Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars40
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2012
As a fan of Radcliffe's radio work I was keen to read the book when it was published.

I would suggest that anybody who likes his radio work and/or popular music of the last 50 years will find this an enjoyable & easy read.
I also found far less of the over the top self deprecation which slightly ruined his previous book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
Another stand-out book from Radders (see BBC 6M). A fantastic journey through his life with a record from each year of his life as an accompaniment. You can't help but laugh at his recollections of times gone by (though my wife doesn't understand). Hopefully, Mark has more books like this to come in him for the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
I like Mark Radcliffe, a witty and interesting guy, but he's not a particularly good writer, there's too much repetition for my taste, and he 'goes off on one' too much - that said, there are interesting anecdotes and tales about various musicians etc ... I got about half way through before i gave up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
Mark Radcliffe is just so funny. I love this book both for the musical choices, and the anedotes. Part musical journey, part mad Northern biography, it works on both levels. Especially love the apology to Kate Bush in the 1985 channel, if not so the Dire Straits choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
A very interesting book, with lots of references to elements of the past that I found comforting. Whether that is because of being the age I'm at I'm not sure, but all the same I would think that a lot of readers would enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
I've onlyjust received this but on first look, it seems to be up to Mark's usual high standard. For those of you who enjoy Mark Radclife onteh radio, or who have enjoyed his other books, this will entertain just as much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Witty insightful account of Mark's life and music, at times a tad crude, but he can do better than that laddish stuff, and in the main does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
Really good read, can pick it up as and when, some genuine laugh out loud stuff. Anyone who enjoyed the Mark and Lard humour will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
If you love music buy this book. Whilst you may not agree with the choices it is wonderfully entertaining and easy to dip in and out of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Pleased with service and cost and my son seemed equally pleased after reading this book by BBC radio disc jockey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)