Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring techniques - `flipping' the way you think and communicate
The Snowball Effect: Communication Techniques to Make You Unstoppable

The Snowball Effect tells you how to capture your market by knowing what will spur absolutely anyone in to action. These, often established sales techniques are repackaged - with added genius by Andy Bounds, then delivered in punchy bites. Put them into practice and you will revolutionize...
Published 19 months ago by Allison Sutherland

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks subtlety -- these techniques could rebound on you
The Snowball Effect works from the premise that communication is designed to cause something to happen. From this basis, Andy Bounds takes you through a breathless set of techniques for making presentations, writing letters, taking interviews, and many other one-to-one and one-to-some workplace situations. If the people you are trying to persuade respond well to this kind...
Published 17 months ago by Martin Turner


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks subtlety -- these techniques could rebound on you, 6 July 2013
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Snowball Effect: Communication Techniques to Make You Unstoppable (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Snowball Effect works from the premise that communication is designed to cause something to happen. From this basis, Andy Bounds takes you through a breathless set of techniques for making presentations, writing letters, taking interviews, and many other one-to-one and one-to-some workplace situations. If the people you are trying to persuade respond well to this kind of approach, and outcomes-based communication is something you haven't tried before, then this book may help you a lot. On the other hand, if your audience is sophisticated and has encountered these techniques before, it may do more harm than good.

Of the four elements of outcomes-based communication -- outcomes, audiences, messages, and delivery -- Andy Bounds is very good on outcomes. This insight on its own is enough to lift business communication for many people who find they are naturally good at some things, but fare badly in others. Everyone knows, for example, that the purpose of a job interview is to get a job, but very few people seem to know what the purpose of a presentation is. At least, like Andy Bounds, I've sat through many which leave me wondering 'what do they want me to do?'

Essentially, this book is about making your communication more outcomes focussed.

In as far as it goes, this is a good thing. However, Bounds's 'wallop' method (for getting senior people to agree to things when you don't have much time) may be far too unsubtle for a lot of senior people. Although some Boards will jump when you demonstrate the dangers of a significant problem which has not occurred to anyone before, others will be wise enough to spot that, just because you've identified the problem, it doesn't mean that your solution is the right one. Worse, unless you know a very great deal about the people you are communicating with, it may be that the problem you are identifying is common knowledge already.

If these techniques either left you ahead or where you were, I wouldn't really have a quarrel with them. However, the very direct, directive approach may close doors for you which subtlety and a better understanding of who you are talking to would have kept open. If your tendency is to beat around the bush too much, then this book will help you. If you are already at times over-assertive, it could be leading you down the wrong paths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring techniques - `flipping' the way you think and communicate, 24 May 2013
The Snowball Effect: Communication Techniques to Make You Unstoppable

The Snowball Effect tells you how to capture your market by knowing what will spur absolutely anyone in to action. These, often established sales techniques are repackaged - with added genius by Andy Bounds, then delivered in punchy bites. Put them into practice and you will revolutionize the way you and your teams accomplish results.

It's not WHAT he tells you - it's HOW he tells you that demystifies the technique of seduction through communication.

Forget about the other books - this is a library of one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't like it... I love it!, 31 July 2013
This review is from: The Snowball Effect: Communication Techniques to Make You Unstoppable (Paperback)
I'm so glad this book was recommended to me I just had to recommend it to others.

So easy to read with a memorable tip or two in virtually every chapter. I'll be implementing many of the techniques straight away and other will be referenced at the appropriate time. Very useful book - keep it close at hand until your momentum is unstoppable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class - will be buying a copy for all my clients, 2 April 2013
This review is from: The Snowball Effect: Communication Techniques to Make You Unstoppable (Paperback)
Andy Bounds' book, The Snowball Effect, is first class. I very rarely say that.

It is a book that you want to devour all at once and yet you also want to absorb it line-by-line.

It is a brilliant extension to his `The Jelly Effect: How to Make Your Communication Stick', a book that is in my top three recommended books! The Snowwball Effect takes his assumptions about effective communication (start with the end in mind, people buy afters, see things through the reader's eyes, sell the benefit, be simple and clear about what you want people to do) and extends these themes.

Bounds has created a series of short chapters each with a precise purpose. This makes the book a great desktop bible to go back to and refer to as each event appears: writing a better email, getting people to act, preparing a better presentation and so forth.

What I like about the book is that
- It is not just another presentation book banging on about using better powerpoint slides
- Bounds' quietly humorous sense of humour comes through without getting in the way
- He appears to talk directly to the reader without being patronising

I do recommend Andy's new book and will be recommending it to all my clients.

Robert Craven
Author, Grow Your Service Firm

PS Having read the book, I have the vaguely irritating feeling that I read it much too quickly. What you need to do is take one idea/chapter (maybe 2-3 pages) and implement and embed it before moving on to the next idea.

PPS I am in no way connected with Andy Bounds and make no financial gain from this review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digestible chapters but lightweight, 22 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Snowball Effect: Communication Techniques to Make You Unstoppable (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There was not much in this book that makes it different from others. It's the same old (GOOD) advice:
1) know yourself
2) know who you are talking to
3) focus on the outcome you want from the conversation
4) know your subject
5) speak clearly using their language patterns and vocabulary for best effect
6) respect people and offer them "outs" so they don't feel silly coming over to your idea

I like that the chapters are short enough so there's not too much repetition. I don't like the over simplification because there's not enough emphasis on how to get your own personal "demons" (bias, fear, lack of confidence, anger, haste, nervousness, insecurity etc) out of the way first so you can really have a proper conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must read, 30 July 2013
This review is from: The Snowball Effect: Communication Techniques to Make You Unstoppable (Paperback)
It is a "must have" title for everyone. It provide a lot of information about effective communication. Very easy to read and divided in to a lot of short chapters. Personally I found it very useful for develop effectiveness of the communication within organisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So helpful ..., 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowball Effect: Communication Techniques to Make You Unstoppable (Paperback)
I am finding this book so helpful because it is well structured and well written and well thought out. Each (short) chapter delivers an astonishing "kick": it really gets to grips with a particular aspect of how to get one's message across. There's nothing airy-fairy about it at all, which is wonderful. It's down-to-earth, hard-hitting, direct; plain spoken. It's possible to pick and choose specific topics; myself, I am working through it chapter by chapter because I am completely convinced it is worth my time and effort to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great content and easy to read, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It does what it says on the cover. What more can you ask for? It is not all original but it is all useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to effective communication that gets people on-board, 23 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Snowball Effect: Communication Techniques to Make You Unstoppable (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It seems as if Mr Andy Bounds is considered a bit of a Communications Guru, there is a plethora of YouTube videos, out there on the internet, were his `charismatic' style seems to deliver the goods, his latest book the `Snowball Effect' is couched in a conversational style. So what is he trying to sell us? I guess he is selling us the ability to influence people to yes more often. In his book he explains how to remove the common frustrations that all seem to run into now and then. His book is well laid out with sections that are short and to the point. These sections also contain a number of visuals that are there to reinforce the message that is being delivered. The techniques he uses are designed to save time and energy, by getting your communicating skills to the point where by people get on your side faster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm........., 27 May 2013
By 
Mr. P. Nagpal (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowball Effect: Communication Techniques to Make You Unstoppable (Paperback)
When you read a book, if you can get a couple of 'immediate' takeaways, then in my opinion, the book has paid for itself. The wallop, up, down, up technique for me was such a great tip that I used it the very next day after reading about it. Lo and behold I got an excellent result from senior execs. Read it..............and implement it............you will not regret it. Great stuff!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snowball Effect: Communication Techniques to Make You Unstoppable
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews