Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Excellent reference book. Lovely clean copy, delivered very quickly in very good packaging.
Published 16 days ago by Bob Patterson

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it has gone off badly
I hadn't bought this for some years, but decided to treat myself in expectation of attending rather more county cricket this season. I wish I had seen it in a shop first, as I would have walked away. Lots of the cricketers evidently didn't fill in the questionnaire in the first place - as the previous reviewer said, a lot of the questions were silly and just invited...
Published 7 months ago by Garry J.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it has gone off badly, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricketers Whos Who 2014 (Paperback)
I hadn't bought this for some years, but decided to treat myself in expectation of attending rather more county cricket this season. I wish I had seen it in a shop first, as I would have walked away. Lots of the cricketers evidently didn't fill in the questionnaire in the first place - as the previous reviewer said, a lot of the questions were silly and just invited amateur wit, of which there is clearly little around the county dressing rooms. There is a fair amount of biographical and statistical information lurking around the book, but it is buried under the welter of lacklustre and repetitive dross. The players seem to have lost interest in this annual, and without their eager personal input it offers little - I shall stick to the pocket Playfair in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PLAYERS IRRELEVENT DETAILS, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricketers Whos Who 2014 (Paperback)
In previous issues details of the players history and performance were based on cricket issues. Now its based on ; for example quoting details of
Harry Podmore

Desert Island Disc
Favourite TV
Heroes
What to do when I retire
Surprising fact - my little finger
Fantasy slip cordon
Accomplishments - not a lot really!
Non cricketing heroes

In previous issues the information was serious cricket information not irrelevant rubbish.

Unless it changes back to the earlier format I will not waste £20 again

L A Davies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A shame, 27 May 2014
This review is from: Cricketers Whos Who 2014 (Paperback)
I agree with other reviews, sadly it has gone off very badly for reasons stated. Will not buy again until it changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I guess I'm going to have to get used to this book, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricketers Whos Who 2014 (Paperback)
This book consist of responses to a questionnaire that is sent out to as many current professional cricketers as the editor can find. Up until the 2011 edition, the questionnaire didn't change much between editions. The questions it asked ranged from the obvious (name, date of birth, club you play for) to the random. The result was you got a bit of colour about the guy you were watching (particularly from the random questions).

The format was probably due for a change. You probably can't expect people (even cricket fans, who are fairly conservative) to fork out almost £20 a year for something that's too samey, but the problem is I'm not sure the authors know what to replace it with.The last couple of years the questions have been very cricket focused. That's understandable, but it reduces the "colour" we used to get about the players, and that's half the fun for people who've historically bought the book I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricketers Whos Who 2014 (Paperback)
Excellent reference book. Lovely clean copy, delivered very quickly in very good packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... this item for a family member who is very pleased with it, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricketers Whos Who 2014 (Paperback)
Obtained this item for a family member who is very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 July 2014
By 
M. A. Hewings "Kentish Marmite" (Solihull UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricketers Whos Who 2014 (Paperback)
Handy to take to matches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricketers Whos Who 2014 (Paperback)
This item was a gift,which was well received by the recepient, just another edition to add to the ever growing set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't start the cricket season without it., 26 Jun 2014
By 
Ms. C. H. Rogers (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricketers Whos Who 2014 (Paperback)
A splendid vade mecum at any county match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cricketers whos Who 2014, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricketers Whos Who 2014 (Paperback)
Excellent book if you follow cricket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cricketers Whos Who 2014
Cricketers Whos Who 2014 by Jo Harman (Paperback - 4 April 2014)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews