is really about the great creative force of Jagger and Richards, and how they have sustained the band despite the great differences in their own...
Published on 19 Aug. 2012 by sidney from sydney

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, pedestrian: Buy Philip Norman instead (and no, I'm not Philip Norman)
A pretty dry, monochrome account of the Stones' career to date. Not terrible by any stretch of the imagination, but really doesn't bring the world of 60s-70s rock and roll to life. At this point I should add a caveat: I stopped reading about a quarter of the way through. However that in itself tells you all you need to know. As someone who appreciates zippy, fresh...
Published 8 days ago by Floyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones Keep on Rolling, 19 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Fifty Years (Hardcover)
The Rolling Stones: Fifty Years is real page turner. Well written, extensively researched by Christopher Sandford who has previously written biographies on Mick Jagger and Keith Richards.
Any story of the Stones is really about the great creative force of Jagger and Richards, and how they have sustained the band despite the great differences in their own personalities. The other players - Jones, Watts, Wyman, Taylor, Wood - and their part in the history are also well documented in the book. Interesting stories on managers, wives and girlfriends, supporting musicians, drug dealers, groupies, and assorted hangers on makes it difficult to put the book down.
The big business side of the Stones is fascinating. Their legend and wealth continues long after their creative peak thirty years ago.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Account, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Fifty Years (Hardcover)
I have read many books on the Stones, which often peter out after the sixties this continues through the seventies, eighties up to the present day, best account I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, pedestrian: Buy Philip Norman instead (and no, I'm not Philip Norman), 20 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Fifty Years (Hardcover)
A pretty dry, monochrome account of the Stones' career to date. Not terrible by any stretch of the imagination, but really doesn't bring the world of 60s-70s rock and roll to life. At this point I should add a caveat: I stopped reading about a quarter of the way through. However that in itself tells you all you need to know. As someone who appreciates zippy, fresh writing, at times this book was quite a slog. Now for the good news: Sandford's book was so mediocre that it made me cast my eyes around for something better. In the end I discovered The Stones by Philip Norman. If you want a general history of the group up to the early 80s and beyond, then Norman's book is your best bet. Not just a punchy, well-written account of the group and their music, but an engaging social history of post-war Britain as well. I must admit I was in part drawn to it because I'd read a previous, brilliant history of The Beatles by the same author. But yes, in sum, if you want an engaging all-encompassing history of the Stones, don't bother with Sandford, go for Norman instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book about the Stones, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without a doubt this is the best book I have ever read about the Rolling Stones. It's full of insights and very well written. I would recommend this for any rock music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars kindle book, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
found this very interesting being a fan of the stones.Got a slightly different perspective of some of the members of the band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent =book, 23 May 2013
By 
R. Reeves "roysie" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant book plenty of new facts brilliantly written a must for any fan of the greatest rock band in the world after Queen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fifty Years perhaps too much for one book. But worthy effort., 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable read. Thought it better than Keith Richards dubious account. (Keith, were the Stones REALLY Stu's band and not Brian's? And was not being a party animal REALLY a good reason to sack the great Mick Taylor?). Thought it less boring but also less detailed than Wyman's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good biography book on the Rolling Stones, 14 May 2015
By 
R. Howard "grandprize" (London,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book on one of the most iconic Rock Groups of the 20th Century.
The book's only let down is not having any pictures through the book.
Also I think a lot more should have been written about the most iconic albums the stones recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The glimmer twins 50 year battle of wills, 9 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For Stones fans. Much I had read before but at least it's consistent. A good record of their 50 years , starring the Glimmer twins with bit parts played by Bil, Charlie, Brian et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 29 Jan. 2014
By 
Mrs. Sa Perowne (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Fifty Years (Hardcover)
very good book to read and very informative, it goes into a lot of detail. My husband is reading this book and enjoying it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rolling Stones: Fifty Years
The Rolling Stones: Fifty Years by Christopher Sandford (Hardcover - 26 April 2012)
£15.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews