Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, funny and very enjoyable!
I love books like this - full of quirkiness and wacky illustrations that really enhance the readability.

But don't let that mislead you - there is some well thought out, practical business advice and thought-provoking ideas on persuasion, communication and presentation of yourself and your products.

Yes it does take a light-hearted approach but that...
Published on 26 Mar. 2013 by B. Towns

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, positive, but bland
I found this an undeniably positive but rather bland book, offering tips that were a mix of common sense, the pretty obvious and the utterly banal - e.g. "Play to your strengths", "Choose to be positive", "Your mind is beautiful thing. But, oh boy, it's also very complex".

I didn't think it offered anything new, and the design suggests it is a children's book...
Published on 23 Nov. 2012 by The Fisher Price King

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, funny and very enjoyable!, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
B. Towns (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Being Brilliant: Transform Your Life by Doing What Works For You (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love books like this - full of quirkiness and wacky illustrations that really enhance the readability.

But don't let that mislead you - there is some well thought out, practical business advice and thought-provoking ideas on persuasion, communication and presentation of yourself and your products.

Yes it does take a light-hearted approach but that gives the book its charm.

It also makes all the typical stodge one reads on similar topics look badly thought out and badly presented, by comparison.

A quick, easy read - lots of fun and for the price - what's not to like?

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you read only one positive psychology book..., 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...then this should be it. Not quite as OCD as the authors on self development (but definitely in the "enthusiastic amateur" category!) - this is very down to earth and pragmatic book to work from - no weird stuff - other than the "Happy Button" which truly does seem odd first time round but I can tell you does work. This book is spot on for us slightly more cynical Brits.

I used to only have one book I would take onto a desert island (Dangerous Book of Heroes) - this just became my second (if I am allowed two that is).

Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started this book and didn't close it till I had read the whole thing
Some great points and many topics I could relate to!
Definitely a book to recommend....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always avoided this kind if book but was recommended it by a friend. I'm so glad I gave it a go!!! It will inspire you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, positive, but bland, 23 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Art of Being Brilliant: Transform Your Life by Doing What Works For You (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found this an undeniably positive but rather bland book, offering tips that were a mix of common sense, the pretty obvious and the utterly banal - e.g. "Play to your strengths", "Choose to be positive", "Your mind is beautiful thing. But, oh boy, it's also very complex".

I didn't think it offered anything new, and the design suggests it is a children's book (which it is not), especially the illustrations.

Some examples of the sort of thing found inside:

- An invitation to write down twenty things you want to do before you die
- Inspirational quotations (Mark Twain saying "the best way to cheer yourself up is to try to cheer somebody else up", an anonymous source claiming that "the average child laughs about 400 times per day, the average adult laughs only 15 times per day. What happened to the other 385 laughs?')
- Instructions for how to create a "happy button" on your hand that you can press in an emotional emergency
- A story about a performing elephant that won't run away from the circus because it is suffering from "learned helplessness" (a good phrase, but not the authors'; they take it from Martin Seligman, as they readily acknowledge)
- Advice to go on a favourite walk and notice ten things you haven't noticed before.

Undoubtedly some of this could be useful in focusing the mind on more positive thoughts, and the tone of the book is genial and inoffensive, so it is hard to dislike, but it's not likely to make anyone "brilliant" and I dispute the claim on the cover that "humour and wisdom drip from every page". It strikes me as a sane, sensible book but in no way revelatory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Glad Game revisited, 1 Feb. 2013
By 
Lulu (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Art of Being Brilliant: Transform Your Life by Doing What Works For You (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is an anecdote in this book which sums up everything I can't stand about the Pollyanna theory of life: a participant in a life-coaching class asks how she can turn a boring chore (emptying the dishwasher), which she hates, into a positive experience. The answer? "Just be glad you've got a dishwasher!".

Either this sort of thing speaks to you or it doesn't. My answer to the dishwasher-emptying misery would be to accept that some things just are boring chores which you have to get through if you want clean plates, which is why I can't be doing with NLP, nor it with me. I hoped the authors might have a different take on the permanently-beaming attitude to life preached by incorrigible optimists, but no. However, they have produced a friendly and encouraging read with one or two good ideas worth working on - particularly that it's more fun to be brilliant at something than mediocre at everything, the trick being to find out what that something might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Be Brilliant Every Day A Simple Book Packed With Information, 5 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Art of Being Brilliant: Transform Your Life by Doing What Works For You (Paperback)
Give Me The Basics – Be Brilliant Every Day A Simple Book Packed With Information
Be Brilliant Every Day is the follow-up book to Andy Cope and Andy Whittaker to their previous outing The Art of Being Brilliant. The books like previous books offer a great introduction to positive psychology making sure that it can be understood by lots of people. However this book is more about tinkering your actions to have a more positive approach to life.

What Do You Like – Its Fun & Easy Going Style
The book that tries not to take itself too seriously and is written in fun and easy going style. The one thing I have always liked about the Brilliant Series books is the fact you can pick them up they provide a confidence or positivity boost. A simple book packed with lots of information

I've always admired the two Andys as it was Andy Cope who introduced me to the world of positive psychology after he ran a session at my work a few years back. The book works well as it less about positive thinking and more about why we act in certain ways

Give Me The Lowdown On One Concept From The Book – Not Self-improvement But Self-remembering
The book is not about teaching you something new but reminding you what the little voice in your head says to you. The book is less about self-improvement and more about self-remembering. It is about remembering that you are brilliant you just need “start being brilliant a bit more”.

