Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic
I chose this rating because it is simply fabulous with all the things a horror freak like me wants. I would not recommend it to anyone under the age of 11 as it is very gory even more gory than than the first one. I could not stop reading this as I was always wondering what would happen next as every word was a cliff hanger. It is also a very quick read. One of his finest...
Published 16 months ago by Leon Robinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
It was ok and gory but Shan coulda done better really. It was a very quick read so yeah jrjdjddjd
Published 8 months ago by apr


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this rating because it is simply fabulous with all the things a horror freak like me wants. I would not recommend it to anyone under the age of 11 as it is very gory even more gory than than the first one. I could not stop reading this as I was always wondering what would happen next as every word was a cliff hanger. It is also a very quick read. One of his finest yet!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zom-b underground, 12 May 2013
By 
N. Preston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great gripping and most of all gross. This book unlike any other book not by Darren Shan is fun to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B-etter than the first!, 23 Jan 2013
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: ZOM-B Underground (Hardcover)
Read most of this book in one sitting, it was so good.
It had just as many great twists as the first Zom-B but was more fast-paced and scarier. Plus it introduced a truly scary new character (who promises to feature prominently in the next in the series) as well as a lot of mystery and many questions I can't wait to dive into the next installment to have answered.

Underground takes off where Zom-B left us. I don't really want to say anymore in case I spoil it, but this book has given me high hopes for the series - much more so than the first did.

I still had issues with actively disliking Becky (and at one point I outright hated her), but she does redeem herself (in my opinion) a little towards the end. I think it's a real credit to Shan as a writer that I loved this book so much and the series in general despite the unlikable protagonist.

an't wait for Zom-B City to come out in March.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Zombie, 13 Sep 2014
By 
Adam "Say something about yourself!" (Dunton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ZOM-B Underground (Paperback)
WARNING: This review provides a big spoiler to the first book in the sires, ZOM-B. If you are new to the series, and want to get a buzz from a great rug-pull moment, please read no further.
ZOM-B Underground continues the saga of B Smith, stripped of her humanity in more ways than one. In battling inhuman forces of the un-dead, Becky Smith succumbs to an inhuman force within, after the promptings of her vile racist father lead her to commit an atrocity against the living. In another neat double meaning, Becky loses her heart twice over: morally, and physically, as she has it ripped from her chest in act of sick justice, by the reanimated monster of the boy she murdered.
Now Becky must find some kind of redemption, whilst coming to terms with the shocking truth that she is a walking, talking, thinking member of the un-dead.
‘Underground’ starts with a feeling of disorientation as Becky finds herself in an underground complex, full of scientists and soldiers engaged in researching the cause of the recent zombie attacks. The humans have discovered a strain of zombie that has consciousness and higher cognitive functions. Becky is one of these. The humans also conduct their research by pitting the thinking zombies (Revitaliseds) against the more brain dead counterparts (Reviveds) to see how they will react whilst being attacked. In one of the books most striking scenes, the Revitaliseds, decked in leather (to protect from bites) and helmets, are set on the Reviveds with flamethrowers and chainsaws. It’s got the visceral intensity of Romero at his best, as do a lot of scenes in the book.
Becky gets to know the Revitaliseds as a group of teenagers who have personalities largely intact, and are apparently able to play along with the scientists in exchange for a comfy hang- out room and food (don’t ask).
Becky’s desperately tries to hang onto her humanity and indeed improve it, whilst being in the shell of a monster. Will she play along with the human’s bizarre zombie culling experiments? Will she protect humanity when opportunities arise, or will she give in to hunger and instead, feast? This is the meat of the drama, and the brains behind the plot.
As usual with Shan, you’ll be hard pressed to turn the pages fast enough in this tightly written, speedy and economic narrative. The action is told with gusto and gore that won’t disappoint the most voracious zombie addicts. He does not cop out from letting some situations play out to their awful logical conclusion, rather than springing a miraculous way out. Good characters do die horribly, but there is usually a horrible, satisfying act of justice as a consequence. The writer deepens the back-story behind his zombie outbreak and provides plenty of hooks to pull you into the next instalment. Who’s the sinister horror clown Mr Dowling? Who and what are the mutants? Who or what is responsible for the out-break? It’s straight on to ZOM-B City to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darren Shan, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all of Darren's books, I like how the reader gets to know the characters, from Darren Shan in the vampire diaries, to Grubbs Grady in the seminars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars darren shan hits the spot yet again, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ZOM-B Underground (Hardcover)
my 17 year old daughter absolutely loved this book.she read it inside a day.she just couldnt put it down. another triumph for her favourite author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 14yr old son loves it and i love the price!!!, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ZOM-B Underground (Hardcover)
As an avid 'Darren Shan' fan my son loves this new 'Zom-b' series of books. I purchased the first one from a high-street retailer at full price '£7.99' for the paperback since then i've purchased the next two books from amazon both were less than £7.00 for the hardback and free next day delivery. Who could ask for more???
My 14 yr old son thinks these are the best books ever and he owns almost every book wriiten by Darren Shan
so he should know....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing .... totally amazing!!!! It is extremely high adrenaline and has a punchy story line. Like I said amazing !!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ZOM-B Underground (Hardcover)
2nd in series adds on nicely with last book, makes you want to read more cant wait for the next books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, not quite as gripping as part 1 but excellent, 12 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although not quite as gripping as the first book this still had me wanting to keep reading whenever I could. I can't wait to read part 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ZOM-B Underground
ZOM-B Underground by Darren Shan (Paperback - 20 Jun 2013)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews