Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring - and Unusual - read, 17 Jun 2013
By 
ricky (oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unusual Railway Pubs, Refreshment Rooms and Ale Trains (Hardcover)
I was struck by the title and wanted to know more. Indeed, this book is a rarity: it should appeal to not just one, but two, famously bookish tribes - those who are into trains, and those who are into beer! Often as not, of course, there's a well-established cross-over between the two. The writer not only charts the history of pubs, bars and refreshment rooms that have criss-crossed the UK's rail network for 150 years, he then goes on to provide a comprehensive guide to the best of them still in existence today, from the (extremely) rural, such as Crianlarich in Scotland, to the extravagantly lush (Hamilton Hall at Liverpool Street). Here is a subject that has not, as far as I know, been documented before; this is the one future beer and rail archivists will be using as the template!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and unusual, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unusual Railway Pubs, Refreshment Rooms and Ale Trains (Hardcover)
Certainly no railway buff, I found this book a unique and fascinating journey though the story of pubs, rooms and bars created to provide refreshment to train travellers.
In describing the development of the railways and refreshment rooms, the book provides an insight into the lives of people who used or have been impacted by the railways from the 1800s through to present day.
I loved the tales such as the Necropolis Railway, which carried the coffins of the deceased, and the Victorian refreshment rooms which had different rooms assigned according to class.
The book also provides a great collection of characterful pubs to visit around the country, where you feel you might still get a sense of the history, architecture and stories of these ale houses. Colour and historical photos throughout the book help bring the pubs and stations to life. The beginning (or end) of a train journey has never been so appealling...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 7 Feb 2014
By 
Mowzer (Camborne, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unusual Railway Pubs, Refreshment Rooms and Ale Trains (Hardcover)
In my teens back in the sixties I was a train spotter. In the intervening years I have grown to love and appreciate real ale and pubs. This wonderful book successfully combines these two great loves. A real gem for both railway and real ale aficionados.
Mowzer, Cornwall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chuffed, 23 Jun 2014
By 
Stephen Jeffery "Stevejeff" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unusual Railway Pubs, Refreshment Rooms and Ale Trains (Hardcover)
Love the book very informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unusual Railway Pubs, Refreshment Rooms and Ale Trains (Hardcover)
A specialist viewpoint.
For those interested in such it's a gem.
Good writing and research. Interesting old photos: very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unusual Railway Pubs, Refreshment Rooms and Ale Trains (Hardcover)
Good quality book. bought as present for a beer and train fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unusual Railway Pubs, Refreshment Rooms and Ale Trains (Hardcover)
good read, even better to visit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unusual Railway Pubs, Refreshment Rooms and Ale Trains (Hardcover)
Excellent, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. M. C. Jeanes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unusual Railway Pubs, Refreshment Rooms and Ale Trains (Hardcover)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unusual Railway Pubs, Refreshment Rooms and Ale Trains
Unusual Railway Pubs, Refreshment Rooms and Ale Trains by Bob Barton (Hardcover - 24 Mar 2014)
£13.79
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews