Customer Reviews


17 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly inspiring.
Reading this book massively boosted confidence in myself to achieve my dreams, to follow my instincts and helped me learn that age and experience is never guaranteed to beat passion and drive.

Ian is a truly exceptional writer, relating experiences and learnings throughout his remarkable career to 6 essential pieces of advice that every single reader can gain...
Published 17 months ago by Harry Northover

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Repeat of inspirational material from another viewpoint
I was given this book by a friend who said "you're into all this stuff" - it wasn't his thing.

He was right: I love to be amongst inspirational/motivational material of every medium.
From the reality craziness of 'Bashar' to the spiritual views of David Beckworth to the calmness of Eckhart Tolle then to the motivational worlds of Steve Jobs and Tony...
Published 12 months ago by Caroline Queen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring reminder of what's inside us, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
I haven't agreed with a book as much as this one for a long time.
"yes" "of course" "how did i forget this?" were thoughts that pop up constantly from start to finish and has made it a really worthwhile read, I'll probably read it again at the end of the year as it helps re-focus the reason why i'm pursuing my goals.

100% worth reading. A quick read, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits the spot!, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
A really fun and inspiring book from start to finish and will most certainly be revisiting on a regular basis. The book applies to a much wider audience than just the creative industry and have found myself quoting it to whoever is nearest.

If you like to think differently then you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly important book. Read it and watch your thinking (and your success!) transform., 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
Have a dream? This book is going to help you achieve it!

Burningly intelligent and powerfully energising, Ian Wharton knows what it takes to ignite and harness fearless (youthful!!) creative thinking - i.e. the type of creativity needed to produce game-changing ideas, disruptive innovations and the just-right-amount of audacity needed to take yourself from thinking, to doing, to success. This is not a book glorifying early chronological age, it is a book that proves the power of "thinking young". And it turns out that thinking young is something everyone can do, whether you are 9 or 90. This book will be a catalyst for many, many personal successes. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An inspiring read for anyone starting off or wanting to boost their career to the next level. This book is full of great tips and advice that's usable in day to day life that will ultimately lead to a more creative outlook on your career. Especially the more creative roles where taking a risk could make or break a deal.
Ian Wharton teaches you that mistakes are OK and just like Google and their software Google Wave -that failed miserably- but they learnt from their mistakes and in the process of development had pushed the boundaries of computer science to a new level.
In Chapter 1 he teaches you to 'Embrace the Ridiculous' with the help of a childhood anecdote from his teens where his imagination ran wild and he had nothing holding him back and not a worry in the world. He was asked to do something creative with an owl so rather than ask questions, he just went and got a man who had a couple of owls to see what would happen. It was his first job with two owls, a guy with some camera equipment and a blue screen. They filmed the owl for awhile and used the blue screen to superimpose it onto a website, the owl would sit in the top corner of the website and only every now and again slightly move, making the visitor wonder if it did more or if their eyes were playing tricks on them. In the end they would hang around for a little longer, just to see. In its first month the site had 50,000 unique hits and to top it off the site won a few awards.

Favourite Quotes

"Your choices should never, ever just be about the money. If they are, things are bound to end in tears." - Ian Wharton
"Be cavalier; dare to fail" - Ian Wharton
"Because whats worse than failure, is failure without learning" - Adam Bird
"Perfectionism can stifle creativity" - Nick Park
"Never try to be the best. Instead, try to be second best"- Fashion Designer Paul Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Creatives, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
If you have any creativity in your life or work this is a must. Its a smallish book, but packs a massive punch! I think it will be something that I will read over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it that much, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
I've read this book three times. The second was immediately after the first, I enjoyed it that much. Highly recommended for anyone working in a creative industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Repeat of inspirational material from another viewpoint, 8 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
I was given this book by a friend who said "you're into all this stuff" - it wasn't his thing.

He was right: I love to be amongst inspirational/motivational material of every medium.
From the reality craziness of 'Bashar' to the spiritual views of David Beckworth to the calmness of Eckhart Tolle then to the motivational worlds of Steve Jobs and Tony Robinson. I bounce from one platform to the other. All offer and reveal new insights into ways of being, off releasing self imposed boundaries - socially constructed belief systems. They help reveal the creativity of our minds in a boundless unfolding journey.

Unfortunately, whilst well written, Ian's book didn't offer anything new in this vast arena already profusely inhabited by the greats of creativity. It offered his insight into the creative world he has so far traversed, but there was nothing profound or fresh about his offerings. There was no moment of new resonation for me.

This may be harsh, but why purchase this book over so many other books written by far more successful creators?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity
Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity by Ian Wharton (Paperback - 25 Nov. 2013)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews