Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2013
What a great book; so easy to read and so easy to understand.

The first part provides a simple guide to finding what it is you want to do in a manner that is as structured as any directly focused self-help book. The rest provides solid matter of fact advice for the novice entrepreneur or aide-memoir for those who have a little business experience.

Roberts's narrative is not a pushy read; he provides examples that are real, readily understood, tangible and honest: Honest as the book is not embarrassed to say making money is good for the purpose of social benefit.

A great book and an easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an excellent little book.

I am involved in the running of a Social Enterprise and am a consultant to other Social Enterprises and finally this quiet and often overlooked movement seems to be coming of age.

Creating a business that does not only measure itself on wealth but on social capital is the essence of this book, as the author says you can still make money and change the world at the same time.

This is a short review, but the book has a long lasting impact, and is thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 September 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Robert Ashton is an entertaining speaker and unconventional thinker - the kind of man you want to write a book. His text explains the concept of social entrepreneurship with short anecdotes and friendly quotations. I would say it's a great companion work to Andrew Mawson's The Social Entrepreneur. Robert goes into the technical stuff and the questions you have to ask yourself before you take up the challenge of doing good and making money, Andrew provides the inspiration of a specific case-study.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 December 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I loved this book.

It was so nice to read about the subject of philanthropy, with the business spin. There's no need to feel guilty about combining work....and good doings.

The Body Shop (which isn't mentioned but could very easily have been) was originally created with more than just good skin in mind, and Anita Roddick championed many causes.

This book covers those types of scenarios using Cadbury's, Bob Geldof, Jamie Oliver and The Respect Group as examples.

A product/service, and a vision.

It starts with little suggestions and goes onto to asking the sort of BIG questions YOU need to answer if you want to fulfill the titles promise. Robert covers everything possible from building the business plan, to the team and money without ignoring the personal qualities needed to achieve the goal.

The writing style is easy to understand, to comprehend and enjoy. Great book:)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
What a breath of fresh air to find this book. After months of surfing the net, phone calls, networking and pestering the local business 'experts' - I find everything I need to know in the pages of this fab book! Setting up a social enterprise is a daunting prospect with its complex legal structures - but Robert Ashton simplifies it and brings all that mind boggling stuff together and explains in it simple terms - and if I can my head round it - anyone can. The new species that is the Social Entrepreneur is given a chance to succeed and grow into what is the future of business with the help of this brilliant little book. Thank you so much for writing it Robert - you rock!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
Such a big subject but really easy to read and understand. Very helpful and well structured. Well worth the money
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
I found the book helpful with really useful links but focused perhaps too much on the ideology for me. I found the book lacking in business basics but useful non the less. Its a good book but not as much of a one stop shop as I had hoped. I certainly don't regret buying it though and suspect it will be a useful book for future reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Brilliant books from start to finish. I thought it would be the usual gobbldegook about positive thinking and making an impact, but this book covers everything from legal structures to day-to-day management, and makes writing mission statements, business plans and sales pitches easy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
There were too many examples of companies and what they do but relatively little about how they did it. The book seems to me to be an example of social entrepreneurship in itself - money hopefully going to a good cause.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
I set up my social enterprise 6 months ago and have found this book to be extremely interesting and inspirational
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)