Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly inspiring.
Reading this book massively boosted confidence in myself to achieve my dreams, to follow my instincts and helped me learn that age and experience is never guaranteed to beat passion and drive.

Ian is a truly exceptional writer, relating experiences and learnings throughout his remarkable career to 6 essential pieces of advice that every single reader can gain...
Published 14 months ago by Harry Northover

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Repeat of inspirational material from another viewpoint
I was given this book by a friend who said "you're into all this stuff" - it wasn't his thing.

He was right: I love to be amongst inspirational/motivational material of every medium.
From the reality craziness of 'Bashar' to the spiritual views of David Beckworth to the calmness of Eckhart Tolle then to the motivational worlds of Steve Jobs and Tony...
Published 9 months ago by Caroline Queen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly inspiring., 8 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
Reading this book massively boosted confidence in myself to achieve my dreams, to follow my instincts and helped me learn that age and experience is never guaranteed to beat passion and drive.

Ian is a truly exceptional writer, relating experiences and learnings throughout his remarkable career to 6 essential pieces of advice that every single reader can gain something from. Refreshingly, Ian also talks about any mistakes along the way giving you a true, honest insight into a brilliant creative career. In addition there are plenty of interesting insights and stories from leading figures and brilliant innovators showing just how important the principals talked about in Spark For The Fire are.

Unlike other books written on similar topics this is an easy, inspiring read. Whether you are looking for progress in your job, following a dream or simply looking for inspiration, reading this will help you at some point in your career. Every single time you find yourself in doubt or in times of uncertainty, refer back to Spark For The Fire. Remember the 6 essential rules explained by Ian and you can not go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have time to read books these days? You need to find time to read this., 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. Robert Ford (Knebworth, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
I'm like a lot of people these days who buy books and let them collect dust. However, Spark for the Fire became one of those rare books I actually managed to read, cover to cover, and a book I will always keep.

I've never turned the corners down in a book before but this book made me do just that... 15 times! I found some pages to be so inspirational that I had to turn the corners down so I could come back at any time to get that inspiration hit again.

Something I was impressed about the most was the knowledge and writing style of the author, way before his years. Anyone would think you were reading something written by one of the industry's legends... I was consistently blown away by the words of wisdom and thought-provoking words of Ian Wharton, let alone those written by contributions from other top people in the industry.

So, when you next go on holiday, leave your social media world and email behind, get a copy of this book and read it whilst travelling or even on the beach. This is what I did and I returned from holiday buzzing and sparked with renewed energy to make even better things happen in my digital world.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring and empowering read, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
I really recommend this book to anyone who needs a good dose of inspiration and motivation in their career (or anyone who wants to kickstart a career), whether they're in a creative industry or not.

Taken as a whole the book is an uplifting read, but there's also many handy tips and ideas to apply personally and professionally to help push yourself and to help you reconsider your self-worth and desires.

Hopefully Ian will publish more in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare to Fail, 23 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
One of the most inspiring reads this year.

Lucky enough to see Ian at BLAB in Manchester a few years back, his talk inspired me to better myself as a creative and led to me producing my first short film. Years later, Spark for the Fire has done it again.

With insight from Ian's personal/professional journey and accompanied with the wise words from some of the industry's leading creatives, Spark for the Fire shows how having a youthful and fearless approach to creativity can be the most important thing.

Ian's passion for all things creative is infectious, and I am motivated now more than ever to take my career to the next level.

A thoroughly enjoyable and quick read, I cannot recommend this book enough!

Dare to fail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 26 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
This is a quick, easy and inspiring read for anyone who wants to re-/ignite their creativity. Ian is an expert in his field who interviewed his peers in order to relay some fantastic stories, as well as advice. I read the book in one sitting and loved every bit of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Inspiring, 25 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
After reading this book I've never felt more enthusiastic about pressing ahead in the creative field with a new working attitude that anything is possible. I really enjoyed the thought-provoking quotes from inspirational minds of our past and present. The honest account of Ian's professional hurdles and triumphs faced over his career gives great substance to his core messages.

Ian flips traditional logic on its head and throw's innovative ideas right at you which are incredibly refreshing to read. This is a deeply motivating book that any young or experienced creative will benefit from.

Get inspired and read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most inspiring things I read recently, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
What a small little treasure.

This is without a doubt one of the most inspiring and thought provoking things I have read recently. You can read it in 1-2 sessions as it is quite small and it is worth going over certain parts again. It is quite thought provoking and might as well help you move out of that stagnant position or push you to ask yourself if what you are doing is worth it or if you should fight for your passion. Lovely bits about work ethic, play at work, being a polymath and pushing yourself.

The interviews add a lot to the book without distracting from the narrative of the author. Recommended +++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignited, 14 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
Very easy to read, massively inspiring and above all - encouraging. Spark for the fire is a great book for those who are passionate about what they do and who are hungry to push things forward. We live in very exciting times when the opportunity to share and do great things is huge, and Ian's book helps you realise that all you have to do is take it and run with it. Packed with industry insights, fascinating anecdotes and great advice, this book should be on the shelves of all creatives - both young and old.

Read it again and again, it will always give you something fresh to spur you on to great things. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bright-eyed & bushy-tailed, 2 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
This is a must have addition for every single creative graduate out there (or anyone in-fact looking to re-ignite their career).
Keep it in your bag, make notes, highlight sections, fold corners, this is a book to inspire and be used, not just read.

I've read this book multiple times already and still hearing the humble beginnings of some of the big names in the creative industry, and of course along with Ian's current journey, makes me realise once more that anything is possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 13 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity (Paperback)
This fantastic inspirational book by Ian is a must for any creative or creative graduate.
The passion to achieve and succeed is phenomenal, inspiring graduates like myself. Each of the chapters have a great perspective and insight into the industry and Ian's career journey.
Having read this book twice now, the book becomes more powerful each time.
Anything is possible, the world is yours and this book makes you realise that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity
Spark for the Fire: How youthful thinking unlocks creativity by Ian Wharton (Paperback - 25 Nov. 2013)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews