Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LMAO
This book was a very funny light read. Lots of of short snappy stories - just like half of the ole lads about my cricket club tell them!!! Read this book in 3 days - couldn't put it down and just wanted to burst out laughing on the train, in the office - anywhere I was reading it. Defo a recommended purchase for any cricket enthusiast or smart ass alike! A must if you...
Published on 19 Feb 2011 by Chunk

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Poor Second to 'The Sledger's Handbook'
Having read both this and The Sledger's Handbook I was struck by how few sledges there were in this title. It's all padding with barely twenty quotes (and if you're a cricket fan you've heard most of them before). Save your money and wait for the Updated Sledger's Handbook early in 2011.
Published on 31 Dec 2010 by Ed Sampson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Poor Second to 'The Sledger's Handbook', 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: Why Are You So Fat?: The TalkSPORT Book of Cricket's Best Ever Sledges (Hardcover)
Having read both this and The Sledger's Handbook I was struck by how few sledges there were in this title. It's all padding with barely twenty quotes (and if you're a cricket fan you've heard most of them before). Save your money and wait for the Updated Sledger's Handbook early in 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close but no cigar, 3 Dec 2010
By 
M. Sear (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Are You So Fat?: The TalkSPORT Book of Cricket's Best Ever Sledges (Hardcover)
Fun book. Good price etc. but a lot of this material is re-hashed. As such - for 2 on Kindle its a bargain. For 4 its OK as a "real" book. But anything over this dont bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LMAO, 19 Feb 2011
This review is from: Why Are You So Fat?: The TalkSPORT Book of Cricket's Best Ever Sledges (Hardcover)
This book was a very funny light read. Lots of of short snappy stories - just like half of the ole lads about my cricket club tell them!!! Read this book in 3 days - couldn't put it down and just wanted to burst out laughing on the train, in the office - anywhere I was reading it. Defo a recommended purchase for any cricket enthusiast or smart ass alike! A must if you are both!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Money for old rope, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: Why Are You So Fat?: The TalkSPORT Book of Cricket's Best Ever Sledges (Hardcover)
The excitement of reading about the finest and funniest sledges in cricket was short lived. What should have been a fun read was deflated by the padding around the respective one-liners. Even though the material has done the rounds, in the hands of a better scribe this book could have been so much funnier. The author suggests he has another book on the topic, please no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun and Informative for any Cricket Fan, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: Why Are You So Fat?: The TalkSPORT Book of Cricket's Best Ever Sledges (Hardcover)
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and can't understand the fuss about the 'padding' around the quotes in previous reviews. If I wanted to read a list of quotes I'd search on the internet. If you want some context and explanation as well as the great sledges, as I do, then this book is ideal. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you like cricket, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Geoff Jackson (OLDBURY, W Midlands, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Are You So Fat?: The TalkSPORT Book of Cricket's Best Ever Sledges (Hardcover)
if like me you like cricket this is a very good read and laugh out loud funny in several places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Are You So Fat?: The TalkSPORT Book of Cricket's Best Ever Sledges (Hardcover)
Very funny book and a great gift for any cricket lover. can highly recommend, bought along with a selection of other cricket books and this was one of the funniest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny in Parts, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Are You So Fat?: The TalkSPORT Book of Cricket's Best Ever Sledges (Hardcover)
After the current events in Australia this book does not quite match up to the real nature of sledging and its impact on the game. Some of the humour is weak, but there are the occasional jewels. Needed a a bit more courage to quote some of the tastier examples on hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slaedges., 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Are You So Fat?: The TalkSPORT Book of Cricket's Best Ever Sledges (Hardcover)
It's ok but not quite as funny as I thought it would be but someone else may find it hilarious. All down to personal taste I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Are You So Fat?: The TalkSPORT Book of Cricket's Best Ever Sledges (Hardcover)
It's a good read and an ideal book to carry about for a few quiet moments. It'll keep you chuckling from time to time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why Are You So Fat?: The TalkSPORT Book of Cricket's Best Ever Sledges
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews