Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parents will like this, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet the Parents (Paperback)
Grandchildren loved it
Made them realise that patents are great value for money.
Great illustrations for those who cannot read yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A humorous look at parenting., 2 Sep 2014
This review is from: Meet the Parents (Paperback)
The illustrations are excellent and young, non-readers, will like paging through this book looking at them. Add the rhymed text that outlines all the things parents do for their children and you have a book that adults will love as much as children. This could be a situation that quickly turned into a "aren't parents wonderful" treatise but Peter Bently uses lots of humor to make sure this doesn't happen.

Everyone in the family will enjoy this picture book and the art will elicit some hearty laughs.

Book provided by publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift! Fab read!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet the Parents (Paperback)
FANTASTIC BOOK! A must have for all parents! Kids love looking at the pictures as you read along! Would make a great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last! A picture book for parents that shows what we put up with!, 10 Mar 2014
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Meet the Parents (Paperback)
It's brilliant. A book for children to appreciate just how special and amazing their mummies and daddies are - we hug them when they're sad, find lost toys, carry their bikes, etc.

Our favourite page shows mum as a donkey. My son laughs like one when we get to this page, the little munchkin.

A lovely one for cuddles (and tickles at the end!), great rhymes to share and nice pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny!, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Jo (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meet the Parents (Paperback)
This picture book is brilliant! It's a great reminder for children just how great their parents actually are, when they're feeling like they just tell them what to do all the time.

The rhythm of this rhyming story is wonderful, and that alone, read aloud to children, would be enough to make them laugh, but the story of Meet the Parents is bound to make children really giggle. With some of the cheeky-naughty things that children do to their parents, as well as sharing all the fun they can have together, it's really amusing. I'm sure it will give children ideas too; who wouldn't want their Dad to help them make a den?

Most of the illustrations in this book are awesome, but there are some that look really scribbled, especially when it comes to the toning of the illustrations, and the characters' hair. I understand that's Ogilvie's style, but it just seemed a little messy to me. I'm sure others will like it, but I just think it's such a great story and some of the illustrations let it down a little. It's not a big thing though, just personal preference, and children are sure to love it!

I will be looking out for more of Peter Bently's stories in future, he's got just the right sense of humour. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book that took me by surprise!, 10 April 2014
This review is from: Meet the Parents (Paperback)
Gifted to Cub, this short book took me quite by surprise. It shouldn't have; Peter Bently (winner of the Raold Dahl Funny Prize) and Sara Ogilvie (illustrator of Dogs Don't Do Ballet) are obviously up to the task at creating clever and imaginative children's books! They even won the children's book of the month in January 2014!

"In this book you'll discover many other handy uses for your parents - and find out what they love best. Apart from you, of course."

Cub and I read this three times in one sitting. The words force your voice to lighten and enjoy the gentle rhymes and Cub's eyes were taking in as much as she could from the child-like but attractive illustrations. Every parent will giggle at the truth of it, and children will love the challenges. Wonderfully, it doesn't stick to one specific family, the pages are full of diversity and colour which draw you in and can make everyone feel that it is written about their family. Well worth a space on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meet the Parents
Meet the Parents by Peter Bently (Paperback - 2 Jan 2014)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews