Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The EU in a nutshell
I bought this book on the recommendation of Dan Hannan's blog. I was expecting a rant, to be honest.
I was wrong. It is a complete set of remarks, facts, lists and interesting observations on the European Union (EU). It is, of course, from the p.o.v. of a Eurosceptic, but only a nerd would recognise that.
To be honest, it is the sort of book you need for...
Published on 27 July 2012 by prziloczek

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Interesting subject matter and sheds some light on topics impacting on Britain through the EU. Also frustrating to find out about things in which we, as a nation have no say.
Published 20 months ago by Dawn Bassam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The EU in a nutshell, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The EU in a Nutshell: Everything you wanted to know about the European Union but didn't know who to ask (Hardcover)
I bought this book on the recommendation of Dan Hannan's blog. I was expecting a rant, to be honest.
I was wrong. It is a complete set of remarks, facts, lists and interesting observations on the European Union (EU). It is, of course, from the p.o.v. of a Eurosceptic, but only a nerd would recognise that.
To be honest, it is the sort of book you need for blogging and commenting. It is also the kind of book that teachers would like to have for their lessons (if any) on the EU.
Utterly recommended - but only for people who are really interested in this fascinating subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars E.U., In Nutshell, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The EU in a Nutshell: Everything you wanted to know about the European Union but didn't know who to ask (Hardcover)
If you enjoy debating on the blogs, this is the book to strengthen your argument. There are nothing like facts to shoot down an awkward poster who is talking rubbish. Hardly bedtime reading though, it is serious stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The EU in a Nutshell: Everything you wanted to know about the European Union but didn't know who to ask (Hardcover)
after reading this I am definitely not voting for those in parliament
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infuriating..., 31 July 2012
By 
G. J. Ridler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The EU in a Nutshell: Everything you wanted to know about the European Union but didn't know who to ask (Hardcover)
...but so enlightening. Everyone who ever pays a penny/cent/euro into this organisation should be made to read this book. The people who run the EU make Caligula look like a choir boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The EU in a Nutshell: Everything you wanted to know about the European Union but didn't know who to ask (Hardcover)
Interesting subject matter and sheds some light on topics impacting on Britain through the EU. Also frustrating to find out about things in which we, as a nation have no say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The EU in a Nutshell: Everything you wanted to know about the European Union but didn't know who to ask (Hardcover)
I bought this book hoping that it would increase my knowledge. In actual fact I found the book very disappointing. It is a series of bullet points rather than a coherent narrative. I am afraid I would not recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nightmare in a nutshelll, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The EU in a Nutshell: Everything you wanted to know about the European Union but didn't know who to ask (Hardcover)
Incomprehensible, a litany of bits and bobs as though the primary function of the book was to produce something even more dull than an EU Directive ... David Starkey goes down in my estimations for providing an endorsement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the most boring books I've ever read, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The EU in a Nutshell: Everything you wanted to know about the European Union but didn't know who to ask (Hardcover)
For me, there's hardly anything redeeming about this book. I was hoping for something that would inform me about how the EU was formed, how it's developed and what the positives and negatives are in an interesting way. Instead I got a list of bullet points about pointless rubbish. There's no narrative - just a list of facts, figures and definitions that you forget straight away because you're bombarded with thousands of them that are completely useless to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay away! This is a comic made to look like a book!, 24 Jan 2013
By 
Michael D (Spalding, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The EU in a Nutshell: Everything you wanted to know about the European Union but didn't know who to ask (Hardcover)
I borrowed this book from the local library in the belief that it would give an unbiased overview of how the EU works. How wrong was I! This book is just a disjointed hotch-potch of facts, figures, tables and lists with no readable narrative at all. Every chapter looks much like another, featuring many bullet points, which are rendered as stars, probably to equate them with the stars on the EU flag. The author must have thought he was commissioned to write one of those stocking fillers like 101 Uses for a Dead Cat. This book is utterly pointless. You could spend weeks trying to piece together some semblance of a common thread, but you'd be better off looking for other books on the subject. My recommendation: Stay well away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not to be pedantic... but..., 12 July 2012
This review is from: The EU in a Nutshell: Everything you wanted to know about the European Union but didn't know who to ask (Hardcover)
Lee's big example is that the EU's regulation on the marketing size of hazelnuts (in shell) is 2,509 words. So why does the cover have a picture of a walnut?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The EU in a Nutshell: Everything you wanted to know about the European Union but didn't know who to ask
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews