Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, enlightening
An excellent and absorbing account of our debt to horses during the Great War. The author sheds a new light on a well-trodden period of our history through his focus on our four-legged friends. By turns heartbreaking, enlightening and well-detailed without ever becoming bogged down in tedious lists of facts or excessive sentimentality. Superb research and excellent...
Published on 16 Sept. 2011 by Zloty Harbinger

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mixed bag
I was looking forward to reading this book as i have spent many years researching this very topic myself.I found the rather long introduction giving the history of horses in war somewhat dull and off topic, this book is meant to be about the Great war,not other earlier periods..Whilst many of the Pictures and drawings are new and most interesting, far to many are...
Published on 15 Jan. 2013 by waterloo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, enlightening, 16 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: The War Horses: The Tragic Fate of a Million Horses Sacrificed in the First World War (Hardcover)
An excellent and absorbing account of our debt to horses during the Great War. The author sheds a new light on a well-trodden period of our history through his focus on our four-legged friends. By turns heartbreaking, enlightening and well-detailed without ever becoming bogged down in tedious lists of facts or excessive sentimentality. Superb research and excellent illustrations complete the package - I can't recommend highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The War Horses, 8 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The War Horses: The Tragic Fate of a Million Horses Sacrificed in the First World War (Hardcover)
This is an excellent and very well written book giving the reader a very true insight and understanding of the otherwise unknown story of the events and sacrifices in the lives of of such noble and hardworking creatures during the first world war years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mixed bag, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Horses: The Tragic Fate of a Million Horses Sacrificed in the First World War (Hardcover)
I was looking forward to reading this book as i have spent many years researching this very topic myself.I found the rather long introduction giving the history of horses in war somewhat dull and off topic, this book is meant to be about the Great war,not other earlier periods..Whilst many of the Pictures and drawings are new and most interesting, far to many are incorrectly captioned or titled.Whilst you can not expect precise details with such a "coffee table" book you should expect basic facts correct.. getting the wrong nationality of solders ,and im pretty sure i saw a WW2 poster being used (pg 103) and dates wrong (the "opening " of the battle of the Somme in September ??) And i found some basic details missing or un mentioned.
Overall it proved a little disappointing, lacking proper research,and just climbing on the band wagon of the Morpurgo book and film. could do better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great overview of WW1, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Horses: The Tragic Fate of a Million Horses Sacrificed in the First World War (Hardcover)
This book is an easy read but packed with information and original photographs. Simon Butler explores the history of man's relationship with the horse, from charioteers through to modern cavalry. He covers the futility of WW1 without sentimentality, making what could have been a tearjerker into a detailed expose of the conditions in which men and horses struggled, but always lightened by anecdotes and an emphasis on the fondness the soldiers developed for their horses, particularly the draught and pack animals. Altogether a memorable book; he's now written a companion book in the same format called Goodbye Old friend about the demise of the working horse, also well worth reading. Both are books worth keeping or giving as presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suffering Horses, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Horses: The Tragic Fate of a Million Horses Sacrificed in the First World War (Hardcover)
I have rated this book five stars,although I didn't read it myself as it was a gift for my husband, he was so taken with it(being a horse lovers) he read it straight off and was very affected by it, such horrors but the love of the soldiers for their horses was very evident. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The War Horses, 29 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Horses: The Tragic Fate of a Million Horses Sacrificed in the First World War (Hardcover)
A good book with some specific pictures in it. It explains what a war horse did in the war and what happened to them. The conditions they suffered and how loyal they were to their own specific soldier and the bond between them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No horse, No war, 26 Aug. 2012
By 
Dr Barry Clayton (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The War Horses: The Tragic Fate of a Million Horses Sacrificed in the First World War (Hardcover)
Without horses neither we nor Germany could have fought World War 1.None of the other armies could have done so either. The same applies to the Second World War for contrary to myth the allies and Germany did not fight that war wholly mechanised. After 1941 blitzkrieg was in little evidence.In,for example,the so-called Battle of the Bulge over 65% of the German transport was horse-drawn.
The financial cost of fodder for the thousands of horses in both wars was horrendous. Speer once complained to Hitler about the cost.
In the Boer War our horses unlike the indigenous ones,could not survive because the type of grass poisoned them. We used instead oxen.
Superb animals.We owe them an enormous debt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The War Horses., 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Horses: The Tragic Fate of a Million Horses Sacrificed in the First World War (Hardcover)
This is a very poignant book for me as my Grandmothers two pure bred hunters wer taken by the recruitment teams and sent to that hell hole. i often wonder what happened to the poor darlings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The War Horses, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Horses: The Tragic Fate of a Million Horses Sacrificed in the First World War (Hardcover)
Wanted to find out about what really happened to all the horses in the First World War.A truly wonderful book with many photos.Some are very sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The untold story of the role the horse played in the First World War, 23 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The War Horses: The Tragic Fate of a Million Horses Sacrificed in the First World War (Hardcover)
The untold story of the role the horse played in the First World War.

Horses were commandeered from farms, liveries, hunt stables and private ownership to serve at the Western Front, and in the British army alone almost a million animals are estimated to have died during the conflict.

Author Simon Butler also explains how the 'War to end all Wars' later led to the decline of horses in the British rural landscape and the final fracturing of the timeless bond between man and the working horse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The War Horses: The Tragic Fate of a Million Horses Sacrificed in the First World War
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews