Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for long journeys or boring afternoons.
Fantastic fun rhyming book for toddlers, the rhythm of words flows easily and is a wonderful introduction to rhyme for young children. Guaranteed to be a hit, with hilarious illustrations, cute aliens and all kinds of pants being used as slides, flags, hats. Not sure who enjoys it more-my son or me!
Published on 24 July 2007 by Dawn

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For 5 years plus
This is a lovely bright soppy book that children of 5+ will love.They will giggle at the unmentionable word 'underpants' and have great fun matching up underpants with members of their own family. A real fun book, have a camera ready to capture those uncontrollable giggles!
Published on 8 Feb 2009 by Pixi


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for long journeys or boring afternoons., 24 July 2007
By 
Fantastic fun rhyming book for toddlers, the rhythm of words flows easily and is a wonderful introduction to rhyme for young children. Guaranteed to be a hit, with hilarious illustrations, cute aliens and all kinds of pants being used as slides, flags, hats. Not sure who enjoys it more-my son or me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good "clean" fun, 31 Mar 2008
By 
Richard Kelly (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Basically this book can be summed up as "Aliens come to earth and play with underpants, then they leave." We get a nice rhyming story and glorious pictures of Alien's playing with smalls. My 4 year old boy giggles the whole way through the story as he thinks it's very funny. It's good, it's fun, the story is nice, the pictures are great. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny book for kids, 27 Oct 2007
What is there not to like about a weird kids book about aliens and underpants? It's got funny, rhythmic sentenses and I can see why it was voted the best book of Richard and Judy's 2 - 6 year-old's collection. It really is a must have for a child you know and care about!
Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 3 Jun 2008
By 
W. Dixon (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Purchased this for class of 3-5 yr olds to link in with topic on Outer Space. The children love the title and laughed from the start. It's great to be able to introduce sometimes taboo subjects like "pants" to little ones in such a light hearted way. We had great discussions about which of the pants pictured they thought our staff members might be wearing. Their answers were hilarious. Weeks after we read it the children are still quoting from it and recalling what the aliens were doing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's very silly and colourful - and irresistible therefore to small boys....., 4 Dec 2007
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
It may not be mind-enhancing literature but my boys (3 & 5) love to laugh about underwear and this combination of pants and silly creatures from outer-space is guaranteed to hit the spot. In smooth rhyming text, aliens fly down to earth and steal knickers from washing-lines having some sport along the way.
Each double page is a great big picture and one short verse of text such as: "They like them red, they like the green, or orange like satsumas.
But best of all they love the sight of Granny's spotted bloomers."
The humour is bright and bold (for the 2-5s) with a mention of Mum's pink frilly knickers, aliens wearing pants on their heads and other foolish or funny things.
The illustrations are a perfect accompaniment, also bright and bold, with lots of interesting things to point out - colourful aliens of all shapes and sizes, details such as a UFO "hotpants" bumper sticker, an alien hiding in an underwear drawer and so on. There are also many different designs of pants and knickers on a final double page after the story is concluded, and it's surprising how long my three-year old will spend choosing a colour and pattern for every friend and family member. And he thinks it is very funny to choose daisy pants for his brother and pirate pants for Grandad....
Other than this last page loitering, however, `Aliens Love Underpants' is a simple quick read and one that all preschool children will enjoy. And if you find underwear to be an inspiring topic for your little one, then try Andreae & Sharratt's Pants (and the sequel "More Pants". No, I'm not joking) for the same age group which is less wordy, with strong rhythm and rhyme, varied and inspiring pictures, and it endures the text of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant kids intro to the power of underwear, 20 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hilarious story about aliens coming down to earth to steal everyone's fanciest and best from washing lines. Excellent rhyming story which had me and the sock-biter in stitches. Watch out for the detail in the underwear in the illustrations. Well put together package which came top in the recent Richard and Judy programme on kids reading on Channel 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aliens love underpants, 9 Mar 2008
By 
J. Smith-Stephens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is fantastic for a fun simple bedtime read. I got it by default- buy 3 get one free deal and I couldn't be happier (this was before it's success). We pick out each family members underpants from the picture at the front and the giggles start before the story has started. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aliens Love Underpants! Ha!, 16 May 2008
By 
I first saw this book on Richard & Judy's childrens book club and got a snippet of how funny this book is. I promptly bought it for my neice who loves it! The rhyming is very funny and kids love the hilarious pictures also. I found this book highly amusing and fell in love with it that much that I bought one for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 28 May 2008
This is exactly what a kids book should be. My 4 year old son absolutely loves it. A rhyming book about pants and aliens, what's not to love? This shouldn't just be for kids! Great fun and very colourful pictures to accompany the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 30 April 2008
By 
R. Scally (Darlington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My daughter absolutley loves this book, the pictures are colourful and the rhymes are fun for both adult and child - it's a bedtime favourite in our house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6463dbc)

This product

Aliens Love Underpants
Aliens Love Underpants by Claire Freedman (Hardcover - 11 Oct 2012)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews