Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
12
3.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2014
I hadn't bought this for some years, but decided to treat myself in expectation of attending rather more county cricket this season. I wish I had seen it in a shop first, as I would have walked away. Lots of the cricketers evidently didn't fill in the questionnaire in the first place - as the previous reviewer said, a lot of the questions were silly and just invited amateur wit, of which there is clearly little around the county dressing rooms. There is a fair amount of biographical and statistical information lurking around the book, but it is buried under the welter of lacklustre and repetitive dross. The players seem to have lost interest in this annual, and without their eager personal input it offers little - I shall stick to the pocket Playfair in future.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
In previous issues details of the players history and performance were based on cricket issues. Now its based on ; for example quoting details of
Harry Podmore

Desert Island Disc
Favourite TV
Heroes
What to do when I retire
Surprising fact - my little finger
Fantasy slip cordon
Accomplishments - not a lot really!
Non cricketing heroes

In previous issues the information was serious cricket information not irrelevant rubbish.

Unless it changes back to the earlier format I will not waste £20 again

L A Davies
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
This book consist of responses to a questionnaire that is sent out to as many current professional cricketers as the editor can find. Up until the 2011 edition, the questionnaire didn't change much between editions. The questions it asked ranged from the obvious (name, date of birth, club you play for) to the random. The result was you got a bit of colour about the guy you were watching (particularly from the random questions).

The format was probably due for a change. You probably can't expect people (even cricket fans, who are fairly conservative) to fork out almost £20 a year for something that's too samey, but the problem is I'm not sure the authors know what to replace it with.The last couple of years the questions have been very cricket focused. That's understandable, but it reduces the "colour" we used to get about the players, and that's half the fun for people who've historically bought the book I think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I agree with other reviews, sadly it has gone off very badly for reasons stated. Will not buy again until it changes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Not as good as previous ones - layout changed, Still useful but not as user friendly.
Delivery etc though 1st class!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
Excellent reference book. Lovely clean copy, delivered very quickly in very good packaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Obtained this item for a family member who is very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Handy to take to matches
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
This item was a gift,which was well received by the recepient, just another edition to add to the ever growing set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
A splendid vade mecum at any county match.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)