Give Me One Quote From The Book – Call Me The Tinker Man
A quote that I like is about the Tinker Man. I like this quote as I am the kind of person that always tries and tinkers with the way I approach things to improve my process and workflow.

“Chelsea Football Club used to have a manager called Claudio Ranieri, affectionately known as ‘The Tinker Man’. He kept tweaking the team, looking for small improvements.

And I guess this book is similar. It’s for the tinkerers – the ones who dare to tweak and change things about themselves in the quest to be better. It’s also for those who’ve read other personal development books and found them too earnest, difficult, pious or simple. It’s for those who want to seize the moment, who are not afraid of hard work and who refuse to snuggle down on the wonderfully inviting bed of excuses”

What Do You Rate The Book?
5 Stars

Do not be put off as it is about positive psychology. Positive psychology both in your home life but also in your workplace has been proven to have a positive benefit. Not only to yourself and your team but also the company you work for. As previously said a simple book packed with lots of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, 14 Nov. 2012
By 
C M Cotton "Chris Cotton" (Europe and USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Art of Being Brilliant: Transform Your Life by Doing What Works For You (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am a serial entrepreneur, a University lecturer in both Russia and the USA and an international business and peak performance consultant. As such I am used to reading a plethora of business, motivational, peak performance, coaching, team building psychology type of books. In fact I have enough books at home, on these subjects, to sink several ships. So my comments on this poor book are based upon real and theoretical personal development experience.

This book is an easy read and gets straight to the point. Whilst the content is an amalgamation of a lot of other books I have read, I have not read a book that delivers so much, in such a concise way, in a long time. The aim of the book is in essence to get the reader to think positively about their lives and what happens to them. It tries to get readers to "reframe" what happens to them and to see things in a positive way. It uses anecdotes to illustrate the most important points which make the process of change easier to understand. It gives the reader insights into how other people/personalities can impact upon their own happiness and so affect your own brilliance. It offers sound solutions and good advice on how to fix negativity. This is a very good and thoughtful book, which should help anyone who reads it to think and act in a more positive driven way.

For me the definitive book on mind dynamics is by Maxwell Maltz, Psychocybernetics. This book looks at how the mind works and how to reprogramme it for success. Maltz wrote his book in the 1960's and it is still the definitive guide to changing how a person views their world. The Art of Being Brilliant uses ideas present in Maltz's work, but makes how to use the ideas, much more clear and accessible. So if you want to change your life and develop a more optimistic mind frame, try reading this book as I am sure it will help.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mildly patronising 'positive thinking' advice, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
H Jackson (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of Being Brilliant: Transform Your Life by Doing What Works For You (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The first quote on the first page of this book from publisher Capstone (from Paul McGee, who is also a Capstone author) describes the book as 'irreverent, inspiring and engaging.'

Unfortunately, I found the book to be 'patronising, facile and disappointing.'

On the Contents page, we have some cute diagrams/pictures describing what each chapter is about. For example, the chapter about 'Fishing for life' has a child-like image of a stick man fishing. Chapter 2 about 'Shiny happy people' has three stick people who are all smiling. This is all well and good, but I did find that the advice within the book was delivered in a similarly childish manner too.

The book is supposedly full of short, clever stories (akin to business parables) and inspiring quotes. You might be the kind of person who likes books written by authors who write stories about their personal trials and tribulations (eg running training courses that didn't go well, having conversations with children, or even their own recollections of life when they were themselves children). Unfortunately, I'm sorry that I didn't find the stories inspiring and instead found them distracting from the sometimes good points that the authors could otherwise have made.

DO read this book if you're a fan of inspiring quotes and pithy stories or if you like NLP-type books.

DON'T read this book if you like more scientific wisdom (eg of the Richard Wiseman 59 Seconds: Think a little, change a lot type) or if you think that NLP is a bit hokey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watch Bill & Ted's for a better, 12 Feb. 2013
By 
C. Verspeak "f*" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Being Brilliant: Transform Your Life by Doing What Works For You (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have read a fair few self-help or self-development titles. I'm sorry to say this one felt pretty weak.

Essentially the book says 'stop worrying about money and success and start being nice to yourself and those around you'. Yep, its that wooly. Very little practical advice or reasoning as to why or how you should do these things. It has been described as a 'pep-talk in your pocket' and thats probably about right. Its a quick pick me up, just a few thoughts to motivate you at the coffee break perhaps, not really enough for serious study or to stimulate serious changes in life patterns.

The fact the book starts with a gushing foreword from another writer, one the authors of this book have similarly evangelised, makes it feel like a nepotistic circle of self-helpers.

Not great then, but ok for a few minutes of positivity maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Being Brilliant: Transform Your Life by Doing What Works For You
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Be Brilliant Every Day
Be Brilliant Every Day by Andy Cope (Paperback - 25 April 2014)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (62)   
Buy new£5.22
In stock

The Art of Being a Brilliant Teenager
The Art of Being a Brilliant Teenager by Andy Cope (Paperback - 24 Oct. 2014)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11)   
Buy new£5.22
In stock

The Art of Being a Brilliant Teacher: 1
The Art of Being a Brilliant Teacher: 1 by Andrew Cope (Paperback - 15 Oct. 2012)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7)   
Buy new£8.25
In stock