Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An engrossing, moving read
The first surprise about this book is that it is, considering the subject matter, an easy read. That is not to say it is not incredibly moving - it is - just that you can easily become engrossed and pulled along at speed through the story.
In some respects it is the almost matter-of-fact way some events are related that make them even more harrowing; you get a sense...
Published on 5 Mar. 2010 by N. Thompson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy, could have been 100 pages shorter
Her story is a harrowing one, but unfortunately I thought there was just too much detail on her life before the rise of the Nazis. I appreciate that as the reader we need to have some understanding of the family and friends she would ultimately lose, but there was so much of it. Almost a third of the book devoted to talk of family, school and friendships!

The...
Published 1 month ago by Burner


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An engrossing, moving read, 5 Mar. 2010
By 
N. Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first surprise about this book is that it is, considering the subject matter, an easy read. That is not to say it is not incredibly moving - it is - just that you can easily become engrossed and pulled along at speed through the story.
In some respects it is the almost matter-of-fact way some events are related that make them even more harrowing; you get a sense of the unreal nature of the lives of those concerned.
In The Tin Ring you see the life of a normal girl transformed into something that just cannot be comprehended, yet throughout the book there is a sense of dignity and strength.
A painful story told with grace and clarity. A really great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To find her saviour, 15 Jun. 2011
The Tin Ring is a beautiful, yet harrowing read; but it's a book I guarantee that anyone would struggle to put down, and can be read in one sitting.
The horrific conditions of the death camps of Belsen and their ilk have been numerously accounted for, but the true feeling of lost-love, struggle and hardship--unimaginable to most--has been captured in this truly heart-felt book.
The Tin Ring represents Fantlova's courage and love for two men: both she lost, but, neither ever forgotten. I sincerely hope that she finds her saviour with the publication of this tender and brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring memoir, 19 Jun. 2012
I found The Tin Ring, an extremely moving memoir of Zdenka's survival through six extermination camps and horrors most us will never be able to comprehend, to be truly inspiring.

It is the story of how one woman's love for her boyfriend Arno gave her the will and strength to survive the Holocaust. The symbol of her love was an insignificant little tin ring that he made for her. She kept this tin ring with her throughout the camps even though she risked her life by doing so. As she was being driven by ambulance away from the hell that was Bergen Belsen by the British officer who saved her life she still had the fragile tin ring on a piece of string under the sheet in which she had been wrapped. Though Zdenka survived Arno did not. Zdenka still keeps the tin ring close to her every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Memoir, 10 Mar. 2010
By 
The Tin Ring keeps you hooked from the start through the perfect pacing and incredible story of human endurance and willpower. It is hard to comprehend how Zdenka and others survived such horrors brought upon them. A moving read and I hope Zdenka finds the British soldier or his family to thank them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life-changing tale for author and reader., 11 May 2011
Zdenka Fantlova's account of her experiences following the German occupation of Czechoslovakia is a harrowing, unforgettable portrayal of the nature of human spirit.
Combining love story, historical account and the horrors of the Holocaust The Tin Ring reads beautifully and addictively. The text is split into many sections, creating a reading experience which can be fitted into anyone's hectic life, yet I managed to read it in a single sitting!
A refreshing tale and reminder of the horrors of this part of human history. Pick it up now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Increadible, 3 Mar. 2010
By 
Absolutely loved it. Managed to read the whole book within a few hours. Increadible story, admire Zdenka's strong will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tin Ring, 18 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing story of unimaginable courage told with great ensitivity and with no evidence of bitterness at her treatment or malice against the perpetrators. Very worth while read. Dr Jim Morrison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Facinating Read, 25 April 2010
By 
skiddly (darlington, durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
We dont really appreciate how lucky we are these days, despite ongoing wars in Afghanistan etc etc. Whenn you read the heartbreaking times the Jews had to endure at the hands of the nazis and the horible way they were killed.This book is one of many that serve to remind us of times gone by that should never have been allowed to happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tin Ring, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read quite a few books regarding the concentration camps set up by the Nazis in WW2 and this one held my attention every bit as much. -- especially when Bergen/Belsen turned up as my father was there when that camp was set free. What a remarkably brave woman Zd'enka turned out to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humbling & Inspirational, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst I found this deeply disturbing, it is an honest and very humbling account of an incredibly courageous lady, whose very attitude to life regardless of the horror she lived through leaves me feeling inspired. Everyone should read this book. Thank all that is good that she did survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tin Ring (Love and survival in the Holocaust)
The Tin Ring (Love and survival in the Holocaust) by Zdenka Fantlová (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2012)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews