Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent resource!
This is the best book on case studies I've used to date. Am a PhD student in the UK and have been on the lookout for a very good guide ... this is it!
Published on 3 Jun. 2012 by RT13345

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I needed
Not quite what I wanted, when I read the title and looked at the bio. I did find it useful though
Published 11 months ago by avid reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent resource!, 3 Jun. 2012
By 
This review is from: How to do your Case Study: A Guide for Students and Researchers (Paperback)
This is the best book on case studies I've used to date. Am a PhD student in the UK and have been on the lookout for a very good guide ... this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Mar. 2011
By 
Frances Hynd (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to do your Case Study: A Guide for Students and Researchers (Paperback)
This book has been a godsend, literally. It has really helped shape my thinking and clarify many points that I was unsure about in regards to writing a case study. Easy to read, with plain, common sense language which debunks much of the jargon around doing qualitative research. Would highly recommend to anyone entering into this domain of study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY recommended, 21 Jan. 2012
This review is from: How to do your Case Study: A Guide for Students and Researchers (Paperback)
So many research books seem to depend on their impenetrability for being taken seriously, but this one is written with good humour and is so accessible it has kept me hooked throughout. I don't often read text books cover to cover but I am addicted to this one and it is seriously helping me with my thinking. I initially borrowed this book from the library but I have now bought my own copy - it is too useful not to have on hand all the time.

Thomas has done an excellent job with this book and I am sure if you read it you will agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanatstic, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to do your Case Study: A Guide for Students and Researchers (Paperback)
I was very happy with the speed of delivery, I ordered it Friday evening and it arrived on Monday. I have only flicked through the book so far but it seems very informative. It seems very readable but then I really like Thomas' style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really useful book, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to do your Case Study: A Guide for Students and Researchers (Paperback)
What I like about the book is that, in addition to giving practical advice on designing a case study, it also provided very sound arguments in favour of qualitative research methods as well as a critical approach to quantitative methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars accessible but not lightweight: an excellent balance, 7 Feb. 2011
By 
Sara (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to do your Case Study: A Guide for Students and Researchers (Paperback)
Gary Thomas has done it again. After the enormously useful "How to do your Research Project" comes this equally accessible and informative book on case study aimed at university students and researchers. Beginning with the basics, including "What is and is not a case?", Thomas leads the reader through every stage in the process, raising issues for consideration as he goes along through questioning the reader in an engaging way. Illustrative, carefully chosen examples of authentic case studies are peppered throughout; particularly helpful too is the final, succinct message section in each chapter "If you take only one thing from this chapter, take this..." In sum this is a practical and appealing book that any researcher considering a case study approach would do well to peruse, and I'll be strongly recommending it to our Masters students here at University of Cambridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 25 July 2011
This review is from: How to do your Case Study: A Guide for Students and Researchers (Paperback)
This is a must read for anyone planning to do case study research at any level. Written in a very simple and understandable language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to do your Case Study: A Guide for Students and Researchers (Paperback)
Exaclty waht I needed to kick start me on my OU case report. Really useful reference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I needed, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite what I wanted, when I read the title and looked at the bio. I did find it useful though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to do your Case Study: A Guide for Students and Researchers
How to do your Case Study: A Guide for Students and Researchers by Gary Thomas (Paperback - 14 Dec. 2010)
£23.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews