Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring and empowering read
I really recommend this book to anyone who needs a good dose of inspiration and motivation in their career (or anyone who wants to kickstart a career), whether they're in a creative industry or not.

Taken as a whole the book is an uplifting read, but there's also many handy tips and ideas to apply personally and professionally to help push yourself and to help...
Published 11 months ago by Ben Haddock

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Repeat of inspirational material from another viewpoint
I was given this book by a friend who said "you're into all this stuff" - it wasn't his thing.

He was right: I love to be amongst inspirational/motivational material of every medium.
From the reality craziness of 'Bashar' to the spiritual views of David Beckworth to the calmness of Eckhart Tolle then to the motivational worlds of Steve Jobs and Tony...
Published 6 months ago by Caroline Queen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare to Fail, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
One of the most inspiring reads this year.

Lucky enough to see Ian at BLAB in Manchester a few years back, his talk inspired me to better myself as a creative and led to me producing my first short film. Years later, Spark for the Fire has done it again.

With insight from Ian's personal/professional journey and accompanied with the wise words from some of the industry's leading creatives, Spark for the Fire shows how having a youthful and fearless approach to creativity can be the most important thing.

Ian's passion for all things creative is infectious, and I am motivated now more than ever to take my career to the next level.

A thoroughly enjoyable and quick read, I cannot recommend this book enough!

Dare to fail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Inspiring, 25 Nov 2013
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
After reading this book I've never felt more enthusiastic about pressing ahead in the creative field with a new working attitude that anything is possible. I really enjoyed the thought-provoking quotes from inspirational minds of our past and present. The honest account of Ian's professional hurdles and triumphs faced over his career gives great substance to his core messages.

Ian flips traditional logic on its head and throw's innovative ideas right at you which are incredibly refreshing to read. This is a deeply motivating book that any young or experienced creative will benefit from.

Get inspired and read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An inspiring read for anyone starting off or wanting to boost their career to the next level. This book is full of great tips and advice that's usable in day to day life that will ultimately lead to a more creative outlook on your career. Especially the more creative roles where taking a risk could make or break a deal.
Ian Wharton teaches you that mistakes are OK and just like Google and their software Google Wave -that failed miserably- but they learnt from their mistakes and in the process of development had pushed the boundaries of computer science to a new level.
In Chapter 1 he teaches you to 'Embrace the Ridiculous' with the help of a childhood anecdote from his teens where his imagination ran wild and he had nothing holding him back and not a worry in the world. He was asked to do something creative with an owl so rather than ask questions, he just went and got a man who had a couple of owls to see what would happen. It was his first job with two owls, a guy with some camera equipment and a blue screen. They filmed the owl for awhile and used the blue screen to superimpose it onto a website, the owl would sit in the top corner of the website and only every now and again slightly move, making the visitor wonder if it did more or if their eyes were playing tricks on them. In the end they would hang around for a little longer, just to see. In its first month the site had 50,000 unique hits and to top it off the site won a few awards.

Favourite Quotes

"Your choices should never, ever just be about the money. If they are, things are bound to end in tears." - Ian Wharton
"Be cavalier; dare to fail" - Ian Wharton
"Because whats worse than failure, is failure without learning" - Adam Bird
"Perfectionism can stifle creativity" - Nick Park
"Never try to be the best. Instead, try to be second best"- Fashion Designer Paul Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly important book. Read it and watch your thinking (and your success!) transform., 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
Have a dream? This book is going to help you achieve it!

Burningly intelligent and powerfully energising, Ian Wharton knows what it takes to ignite and harness fearless (youthful!!) creative thinking - i.e. the type of creativity needed to produce game-changing ideas, disruptive innovations and the just-right-amount of audacity needed to take yourself from thinking, to doing, to success. This is not a book glorifying early chronological age, it is a book that proves the power of "thinking young". And it turns out that thinking young is something everyone can do, whether you are 9 or 90. This book will be a catalyst for many, many personal successes. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Creatives, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
If you have any creativity in your life or work this is a must. Its a smallish book, but packs a massive punch! I think it will be something that I will read over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Repeat of inspirational material from another viewpoint, 8 Jun 2014
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
I was given this book by a friend who said "you're into all this stuff" - it wasn't his thing.

He was right: I love to be amongst inspirational/motivational material of every medium.
From the reality craziness of 'Bashar' to the spiritual views of David Beckworth to the calmness of Eckhart Tolle then to the motivational worlds of Steve Jobs and Tony Robinson. I bounce from one platform to the other. All offer and reveal new insights into ways of being, off releasing self imposed boundaries - socially constructed belief systems. They help reveal the creativity of our minds in a boundless unfolding journey.

Unfortunately, whilst well written, Ian's book didn't offer anything new in this vast arena already profusely inhabited by the greats of creativity. It offered his insight into the creative world he has so far traversed, but there was nothing profound or fresh about his offerings. There was no moment of new resonation for me.

This may be harsh, but why purchase this book over so many other books written by far more successful creators?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it that much, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
I've read this book three times. The second was immediately after the first, I enjoyed it that much. Highly recommended for anyone working in a creative industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity
Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity by Ian Wharton (Paperback - 25 Nov 2013)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews