Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A recommended read
This newly published 200-page handy sized book is the latest in a 6-strong series by the Management Guru John Adair - famous for his Action Centred Leadership theories. Divided into 6 themed sections, each `Idea' is written over 1 or 2 pages, liberally sprinkled (perhaps too much so) with quotations and interspersed with `self-tests'.
Part One - `Getting Your Act...
Published on 29 May 2011 by Paulo MS

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial and banal advice, padded out with unhelpful quotations...
This book is frustrating. The central concept is strong, who can resist the promise of 100 ideas that could make you more successful? Sadly, the information supplied is superficial and banal. It reads more like a collection of the author's favourite quotations than a book on self development. We are informed that 'The journey is the reward', 'If you cannot smile, do not...
Published on 6 May 2011 by S. P. Moses


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A recommended read, 29 May 2011
By 
Paulo MS (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: John Adair's 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This newly published 200-page handy sized book is the latest in a 6-strong series by the Management Guru John Adair - famous for his Action Centred Leadership theories. Divided into 6 themed sections, each `Idea' is written over 1 or 2 pages, liberally sprinkled (perhaps too much so) with quotations and interspersed with `self-tests'.
Part One - `Getting Your Act Together' is somewhat disappointing but thereafter, as Adair slots into familiar ground, the text becomes better interspersed with good practical ideas. Of course, `ACL' makes a showing as does `Non-Verbal Communications', `The Pareto Principle' and `Time Management'. But however familiar these themes, the book does act as a useful primer for the newcomer to management and a refresher for the established practitioner. A recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and informative, 8 May 2011
By 
Mr. Richard The book boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: John Adair's 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are lots of books on how to do better in life but this book is different because its by John Adair and many top management schools use his ideas. The book works like a coure if you read it cover to cover or a reference to dip into to find out John's opinion on a business topic. The book contains many items of wisdom for the small and medium business owner. There are some self help exercises and advice on everything from planning to money matters. He deals with communication and where to find the energy and time to start or run a business, this was very interesting and linked with the sections on leadership have chnaged my view on how to get things done. This book represents a good introduction to the thinking and teachings of John Adair and would be useful for anyone in business or on a business course. It is also a good book to do some self reflection with by doing the exercises in many of the topics, I found a few holes in my thinking and time management by doing them. Take this book as an introduction to John Adair and then follow it up with his more indepth books. All in all an enjoyable and useful read. I've only given it 4 stars because much of the content is repeated in other books on leadership and management but that's only my personal opinion (I read lots of management and business books) but in this book you have everything to get started in looking at yourself and your business in a more critical way and that's no bad thing in our very competitive World!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Quick Reference, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. T. Newton "Sassy Brit" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Adair's 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Management Guru John Adair supplies 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success over 200 pages, that's one or two pages per 'idea', with an introductory part one, 'Getting your act together', was split into three sections, which added up to thirty ideas and a follow up test at the end.

Part two was a bit more fun, which included greatest ideas for 'Using your time to good effect', which included things like principle ideas for planning, time-saving, and prioritising. Although many were familiar ideas for me, rather than new (which is probably down to the huge amount of books in this genre I've read) I did enjoy it. It's a quick read, and can be picked up and read at any point in the book. Ideal if you're a busy person and lack time - the very thing this book teaches you to save!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial and banal advice, padded out with unhelpful quotations..., 6 May 2011
By 
S. P. Moses (Epsom, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: John Adair's 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is frustrating. The central concept is strong, who can resist the promise of 100 ideas that could make you more successful? Sadly, the information supplied is superficial and banal. It reads more like a collection of the author's favourite quotations than a book on self development. We are informed that 'The journey is the reward', 'If you cannot smile, do not open your shop today' and 'Once bitten, twice shy.' Any book that quotes proverbs immediately loses my respect.

The sayings of famous figures are invoked, but they never deepen the vague advice on offer. We are told we should trust people, be enthusiastic and work hard. This book lacks practical examples of how these habits have brought success to anyone. You would be better off reading Dale Carnegie's How to Win Friends and Influence People. Though dated, at least that book is entertainingly written.

I was marginally more impressed by the section on effective leadership. Once again, concrete case studies would have helped the reader. Instead, on the subject of motivation we are informed, 'You do not need to urge on an obedient horse'. Idea 81 outlines the different types of meetings: briefing, advisory, council, committee and negotiating. I found this idea interesting. Equally, I salute anyone who encourages the reader to question whether a meeting is necessary. On the other hand, surely the need to follow a meeting with action points is obvious? Maybe it needs repeating.

100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success promises you 100 great ideas, however some of the 'ideas' are actually checklists, which I think leaves the reader short changed. I can only recommend this book if are new to the self development field. If you fit this bill I would suggest you investigate 50 Self-help Classics: 50 Inspirational Books to Transform Your Life from Timeless Sages to Contemporary Gurus, or 50 Success Classics: Winning Wisdom For Work & Life From 50 Landmark Books. These books will introduce you to the original thinkers in this field. They are engagingly written, so you'll have fun while you learn many new concepts in a short space of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from John Adair, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Astore Stargazer (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: John Adair's 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When it comes to personal success and leadership, John Adair is undoubtedly the benchmark. As a manager of government department, I actively participated on a chartered management institute diploma, this is where I first came across the name John Adair. This book is purely based on ideas for personal success that can be of practical use in most lines of management and leadership roles. The book is broken down into different aspects such as communication, leadership, thinking skills to name but a few. Each section is excellent and extremely well reasoned out and beautifully conceived.

The books also contains a further 50 tips and tricks to make you more effective in all aspects of your daily work, this helped me shape my own effectiveness as well as fully grasping the art of effective delegation. I could go on and on, but if you're not a fan of self help books on the basis they promise lots and offer little, you must give this one a try as it down plays the benefits of reading it. John Adair's leadership principles are applied to a range of leadership roles from the private sector to even military establishments. I can't praise his work enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring..., 14 Aug 2012
By 
Neil Goodacre - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Adair's 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm usually a fan of self-help books. They're usually easy to read and often make you feel good about your future prospects, even if only temporarily. This was easy-enough to read, but didn't really seem to say anything. Never once did I have one of those "why didn't I see it was this easy before" sort of moments. That's not say it won't have something for some people and the other review on here speak volumes, but like the other two star reviews, I found the whole thing a bit banal and middle-of-the-road.

I'll confess and say I didn't finish it. I probably didn't even get half way through it and can't remember anything specific about it that made me dislike it. But then, that's just it - I don't remember anything specific about it.

For what it's worth, I'd recommend Earn More, Stress Less: How to Attract Wealth Using the Secret Science of Getting Rich - Your Practical Guide to Living the Law of Attraction as my favourite self-help book and probably the one more than other that has shaped how I approach things. Adair's book, sadly, just didn't do that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, 21 April 2012
By 
Helen "Stratton" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: John Adair's 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success (Paperback)
This book was a bit of a disappointment. There is very little insight or exploration of what it takes to be successful. What is there is surface level common sense advice. A little more depth, analysis and exploration would have been good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great leadership book, 16 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book, full of good ideas. Presentation is perfect as it is full of lists and diagrams, not lots of texts. If you are in the business of management and leadership at any level in any profession, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not Good, 20 May 2011
By 
C. M. Cotton "Chris Cotton" (Europe and USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Adair's 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have read 100's of success book across the years, as you will see from my other reviews. This book has to be one of the worst I have read.

Each idea is given a quote or two and a brief description about the idea. Very often what Adair gives you is a common-sense idea without very much description on how to achieve it. It reads more like a check list of good ideas than a substantial read on how to achieve success. For me here is the problem. To achieve success most readers will already know most of the 100 ideas, what they may lack are the strategies for achieving these ideas. This book is not a strategy book. The descriptions don't really tell you "How To" achieve anything.

The best book I have read recently is John Maxwell's Road Map to Success. If you are looking at a "How To" type of success book, my advice is buy this book by Maxwell. Adair's book has its uses, if all you want is a brief list of things you should be doing. If you require information on how to achieve greater success buy another book such as the Roadmap to Success, it will be money better spent. Based upon this book, I would not even consider buying another book in the series.

Not recommended for the more serious student of self help and success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success, 4 May 2011
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: John Adair's 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In `100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success' John Adair gives us another slice of his business/leadership ideas in an easily digested format.

This is divided up into five parts, each with numerous chapters that cover the topics explored. This looks at ideas to find your vocation in life, how to get on with people, success qualities, ideas for time management and planning, leadership skills, communication skills (including how to run an effective meeting), thinking skills and more besides.

Most ideas include an inspirational quote, idea or excerpt from a well known leader, businessman or expert in their field. It also has regular follow up tests so you can see how well you are absorbing the ideas on offer.

John Adair is highly respected in his field and having read other books by him I can say this one is just as interesting and engaging. It has plenty of ideas you can implement immediately and others you can work on over a longer period to improve your day to day business and personal relationships.

This is good to read from cover to cover or to dip into at odd moments and you could easily leave this on your desk to browse through when you need a boost or quick word of inspiration.

Overall this is a very good business book that has plenty to offer those who want to go the extra mile and work their way up the ladder of success, whatever the word success may mean to you.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Adair's 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success
John Adair's 100 Greatest Ideas for Personal Success by John Adair (Paperback - 4 Mar 2011)
10.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews