Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your digital ambitions...
Writing a book about setting up a digital business must be almost as difficult as writing one about the Internet - it's such a moving target, literally evolving every day, that by the time your book hits the shelves half the information in it could be redundant. This book does better than most by sticking with some tried and tested business principles, which never go out...
Published 23 months ago by techpuppy

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars INFORMATIVE BUT A LITTLE FLAWED
`I woke up one morning and decided to start up an online business'.

The book is readable, has lashings of pretty meaningless quotations from various CEO's that are used to try and back the authors' points and a number of exercises with questions such as `what values would you teach your children' to `where is the pulse of the industry?'

This book has...
Published on 12 July 2012 by Helpless


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll up your sleeves & get to work, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Jayne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Digital Business Start-Up Workbook: The Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Succeeding Online from Start-Up to Exit (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you have the inspiration for a digital business and are ready to get your hands dirty with some hard graft, this is the book for you.

This is, as it says, a workbook and the clue is in the name: it's not a reference book to dip into, but one packed with tasks for you to work through in a methodical and structured way.

As well as timeless business principles needed for any business - on-line or off-line - the book also covers areas specific to the digital world. Of course any book that's printed in the ever-changing online world will be out of date in one respect or another before it hits the shelves, but this book is still very good.

The book contains worthwhile lessons for all entrepreneurs, whether you've recently started a digital business or have a burning ambition to do so. Depending on your background and experience, some aspects covered in the book will be familiar - and will therefore validate what you've already done or give you a shove to tweak what you're already doing - whilst others will give insights into what still needs to be done.

If you're at the point where you need to focus on your business idea in order to bring it to market, or you've already done so but are looking for guidance, this workbook will help you take a comprehensive approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And what you give is what you get......, 22 Sep 2012
By 
T. Satchwell (A Tower in the Heart of London.......) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Digital Business Start-Up Workbook: The Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Succeeding Online from Start-Up to Exit (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have reached a point in my life/career...where I would like to do my own thing.....not great timing with the world recession .....but it doesn't seem to stop people queuing up at six in the morning for their new 500 quid iphone. So there must still be a market for a digital business!!
Nobody could ever write the "perfect" guide to starting a business...I have read mixed reviews about this book...I think it has a balance between some basic business grounding rules...which lets' face it...you do need to know about and understand...and information and guidance for setting up in the digital world.
Not wishing to be Dragons Den here..but having a great idea is one thing....getting it to make money and become a going concern is another thing.
Useful addition to your non digital....library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for those who are new to business making in the digital realm, 5 Sep 2012
By 
roses (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Digital Business Start-Up Workbook: The Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Succeeding Online from Start-Up to Exit (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a profession I work in the realms of digital business, so the topic naturally interested me. This book is ideally suited for those who require hand holding when it comes to starting a new business that runs online. Bear in mind as suggested in the title, this is a 'Workbook' that requires input from you, it merely exists to inspire and encourage you to build upon your own ideas.

This book was very easy to read front to back and I was pleased to see that there was no overuse of business jargon, making it suitable for beginners. The information is narrated with the author speaking to you, almost like as though you are sitting in a lecture, so naturally it was quite easy to follow. It takes you on a journey from the beginning where your ideas are born, to taking practical steps to make your business very real. This includes where to get financial help, how to run things logistically, marketing suggestions in order to sustain and grow your business, to selling your business when you have successfully made it.

The guide really forms as a basis for a framework to building your business from the beginning, it will tell you what you will need to consider as you progress, but I would suggest further reading and research for each topic at hand. For example it briefly describes what is involved in formulating a business plan, but having written business plans before, I know for a fact that there are whole books dedicated to just writing this and how complicated it can be. Or for example it discusses the technologies required to build websites and mobile apps, again as part of my profession, I know that doing this yourself requires substantial technological know-how, unless you are willing to outsource. It is a step to step style guide which outlines what you should be doing and thinking at each milestone, and ideally forms as a basis of starting points for you to pursue in detail as your business grows.

Only downside is that I felt that book really focused on e-commerce, selling physical products, and less on digital/software services which I believe should have had equal footing. A lot of the case studies featured throughout was to do with selling products, revolving around the same companies, such as MoonPig, NakedWines and KiddiCare to name a famous few. For someone who provides services digitally, I found that the marketing side of things much more relevant towards the end of the book, resources and advice on how to get exposure digitally.

Many of you will know that things move incredibly quickly when it comes to digital. This book is still relevant and current, and talks about the latest Google update Panda. One of the best things I found about this guide is the number of resource suggestions and free tools you could use in order to aid analysis of your marketing and conversion rates, as well as tips on beta testing. There are many tools available which can be overwhelming to a beginner, but this book does suggest tools which I have come across in my profession, and this will a help a great deal in pointing some individuals to get the best data out of their business.

This is a brilliant guide as a basic framework which will help you formalise your ideas into something more concrete, but you will still need to do further reading into different areas as your business grows. For someone who is just thinking about venturing into digital business, this guide will roughly entail what will be involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful guide, 12 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. A. C. Thorne (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Digital Business Start-Up Workbook: The Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Succeeding Online from Start-Up to Exit (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The idea of starting ones own business is particularly attractive in its online incarnation at this time when so many people are struggling to make ends meet in their normal jobs or business activities. This guide makes some positive and attractive assumptions about starting a business chief amongst which is the assumption that a business should be a vehicle which serves the purpose of carrying the owner from one state of personal economics to a stronger place at which the vehicle should be traded in or sold on - so to speak.
It is true that the general model suggested in the book does not really account for the SME (as suggested by another reviewer), however the basics can be applied to these smaller operations and indeed the principles are well founded.
Very well written, this book will help any entrepreneur to achive greater success in their future endeavours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful if not essential, 26 July 2012
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Digital Business Start-Up Workbook: The Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Succeeding Online from Start-Up to Exit (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book sounds good - who, setting up a digital business wouldn't want to have a step-by-step guide through the process. Unfortunately, it's not quite what you might expect. A large part of the book deals in generalities about setting up any kind of business - have a good idea, test viability, business plan etc. Then the specifics of realising a digital business are dealt with very much from an established business perspective - employing agencies, team building, handling venture capitalists and so on.

The advice given is never specific enough to be particularly useful. When I set up my digital business, whilst I had a fair bit of business planning experience, the information I craved was firstly, who did I need to help me, then where would I go to find a web designer, what a developer did, where to find one, how much to pay these people, when to look to employ your own, IP assignment and protection, sample contracts, NDAs and so forth. Then I needed to get my presentation, plan and teaser document to a certain standard. This sort of information just isn't in this book, or if it is, it's covered in so much generality or assumption of scale as to be of no help. It would be good if, just once, one of these 'promise the world' books actually showed you a VC standard presentation, teaser, told you what you needed to know about writing an NDA and what clauses to insist on, against which ones you can happily bat away. It's as if the sleeves-rolled up stuff is too down and dirty for them to bother, yet this is what start-ups need in my experience and you won't find it here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 24 July 2012
By 
Russell G. Pottinger (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Digital Business Start-Up Workbook: The Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Succeeding Online from Start-Up to Exit (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A really in depth book this one. So many people have good ideas and then never do anything with them, and hopefully this book will take someone from a little home job idea to something they can do full time.

This book will take you from your original idea, through what type of business model you want (lots of different examples so you can choose which one matches your idea) and then takes you through the whole website creation, building business contacts, learning how to market your idea and hopefully making money.

The best thing about this book is the many examples and suggestions from people who have created their own businesses. You are almost guaranteed to find something that matches your business plan and then can take the best ideas and use them on your own company. Very useful and very up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay for the basics., 30 July 2012
By 
Max (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Digital Business Start-Up Workbook: The Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Succeeding Online from Start-Up to Exit (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you're interested in the idea of starting your own digital business then this step-by-step guide can provide you with many of the answers to a quite perplexing venture, but a helpful starting point is about all it is. However it should be noted that this book is aimed at those who intend to build a SME online business with staff, not those who wish to work on their own to create a small venture.

Each chapter broadly covers many areas which you would then need, in turn, to research more thouroughly somewhere else. Ideas such as building your own apps, building your website, funding your venture do little to explain the details of each but rather give you a basic idea of what you should be aiming for. In truth many people would be able to have a guess at many of the tips and pointers on offer. It sadly doesn't give you enough on the real key areas or even where to look to get more information. For example, designing a website, particularly a retail one, to a high standard involves a lot of work and expertise. Many people don't have that expertise and would need to outsource the work, it would have been benificial to include what to ask for from website companies, how to find the best one etc. App creation is another area that would likely to outsouced.

Once you get onto the chapter on 'building your team' you realise just how brisk the steps in this guide are. From getting a website made to hiring a team of workers from India!? This gives you an idea of just how broadly this book speaks, we're not talking week-by-week here.

Important areas such as marketing aren't given nearly enough information. This side of a business is most crucial to get right but again the amount of specific information on a given topic (like SEO) is not nearly enough.

It's a good book to get started with but frankly you're going to need a lot more information to feel you're on the right track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and methodical workbook for digital start-ups, 23 July 2012
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Digital Business Start-Up Workbook: The Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Succeeding Online from Start-Up to Exit (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Digital Business Start-up is a practical and methodical work-book to take you through the on-line and off-line aspects of setting up an online business. Much of the substance of it is similar to Start Your Own Business 2012, but there is enough extra focused on online and digital issues to make this a better choice for the digital start-up. Although it is well supported with case studies, such as Naked Wines, the book is not as fun to read as some. The choice of American spelling is slightly annoying, especially since this is a UK-centric book with an introduction by the UK digital czar Martha Lane Fox.

The assumption behind this book is that you have a firm handle on part of your digital business idea, but are not necessarily as aware of the other aspects. For this reason, whichever bit happens to coincide with your expertise will seem ridiculously simplistic. However, the rest will be crucial information without which your business will not thrive. For the most part this is bread and butter stuff about business plans, marketing, accounting, and so on, but given the number of start-ups which go to the wall despite a promising idea because of failures in these areas, this book may make all the difference. It is especially aimed at the more ambitious kind of start-ups that really expect to become quite significant quite quickly, and the case studies and examples are largely drawn from these kind of businesses. If your aspirations are more modest, you may found this a little overwhelming.

Now five months into a business start-up, I can't get as excited about this book as I did about Start Your Own Business 2012, which told me what I needed to know at the moment I most needed it. I'm sure, though, that if I had found this book rather than that book at that point, I would now be raving about it. As a comparison, The Digital Business Start-Up Workbook covers more material because it has sections specifically relevant to its sector, but Start Your Own Business 2012 is an easier read and is better laid out.

Nonetheless, if you are thinking of starting up in digital, this is a good book to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A logical book trying to do too much in one volume, 19 July 2012
By 
Mr. Richard The book boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Digital Business Start-Up Workbook: The Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Succeeding Online from Start-Up to Exit (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Digital Business Start Up workbook

I use online services all the time and will always be looking for ways of developing and fine tuning the services I provide in my Design business.

This book is a good starting point for those with or looking for an entry into the digital business market. It covers converting existing ideas and generating new ones ready for a digital audience.
The chapters are logical with examples and reflective exercises to do on your own business or business idea, this is great as it makes you think about what you are trying to achieve and importantly why. The book is punctuated with lots of quotes from famous and not so famous business people which you might find inspiring or just plain annoying, depends on your point of view and what you are looking for really. I have heard most of them before so nothing new for me here.

What this book does teach you is to be aware of the logic of business and how it works so that you can turn your own idea into a process and achieve goals, it's very good for that. Where I find it lacking is in detail especially on software. The concepts are covered well but there are no suggestions of how to port your business onto the web. Perhaps I am asking far too much of one book ? but what it does do is show the potential and offer analysis of the idea you have and how to present it to a digital World. Other books show you how to implement it. Don't expect this book to explain search engine optimisation or how to take credit cards online but it does make you aware of these issue that are so important to an online/digital business.

A good book trying to achieve everything and largely does so except in the detail. However, anyone not familiar with porting a business online could do worse than read this first. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want to understand and / or exploit the digital age?, 17 July 2012
By 
Dr. I. Cox "ian_cox9" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Digital Business Start-Up Workbook: The Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Succeeding Online from Start-Up to Exit (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
THE DIGITAL BUSINESS START- UP WORKBOOK
CHERYL RICKMAN (CAPSTONE 2012)

Have you ever wondered how companies like GOOGLE (and other "free" sites) make their money or had an idea which you felt sure would be a winner - if only you could do it from home with minimal equipment and funds.
Whilst there are many small business start up books dealing with formulating an idea, through to a business plan, to funding and general running onto growth and possible selling on of the mature business, this book is targeted at what is required to create businesses purely "online" - whether via traditional internet (computer) or any digital access unit like phones, iPads etc.
The digital age has revolutionised how many items are now sold direct to customers whether it is goods, services, contacts etc etc. The list is nearly endless. Lower cost, better service, unique offerings are all possible USP's (Unique Selling Points) for a digital business
The author provides checklists and exercises for all stages of the process and provides quotes / insights from successful entrepreneurs. She also covers the unique "digital" areas like domains, web pages, intellectual property protection
In case this sounds too much like an advertising blur b , I (Aged 62 , currently unemployed and seeking new opportunities) obtained this book( albeit free) via Amazon Vine.
So far I have some possible ideas for evaluation. The nice thing about the workbook is the step by step approach / check list. There is no guarantee that a business will succeed but this book covers most (if not all) of the areas to be considered to avoid failure. Various business (tried and tested) models are described - it is daunting that it is not just simple competitors but the activities like other internet giants like Google (TM) and changes in technology which can upset a business relying on revenue from "pay per click" referrals.
Basically she emphasises the dynamic nature of the market - rapid response, honest and detailed customer service, are all critical.
Whether you are just interested to understand how these digital markets work or you have an idea that you must commercialise , this book give the basic essentials to be considered and examples of those who have made it and how. Most importantly the possible pitfalls are highlighted but, without making some mistakes none of these entrepreneurs would have succeeded.
Not everyone will become a millionaire.in the new digital age ..... but will it be me or you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews